The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Return to Finding Aids A-Z List

Papers of George H. Ludwig
RG 99.0004
Collection Dates: 1957-2009
17.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Papers of George H. Ludwig have been donated to the University of Iowa Archives in several installments, beginning in March 2010. Accession 2012-67 was added in June 2012.

Photographs: None

George H. Ludwig, 1999

Scope and Contents

The Papers of George H. Ludwig, a collection currently under development, will consist of 15 series when completed: Meetings; Personal Journals; Laboratory Notebooks; Office Journals; Travel Records; Published Papers; Notes for Lectures Delivered; Materials Related to Early Projects; Slides; Newspaper Clippings; Translations and Other Public Releases of Soviet Papers; Space Logs, Data Logs, Data Center Reports, and Descriptions of Space Missions; Correspondence; Original Data Plots for Explorer I, III, and IV; and Biographical and Bibliographical Data.

At present the collection consists of four series: Meetings, Correspondence, Soviet Papers Related to the Space Program, and Original Data Plots for Explorer Missions:

The Meetings series lists major meetings in which Dr. Ludwig was a substantial participant. The many lesser meetings in which he participated as a part of his general management responsibilities are not included. Changes in organizational positions are indicated in bold in the Organization column. In the Role column, the presenter for multi-author papers is underlined (unless unknown). The materials include detailed coverage of work in building and using the earliest Explorer satellites at the University of Iowa from 1953 to 1960; of follow-on satellites including the Orbiting Geophysical Observatories at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center from 1960 to 1965; development of the central satellite research data processing capabilities at Goddard from 1965 to 1972; development and operation of the operational polar and geostationary environmental satellite systems at NOAA’s National Environmental Satellite Service from 1972 to 1980; work with and direction of NOAA’s Environmental Research Laboratories from 1980 to 1984, and a variety of other consulting and research roles from 1984 to 1991.
The Correspondence series consists primarily of professional and consultation-related correspondence and is arranged chronologically.
Translations and Other Public Releases of Soviet Papers are primarily English translations of published works issued by Soviet Union researchers, 1957-1960.
Original Data Plots for the Explorer Missions span 1958-1960.

Biographical Note

George H. Ludwig was born on November 13, 1927, in Sharon Center, Johnson County, Iowa, a son of George M. and Alice G. (Heim) Ludwig. After graduating from high school in Tiffin, Iowa, in 1946, he served in the U.S. Air Force, where he received training as an aviation cadet and attained the rank of captain. A member of Phi Beta Kappa honor society, he completed three degrees at the State University of Iowa: BA cum laude in physics, 1956; MS in physics, 1959; and Ph.D. in electrical engineering, 1960. On July 21, 1950, he married Rosalie F. Vickers and the couple had four children.

While a graduate student during the late 1950's, Mr. Ludwig, in collaboration with Prof. James A. Van Allen, established one of the first spacecraft instrumentation laboratories, with its special techniques, equipment, and performance requirements. He was principal developer of the cosmic ray and radiation belt instruments for the successfully launched Explorers, I, III, IV, VII and, in some cases, their spacecraft structures and subsystems. He was also a research engineer at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California for a five month period following the 1957 launch of Sputnik I by the Soviet Union.

In 1960, following completion of his doctorate, Dr. Ludwig began a 12-year career with the Goddard Space Flight Center, National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA). His positions included Project Scientist; Head, Instrumentation Section; Chief, Information Processing Division, Mission and Data Operations Directorate; and Associate Director for Data Operations.

Dr. Ludwig became Director of Systems Integration for the newly-established National Earth Satellite Service in 1972 and, three years later, was named its Director of Operations, becoming Technical Director in 1980. In 1981 he became Director of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Environmental Research Laboratories, a position he held for two years. He returned to NASA in 1983 as Assistant to the Chief Scientist, a position he held until his retirement from NASA the following year.

From 1985 to 1991, Dr. Ludwig was a Senior Research Associate at the University of Colorado in Boulder, and from 1989 to 1991 was also a California Institute of Technology Senior Scientist stationed at NASA Headquarters.

Dr. Ludwig's most notable professional achievements include coordinating nine Federal agencies in the implementation of the Global Change Research Program Data and Information System. He also directed numerous NOAA research programs as well as its environmental satellite systems. Among his many honors and awards are the NASA Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal (1984), the NOAA Program Administration and Management Award (1977), and the NASA Exceptional Service Medal (1969). He was featured in Life magazine as one of the nation's 100 outstanding young men in 1962.

Related Materials

Ludwig, George H. "Opening Space Research at the University of Iowa." In Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03)

----. "Opening Space Research: Dreams, Technology, and Scientific Discovery." Washington, D.C.: American Geophysical Union, 2011. 478 p.

----. "The First Explorer Satellites." In Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03)

Papers of James A. Van Allen (RG 99.0142)

"Radiation Observations With Satellite 1958 Alpha [Explorer I]", March 1961. Three volumes. In: Research Report, Department of Physics and Astronomy, State University of Iowa. In University Serials and Journals Collection (RG 01.09.02)

Box Contents List

Meetings Series

Box 1

Date

Organization

Event

Place

Role

30 Sep 1957

CSAGI

Conference on Rockets and Satellites

NAS, Washington, DC

Paper: Ludwig and Van Allen, The SUI Cosmic Ray Earth Satellite Experiment.

Presented three other papers on behalf of Van Allen and Cahill.

Member of several sessions.

14 May 1958

National Academy of Sciences, American Inst. Of Biologic. Sc., NSF

Symposium on Possible Uses of Earth Satellites for Life Sciences

Washington, DC

Paper: Data Storage and Transmission.

12 Sep 1958

IRE-Cedar Rapids Sect.

Conference

Cedar Rapids, IA

Paper: Telemetry from Earth Satellites.

10 Apr 1959	Many	Midwest Cosmic Ray Conference	Univ. of Chicago, Chicago, IL	Paper: Ludwig & Yoshida: Observations by Satellite 1958 Alpha at the time of the 11 Feb. 1959 Magnetic Storm.
31 Oct 1959	Many	Midwest Cosmic Ray Conference	Iowa City, IA	Paper: S. Yoshida and G. Ludwig, “Trapped Radiation and the Earth’s Magnetic Field.
24 Nov 1959	State Univ. of Iowa	Physics Department Colloquium	Iowa City, IA	Attended: Lecture by V. I. Krasovskii on Results from the Second Cosmic Rocket.

20 Sep1960	IRE	Fifth Annual Symposium on Space Electronics and Telemetry	Shoreham Hotel, Washington, DC	Organizer and chair: Session on Signal Conditioning.
23 Aug 1960	Started as Head, Instrumentation Section, Space Science and Applications Directorate, NASA/GSFC		Greenbelt, MD
10 Mar 1961	Many	Midwest Cosmic Ray Conference		Paper prepared but not delivered: The Orbiting Observatory. Did not attend due to illness in family.
22 May 1961	IRE	National Telemetering Conference, Session on Signal Conditioning	Sheraton-Towers Hotel, Chicago, IL	Paper: Ludwig and Porreca, Signal Conditioning for Satellite Borne Cosmic Ray Experiments.
29 May 1961	Italian Inst. For Theoretical Physics	Varenna Summer School – Enrico Fermi	Villa Monastero, Varenna, Italy	Paper: The U.S. Satellite Cosmic Ray Program Paper: Particle Detection, Magnetic Field Measurements, Miniaturization, etc.
30 May 1961	Italian Inst. For Theoretical Physics	Varenna Summer School – Enrico Fermi	Villa Monastero, Varenna, Italy	Paper: Satellite Instrumentation Developed in the USA.
31 May 1961	Italian Inst. For Theoretical Physics	Varenna Summer School – Enrico Fermi	Villa Monastero, Varenna, Italy	Paper: Telemetering and Tracking of Satellites.
6 Sep 1961	IRE	Joint Nuclear Instrumentation Symposium	North Carolina State College, Raleigh, NC	Chair: Session on Space Instrumentation. Paper: Survey of Space Nuclear Instrumentation.
1 Dec 1961	Space Technology Labs.	OGO Staff Seminar	Los Angeles	Lecture: Outline of OGO 1 Experiments.
29 Dec 1961	AAAS	Meeting of the Science Teachers of America	Washington, DC	Lecture and Paper: The NASA Energetic Particles Space Program.
4 Apr 1962	IRE, Professional Group on Nuclear Science	Meeting of the Washington Chapter	PEPCO Auditorium, Washington, DC	Lecture: Problems and Nuclear Instrumentation Associated with Satellite Laboratories.
3 May 1962	COSPAR	Third International Space Science Symposium and Fifth Plenary Meeting	NAS, Washington, DC	Paper: Ludwig & McDonald, Cosmic Ray Experiments for Explorer XII and OGO.
21 May 1962	Instrument Society of America	Eighth National Aero-Space Instrumentation Symposium	Marriott Motor Motel, Washington, DC	Organizer and Chair: Session on Instrumentation for Measuring Properties of Space.
23 May 1962	IRE	National Telemetering Conference, Session on Energetic Properties	Sheraton Park Hotel, Washington, DC	Paper: Measurement of Space Properties.
17 Jun 1962	NAS Space Science Board	Space Science Summer Study	Iowa City	Attended.
12 Oct 1962	UC-Berkeley, Space Sciences Laboratory	1962 Fall Semester Seminar	Berkeley, CA	Lecture: Techniques of Space Experimentation.
18 Oct 1962	IRE, PGNS	Ninth Annual Meeting of the International Symposium on Space Phenomena and Measurement	Statler-Hilton Hotel, Detroit, MI	Chair: Session on Scientific Instrumentation for Space Research I. Paper: Cline, Desai, Ludwig, McDonald, and Porreca, A Combination Scintillator Phoswich and Solid-state Ionization Chamber for Studying the Spectrum of Low Energy Interplanetary Electrons and Protons. Paper: Ludwig, Cancro, Spaull, and Way, A Two Parameter, High Resolution Pulse Height Analyzer for Space Science Use.
2 Nov 1962	NASA	University Conference on the Science and Technology of Space Exploration	Sheraton-Chicago Hotel, Chicago, IL	Paper: Particles and Fields Research in Space.
27 Dec 1962	American Academy of Achievement	Second Annual Salute to Excellence	San Diego, CA	Guest of Honor, Received Golden Plate Award.
20 Feb 1963	IRE/AIEE	International Solid-state Circuits Conference	Sheraton Hotel, Philadelphia, PA	Paper: Sensing Techniques for Space Research.
10 May 1963	Univ. of Wisconsin	Periodic Seminar	Madison, WI	Lecture: Experiments for the Eccentric Orbiting Geophysical Observatory.
25 Nov 1963	UNESCO/French Society for Radio Electronics	International Symposium on Nuclear Electronics	UNESCO House, Paris, France	Paper: Ludwig and McDonald, An Earth Satellite Experiment for Measuring the Charge and Energy Spectra of the Primary Cosmic Rays.
19 Mar 1964	Catholic Univ.	Semester Series- Recent Advances in Space Sciences	Washington, DC	Lecture: Space Instrumentation.
1 Apr 1964	AGU	45th Annual Meeting	Washington, DC	Paper: Balasubrahmanyan, Cline, McDonald,& Ludwig, IMP-A Cosmic Ray Results.
4 Apr 1964	Washington University	Midwest Cosmic Ray Conference	Kansas City, KS	Paper: Balasubrahmanyan, Cline, Ludwig, and McDonald, IMP-A Cosmic Ray Results.
28 Oct 1964	IEEE	Eleventh Nuclear Science Symposium	Sheraton Hotel, Philadelphia, PA	Meeting co-organizer. Chair: Session on Investigations of Space Phenomena.
30 Dec 1964	AGU	Fourth Western National Meeting	Univ. of Washington, Seattle, WA	Paper: Balasubrahmanyan, Cline, Ludwig, and McDonald, Results from the IMP-1 Cosmic Ray Experiments.
3 Mar 1965	AIAA	Unmanned Spacecraft Meeting	International Hotel, Los Angeles, CA	Member: Panel on Mission Operations.
20 Apr 1965	AGU	46th Annual Meeting	Washington, DC	Lecture: Ludwig & Butler, Description of OGO and IMP Satellites. Paper: Balasubrahmanyan, Ludwig, Brunstein, McDonald, & Palmeira, Energetic Particle Studies in the 15-75 MeV per Nucleon Interval: IMP and OGO.
7 July 1965	Started as Chief, Information Processing Division, Tracking and Data Acquisition Directorate, NASA/GSFC		Greenbelt, MD
19 Oct 1965	IRE, PTGNS	12th Nuclear Science Symposium	Hilton Hotel, San Francisco, CA	Meeting co-organizer. Paper: Non-Linear Digital Data Compression Techniques.
13 May 1965	COSPAR	Seventh International Space Science Symposium	Vienna, Austria	Paper: Adaptive Spacecraft Data Processing. Withdrawn because of my need to remain home for OGO launch.
19 Oct 1966	IRE, PTGNS	13th Nuclear Science Symposium	Statler-Hilton Hotel, Boston, MA	Paper: Jones, Ludwig, Stilwell, Trainor, & Way, The OGO-E Cosmic Radiation-Nuclear Abundance Experiment.
Box 2
14 Nov 1966	IBM Watson Research Center	Scientific Computing Symposium on Environmental Sciences	Yorktown Heights, NY	Paper: Space Sciences Data Processing.
30 Nov 1966	Grad School, US Dept. of Agriculture	Sixth Science and Engineering Management Course	Brick House Tavern, Williamsburg, VA	Participated.
14 Jul 1967	ESRO, ESLAB/ESRIN	Joint Symposium on Satellite and Rocket Measurements of Corpuscular Radiation from Outer Space	Palace Hotel, Noordwijk aan Zee, Holland	Lecture: Satellite Data Systems.
17 Jul 1967	ESRO, Bretigny Space Center	Visit for information exchange	Paris, France	Discussed on-board processing equipment and ground data processing.
19 Jul 1967	ESRO Data Center	Visit for information exchange	Darmstadt, West Germany	Discussed ground data processing for ESRO spacecraft.
25 Jul 1967	Univ. of Rome	Visit for information exchange	Rome, Italy	Discussed San Marco data processing.
28 Jul 1967	IQSY/COSPAR	Symposium on the Scientific Results of the International Years of the Quiet Sun and Tenth Meeting of COSPAR	London, England	Participated: Session on the Proton Flare Project.
29 Jul 1967	Radio Research Establishment	Visit for information exchange	Slough, England	Toured: Winkfield Minitrack station.
4 Aug 1967	NASA, Wallops	1967 Bio-Space Technology Training Program	Wallops Island, VA	Lecture: Data Acquisition and Processing.
29 Aug 1967	AIAA	Space Program Issues of the 70’s	Olympic Hotel, Seattle, WA	Paper: The Role of the Experimenter in Scientific Space Observatories. Paper: Relative Advantages of Small and Observatory-Type Satellites.
22-23 Jan 1968	California Institute of Technology	Visit Mt. Palomar Observatory and discuss observatory operation and pictorial data handling	Mt. Palomar, CA Pasadena, CA	Toured.
24 Jan 1968	NASA, Ames Research Center	Seminar	Palo Alto, CA	Lecture: Advances in Scientific Data Handling.
25 Jan 1968	UC-Berkeley, Physics Department	Colloquium	Berkeley, CA	Lecture: Advances in Scientific Data Handling.
26 Jan 1968	UC-Berkeley, Physics Department	Discuss IMP and OGO data processing	Pasadena, CA	Participated.
29 Jan 1968	Stanford Research Institute and Stanford University	Discuss OGO data processing	Palo Alto, CA	Participated.
30 Jan 1968	Jet Propulsion Lab.	Visit their central data processing facility	Pasadena, CA	Participated.
1 Feb 1968	Jet Propulsion Lab.	10th Anniversary of Explorer I launch	Pasadena, CA	Participated.
8 Feb 1968	NASA Space Science Steering Committee	Meeting with Fields and Particles Subcommittee	Houston, TX	Presentation: Data Processing Status.
1 Apr 1968	NASA Hq.	Meeting with Randy Lee	Washington, DC	Presentation: Model of the Central Data Processing Facility.
22 Apr 1968	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with Director and Staff	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing Status.
13-15 May 1968	NASA Research and Technology Advisory Committee	Meeting with Instrumentation and Data Processing Subcommittee	Langley, VA	Member: R & T Advisory Committee. Member of task group to prepare meeting recommendations.
16-17 May 1968	NASA Hq. Office of Tracking and Data Acquisition	Review of Space Research and Technology program	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Participated.
29 May 1968	NASA Hq. Office of Tracking and Data Acquisition	Senior Staff Review	Washington, DC	Presentation: Data Processing Status.
11 Jun 1968	NASA, GSFC	Staff Review, National Space Science Data Center NSSDC)	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation OGO Documentation.
12 Jun 1968	NASA, GSFC	Training Session for U.S. Naval Officers	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Lecture: Data Processing in the GSFC Central Facility.
17-28 Jun 1968	Univ. of Michigan, College of Engineering	Course on Foundation of Information Systems Engineering	Ann Arbor, MI	Attended course. Visits to Space Sciences faculty, EE and Computer Science faculty, and Computer Center.
2 Jul 1968	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Office of Manned Space Flight Management Council	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Space Science Data Processing.
11 Jul 1968	Univ. of California – Los Angeles	Summer Extension Course, Recent Advances in Space Communications	Los Angeles, CA	Lecture: Data Processing for Scientific Earth Satellites.
16 Jul 1968	NASA, GSFC	Mission Data Management Conference/Seminar	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Lecture: Data Acquisition. Lecture: Future of Satellite Experiment Data Processing.
6 Aug 1968	NASA, Wallops	1968 Bio-Space Technology Training Program	Wallops Island, VA	Lecture: Data Acquisition and Processing.
9 Aug 1968	Bureau of the Budget	Review of GSFC programs	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing.
19-23 Aug 1968	NAS/NRC, Space Science Board	Summer Study, Physics of the Earth in Space	Little Harbor Farm, Woods Hole, MA	Part-time participant.
30 Aug 1968	NAS Space Science Board	Meeting of Fields and Particles Subcommittee	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Space Science Data Processing Progress Report.
18 Sep 1968	AAS, University of Michigan	AAS Conference on Advanced Space Experiments	Ann Arbor, MI	Member of Program Committee Chair: Session on Particles and Fields Experiments.
11 Oct 1968	NASA Research and Technology Advisory Committee	Subcommittee on Instrumentation and Data Processing	Electronic Research Center, Cambridge, MA	Member: R & D Advisory Committee Presentation: Notes on the Use of On-Board Computers.
23-25 Oct 1968	IEEE, Nuclear Science Group	15th Nuclear Science Symposium	Hotel Bonaventure, Montreal, Canada	Member: Technical Program Committee.
Box 3
6-7 Dec 1968	NASA Hq, OART	Review of Information Processing Division ART/SRT Progress	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Organized and Participated.
22 Jan 1969	NASA, GSFC	Planetary Explorer Experimenters’ Meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Lecture: Data Processing.
28 Jan 1969	NAS Space Science Board	Meeting of Solar Physics Subcommittee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Presentation: OSO Data Processing.
11 Feb 1969	NASA, Langley Research Center	Symposium on Space Station Technology	Hampton, VA	Paper: Ground-Based Data Acquisition and Processing.
27 Feb 1969	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with Director and Staff	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Earth Resources Technology Satellite Data Processing.
5-7 Mar 1969	NASA Research and Technology Advisory Committee	Subcommittee on Instrumentation and Data Processing	Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA	Participated as member: R & D Advisory Committee.
13-15 Mar 1969	GSFC, Tracking and Data Directorate	Belmont Retreat	Belmont House, Elkridge, MD	Participant: Code 500 planning.
18 Mar 1969	NASA, Hq.	Meeting of Earth Resources Panel	Washington, DC	Presentation: ERTS Data Processing.
28 Mar 1969	University of Calgary, Department of Physics	Colloquium	Calgary, Canada	Lecture: Data Processing for the Space Sciences.
9 Apr 1969	NASA, GSFC	Bureau of the Budget review of GSFC programs	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing.
10 Apr 1969	Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn	Symposium on Computer Processing in Communications	Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, New York, NY	Panel Member: Panel on the Role of Computers in Future Signal Processing Systems.
30 Apr 1969	NASA, Marshall SFC	Workshop on Optical Telescope Technology	Huntsville, AL	Co-chair and Organizer: Session on Operations and Data Handling. Lecture: Space Sciences Data Handling and Mission Operations.
7 May 1969	IEEE Professional Group on Computer Sciences, GSFC	Regular Meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Lecture: Data Processing for the Space Sciences.
15 May 1969	NASA, Hq.	Earth Resources Data Management	Washington, DC	Lecture: ERTS Thinking on Data Processing and Utilization.
16 May 1969	NASA, Hq. Office of Tracking and Data Acquisition	Project Operating Plan 69-1 Review	Washington, DC	Presentation: Data processing status.
28 May 1969	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with Facilities Planning Committee.	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Participated. Meeting resulted in planning for a building addition for the ERTS data processing facility.
13 Jun 1969	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with Facilities Planning Committee.	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Plan for Building 23 fourth floor for ERTS data processing facility.
13 Jun 1969	NASA, GSFC	Meeting-Committee on Space Programs for Earth Observations	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: ERTS Data Processing.
30 Jul 1969	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with the Director’s Management Council	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing Progress.
1 Aug 1969	NASA, GSFC	Summer Workshop	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Lecture: Data Processing for the Space Sciences.
11 Aug 1969	NASA, Wallops	1969 Bio-Space Technology Training Program	Wallops Island, VA	Lecture: Data Acquisition and Processing.
9 Sep 1969	AIAA	Aerospace Computer Conference	International Hotel, Los Angeles, CA	Chair: Session on Computer Design.
26 Sep 1969	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Senior Management	Washington, DC	Presentation: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
1 Oct 1969	NASA, GSFC	Third NASA Microwave Meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Hosted meeting. Introductory Lecture: GSFC Efforts in Microware Research.
7 Oct 1969	Univac SE Organization	USE Fall Conference	Hollywood Beach Hotel, Hollywood, FL	Lecture: Report on the Univac 1108 Multiprocessor Installation at the GSFC.
16 Oct 1969	NASA Hq, Office of Tracking and Data Acquisition	GSFC Tracking and Data Acquisition Review	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data processing status and plans.
20 Oct 1969	NASA GSFC Information Processing Division	Division all-personnel meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	State of the Division Address.
29-31 Oct 1969	IEEE, PTGNS	Nuclear Science Symposium	Sheraton-Palace Hotel, San Francisco, CA	Program Committee Member. Chair: Session on Space Applications.
9 Nov 1969	NASA Hq.	ERTS Project Management Discussions	Washington, DC	Participated: Planning facilities for ERTS Program.
13 Nov 1969	NASA GSFC	Meeting with Univac senior management on 1108 support	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Set up and led.
14 Nov 1969	NASA	Meeting with Particles and Fields Subcommittee	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing Progress Report.
1-3 Dec 1969	NASA GSFC Tracking and Data Systems	Planning retreat	Belmont, Elkridge, MD	Participated.
11-12 Dec 1969	Jet Propulsion Lab	Visit to discuss large scale computer processing for earth resources data	JPL, Pasadena, CA	Set up and participated.
12 Dec 1969	UC-Berkeley	Visit to discuss large scale computer processing for earth resources data	UCLA, Los Angeles, CA	Set up and participated.
12 Dec 1969	Lawrence Radiation Lab	Visit with Teller to discuss large scale computer processing for earth resources data	Lawrence Radiation Lab, Livermore, CA	Set up and participated.

Box 4
11 Feb 1970	Jordan United Church of Christ	Sermon
11 Mar 1970	Univac Scientific Exchange (USE)	USE Meeting	Brown Hotel, Denver, CO	Lecture: Progress Report on the NASA/Goddard Univac 1108 Multiprocessor.
10 Apr 1970	Univ. of Texas, Depts. of Computer Sciences and Electrical Eng.	Colloquium	Austin, TX	Lecture: Data Processing for the Space Sciences.
15 Apr 1970	NASA Hq. OTDA	WAD Review	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Funding for the ERTS Data Processing Facility.
12-13 May 1970	NASA	Examine application of MSF and Slidell facilities to Earth Resources and other data processing work	Mississippi Test Facility, Slidell, MS	Set up and participated.
15 May 1970	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Wernher von Braun	Washington, DC	Presentation: Space Sciences Data Processing.
19 May 1970	NASA Hq.	Meeting with NASA Administrator Tom Payne	Washington, DC	Presentation: Computer and Communications Technology.
11 Jun 1970	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Office of Space Science and Applications Administrator Len Jaffe	Washington, DC	Presentation: Functions of an Earth Resources Data Management System.
19 Jun 1970	NASA, GSFC	APL Conference	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Chaired. Lecture: The Space Information System Workload.
27 Jun 1970	NASA, GSFC	Director’s Management Council Manpower Review	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing Manpower Assessment.
9 Jul 1970	NASA	Meeting of HEAO Mission Operations and Data Management Working Group	GSF C, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: HEAO Ground Data Processing.
4 Aug 1970	National Academy of Sciences	NAS Summer Study	Woods Hole, MA	Provided information and participated in discussion of data processing.
10 Aug 1970	NASA, Wallops	1970 Bio-Space Technology Training Program	Wallops Island, VA	Lecture: Data Acquisition and Processing.
26 Aug 1970	ESRO	Summer School on Spacecraft Operations	Gravenbruch, West Germany	Lecture: Series of two lectures: Data Processing for Scientific Data. Lecture: Future Trends in Space Sciences Data Processing.
31 Aug 1970	Gesellschaft fur Weltraumforschung	HELIOS Project Office Seminar	Bad Godesberg, West Germany	Lecture: Repeat of ESRO Summer School lectures.
2 Sep 1970	Deutsche Forshungs und Versuchsanstalt fur Luft-und Raumfahrt E.V.	Colloquium	Oberpfaffenhofen, West Germany	Lecture: Telemetry Data Processing.
11 Sep 1970	CERN	Computing and Data Processing Summer School	Villa Monastero, Varenna, Italy	Lecture: Computers in Space Research, Present Techniques and Status. Lecture and Forum: Computers in Space Research, Future Developments.
15 Sep 1970	CERN	Colloquium	Geneva, Switzerland	Lecture: Computers in Space Research.
17 Sep 1970	ESRO	Meeting with Director General Prof. Bondi.	Paris, France	Discussion: Space Data Processing.
28 Sep 1970	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with Director’s Management Council	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: HEAO Data Management.
2 Oct 1970	NASA, GSFC	Organizational Meeting within IPD	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Form branch for ERTS data processing.
2-4 Nov 1970	IEEE	1970 Nuclear Science Symposium, Nuclear Instrumentation for R & D	Statler Hilton Hotel, New York, NY	Member: Technical Program Committee.
17-19 Nov 1970	IEEE	1970 Fall Joint Computer Conference	Astrohall, Houston, TX	Panel member: Session on Communications and Online Systems.
3 Nov 1970	NASA, GSFC, Code 400	Staff Meeting, Engineering Directorate	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: TELOPS. The beginning of the selling of the Telemetry Online Processing System.
30 Nov 1970	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Office of Tracking and Data Systems	Washington, DC	Presentation: Earth Resources Survey Data Management.
14 Dec 1970	National Academy of Sciences	Meeting of the GARP Data Management Panel	Washington, DC	Panel Member.
16 Dec 1970	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Office of Space Science and Applications and Office of Tracking and Data Acquisition	Washington, DC	Presentation: Processing of Warehoused Data.
21 Dec 1970	NASA, GSFC	Meeting with Director’s Management Council	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Earth Resources Survey Data Management.
Box 5
5 Jan 1971	NASA, GSFC, Code 600	Staff Meeting, Space and Environmental Sciences Directorate	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Plan for Data Management in the 70’s.
10 Feb 1971	NASA, MSFC	Meeting with HEAO Program Office	Huntsville, AL	Presentation: HEAO Data Processing.
17 Feb 1971	AIAA	Integrated Information Systems Conference	Cabana Hyatt House, Palo Alto, CA	Organize and Chair: Session on Space/Ground Integrated Information Systems.
10 April 1971	Started as Associate Director for Data Operations, Tracking and Data Acquisition Directorate, NASA/GSFC		Greenbelt, MD
13 Apr 1971	General Accounting Office	Meeting with Senior GAO Officials	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Telemetry Data Processing in a Telecommunications Environment.
18 May 1971	IEEE	1971 Spring Joint Computer Conference	Convention Hall, Atlantic City, NJ	Lecture: Computers in Earth Resources Data Management.
24 May 1971	National Academy of Science/National Research Council	Meeting of Geophysics Research Board	Washington, DC	Presentation: GARP Data Management.
17 Jun 1971	NASA, GSFC	Mission and Data Operations Directorate Seminar	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Lecture: GARP Data Management.
15 Sep 1971	Univac Scientific Exchange (USE)	USE Meeting	Sheraton-Mt. Royal Hotel, Montreal, Canada	Presentation: Data Base Management for Space Telemetry Data Processing.
3-5 Nov 1971	IEEE	1971 Nuclear Science Symposium	Sheraton-Palace Hotel, San Francisco, CA	Program Co-chairman. Session Organizer.
17 Nov 1971	NASA, Hq, MDO Directorate	Budget Review	Washington, DC	Review of Status, Planning, and Budget.
23 Nov 1971	NASA, Hq, MDO Directorate	Budget Review	Washington, DC	Presentation: AE Processing, TELOPS Planning.
15 Dec 1971				Space Telemetry Data Processing
27 Dec 1971	American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)	Symposium on Astronomy from a Space Platform	Bellevue-Stratford Hotel, Philadelphia, PA	Paper: The Relationship Between Earth-Based and Space-Based Data Processing for Astronomy Missions.
14 Jan 1972	NASA, Hq.	Meeting with Spaceflight Ground Environment Panel	Washington, DC	Presentation: Telemetry On-Line Data Processing.
1 Feb 1972	Dinneen Committee	Meeting with Tracking and Data Acquisition Advisory Panel		Presentation: Telemetry Data Processing.
15 Feb 1972	NASA Hq.	Visit by European Industrialists under aegis of London Financial Times	FOB 6, Washington, DC	Member: Q & A Panel.
16 Feb 1972	NASA	Briefing and tour of ERTS Data Processing for C. Mathews and L. Jaffe	Bldg. 23, GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: NASA Data Processing Facility for ERTS.
16 Mar 1972	General Electric Co.	Space Technology Seminar	GE Valley Forge Space Center, PA	Lecture: Space Data Processing Needs of the 80’s.
23 Mar 1972	NOAA, National Oceanic Data Center	Meeting of the NODC Advisory Board	Washington Navy Yard, Wash., DC	Member: NODC Advisory Board.
23 Mar 1972	GSFC	Director’s review of GSFC Program Operating Plan	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: Data Processing Budget.
30 Mar 1972	American Meteorological Society	Second Symposium on Meteorological Observations and Instrumentation.	Town and Country Hotel, San Diego, CA	Lecture: The Needs of the 80’s – Data Processing.
5 Apr 1972	NASA Space Programs Advisory Council	Meeting with Applications Committee	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation: ERTS Data Processing and Facility Tour.
Box 6
21 Apr 1972	National Science Foundation	Meeting in Office of Computing Activities	Washington, DC	Presentation: ERTS Data Processing.
5 May 1972	University of New Hampshire, College of Technology	Colloquium	Durham, NH	Lecture: Trends in Data Processing.
10 May 1972	Congressional Committee on Science and Astronautics	Meeting with Subcommittee on Space Science and Applications	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation and Tour: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
10 May 1972	United Nations, Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space	Meeting with Scientific and Technical Subcommittee	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation and Tour: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
10 May 1972	Intergovernmental Negotiation Group on Cooperation of Earth Resources	Visit of Five Russians	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation and Tour: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
11 May 1972	NASA, Earth Resources Survey Program	Meeting of the Interagency Coordinating Committee for the Earth Resources Survey Program	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation and Tour: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
20 Jun 1972	NASA, GSFC	ERTS-A Ground Data Handling System News Conference	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Press Briefing and Tour: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
26 Jun 1972	NASA	Visit by NASA Administrator Fletcher	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Presentation and Tour: ERTS Data Processing Facility.
3 Sep 1972	Started as Director of Systems Integration, National Environmental Satellite Service, NOAA		Suitland, MD
11 Dec 1972	National Academy of Sciences	Meeting of US Committee for the GARP	GATE Project Office, Rockville, MD	Participated.
20 Mar 1973	Office of Management and Budget	Study: Consolidating DoD and DoC polar satellite systems	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organizational Representative and Major Participant.
16-18 Apr 1973	AIAA	Computer Network Systems Conference	Carriage Inn Motor Hotel, Huntsville, AL	General Chairman of Conference. (Personal expense).
21 Jun 1973	AAS	Nineteenth Annual Meeting and International Congress of Space Benefits	Fairmont Hotel, Dallas, TX	Organized and Chaired: Session on Data Management.
26 Jun 1973	NOAA, NESS	Major orientation for all NESS new employees	NESS, Suitland, MD	Presentation: Office of Systems Integration.
16 Oct 1973	Purdue Univ., Lab. for Application of Remote Sensing	Conference on the Machine Processing of Remotely Sensed Data	West Lafayette, IN	Guest Speaker in Plenary Session: Machine Processing of Environmental Data – Present Status and Future Challenges.
26 Oct 1973	NOAA Hq.	Meeting with Ed Epstein	NOAA, Rockville, MD	Presentation: The GOES System.
7 Dec 1973	NOAA, DoD	Meeting: Consolidating DoD and DoC polar satellite systems	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organizational Representative and Major Participant.
19 Dec 1973	National Academy of Sciences/Committee on Atmospheric Science	Meeting of Panel on Severe Storms	NESS, Suitland, MD	Presentation: The Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite (GOES) System.
31 Jan-1 Feb 1974	NOAA Hq.	NOAA Annual Program Review	NOAA, Rockville, MD	Participated. Presentations: Third Generation Polar Satellite/TIROS-N, Nowcasting.
6, 13 Feb 1974	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for NESS Personnel	NESS, Suitland, MD	TIROS-N/ Third Generation Satellite System.
16 Apr 1974	NOAA, DoD	Meeting: Consolidating DoD and DoC polar satellite systems	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organizational Representative and Major Participant.
7-9 Oct 1974	IEEE	Electronics and Aerospace Systems Conference	Marriott Twin Bridges Motel, Washington, DC	Paper: The Future Polar Orbiting Environmental Satellite System.
13 Nov 1974	American Meteorological Society	Sixth Conference on Aerospace and Aeronautical Meteorology	Downtown Holiday Inn, El Paso, TX	Lecture: The NOAA Operational Environmental Satellite System – Status and Plans.
13 Nov 1974	Univ. of New Mexico, Eta Kappa Nu	Annual Banquet of the Gamma Chi Chapter	Las Cruces Mission Inn, Las Cruces, NM	Address: : Today’s Weather – A Look at the Operational Environmental Satellite System.
10-13 Feb 1975	American Meteorological Society	Third Symposium on Meteorological Observations and Instrumentation	Washington Hilton Hotel, Washington, DC	Chair: Session on Space Based Indirect Sensing.
2 Mar-18 Apr 1975	Federal Executive Institute	Session 30	Charlottesville, VA	Participant in Residential Program.
31 Jul 1975	Dept. of Interior, EROS	Meeting with EROS Staff	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Presentation: TIROS-N System.
31 Aug 1975	Started as Director of Operations, National Environmental Satellite Service, NOAA		Suitland, MD
1 Oct 1975	IEEE	Electronics and Aerospace Systems Conference (EASCON)	Stouffer’s National Center Inn, Washington, DC	Lecture: Satellite Environmental Data.
3 Nov 1975		Delegation of Chinese Meteorological Society
18-25 Feb 1976	NOAA/ NESS	Satellite Field Service Station Manager’s Conference	NESS, World Weather Building, Camp Springs, MD	Presentation: General Discussion of Satellite Operations.
14-16 Jun 1976	NOAA, NESS	Workshop for European Meteosat Group	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Presentation: TIROS-N Operations.
17 Aug 1976	NOAA, NESS	Meeting with Congressional Staffers	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organized meeting. Presentations on Satellite Operations.
21-22 Oct 1976	French CNES Organization for Meteorological Research	Meeting to Arrange for TIROS-N Data Readout at French Lannion Station	Boulogne, near Paris, France	Group Leader.
25-27 Oct 1976	World Meteorological Organization	Planning Meeting on Satellite Applications to Hydrology	WMO Hq., Geneva, Switzerland	Participant. Chaired Working Group on Satellite Data Availability, Accuracies, and Resolution.
15-16 Mar 1977	NOAA, NESS & EDS	Satellite Data Users Workshop	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Participated.
19 Apr 1977	NOAA, NESS, Off. Of Operations	Reorganization Briefing	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Organized and led.
2-13 May 1977	Foreign Service Institute	Foreign Affairs Interdepartmental Seminar	Plaza Building, 1800 N. Kent St., Arlington, VA	Attended.
21 Jun 1977	NOAA, NESS	Visit by John Dyer, OMB Examiner	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organized and led.
11 Jul 1977	NOAA, NESS	Visit by Dennis Green, OMB Assoc. Director	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Organized and led.
11 Nov 1977	NOAA, NESS	Visit by Francis O’Meara, Director, Off. Of Programs and Budget, OMB	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Organized. Visit cancelled by O’Meara’s office.
Box 7
12 Dec 1977	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for LACIE Project	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Discussion of Policy and Resource Issues Related to NESS Support of LACIE.
21 Dec 1977	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for Dr. Hess	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: System Overview. Tour.
31 Jan 1978	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for George Benton, Asst. Admin. for Atmospheric Services	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organized meeting. Presentation on Operations and Current Applications.
1 Mar 1978	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for M. Townsend	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Organized. Briefing on Office of Operations.
5-10 Mar 1978	Brookings Institution	Executive Leadership Conference on Public Affairs	Sheraton Beach Inn, Virginia Beach, VA	Participant: Public Policy Conference for Senior Science Executives.
5 Apr 1978	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for McLucas and staff, COMSAT	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Organized. Introduction and Overview of the National Environment Satellite Service.
2-3 May 1978	NOAA Installations, Miami, Florida	Field Visit	Miami, Florida	Visited.
5 Jun 1978	NOAA, NESS	Visit by members of the Central Weather Bureau, China	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: Satellite Operations.
24 Jul 1978	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for Sidney Harmon, Under Secretary of Commerce and George Benton	NESS, Suitland, MD, World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Toured Suitland and WWB facilities. Briefing: Film and slide presentation on uses of satellite information.
6 Sep 1978	NOAA, NESS	Visit by Dr. Albert Vosburg, Deputy Air Force Secretary for Strategic and Space Systems	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organized. Briefing: NESS Systems, Sample Data Applications, and NOAA/DOD Data Exchange.
18 Sep 1978	NOAA, NESS	Visit by Pierre Morel, Deputy General Director for Programs, Planning and Industrial Policy at CNES	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Discussion: Use of ARGOS for other than Environmental Purposes.
25-27 Sep 1978	IEEE	Electronics and Aerospace Systems Conference (EASCON)	Sheraton National Motor Hotel, Arlington, VA	Organized session on Operational Satellite Information Systems chaired by George Benton, NOAA Administrator.
25 Oct 1978	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for new members of the NOAA Administrator’s Staff	NESS, Suitland, MD	Organized and conducted briefing and tour: NESS Organization and Activities.
20 Nov 1978	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for Dr. Tsou and party, Head of the Weather Services in the People’s Republic of China	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: The Operational Satellite System.
4 Dec 1978	European Space Operations Centre	Seminar	Darmstadt, West Germany	Lecture: The U.S. National Operational Environmental Satellite System and its Products.
7 Dec 1978	NBC-TV	Taping for program “Knowledge”	WRC-TV, Wash, DC	Panel member, When Nature Runs Wild.
7 Feb 1979	Port of New York/Seaman’s Church Institute	Second Annual International Maritime Weather Conference and Exhibit	New York, NY	Panel member, Session on the Contribution of Satellite Capabilities to Marine Forecasting.
20 Apr 1979	U.S. Senate Commerce Committee	Familiarization Visit and Briefing	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: Operating Systems.
30 Apr-4 May 1979	NOAA, USAF	IRS Cubed Planning Retreat	Coolfont, WV	Participated as the NOAA Member.
7 May 1979	NOAA	IRS Cubed presentation to NOAA Assoc. Admin. Tom Owen	Main Commerce	Briefing on progress to date.
15 May 1979	NOAA Administrator Staff	Familiarization Briefing	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: Operating Systems.
15 May 1979	NOAA	Briefing for Administrator Benton and Assoc. Administrator Owen	Main Commerce	Interim briefing: NOAA and DOD Integrated Remote Sensing System Study (IRS cubed).
12 Jun 1979	Department of Commerce	Briefing for DOC Budget and Policy Staffs	Main Commerce	Attended.
13 Jun 1979	DOD and NOAA	Briefing for Bob Cooper to prepare him for briefing NOAA Admin. George Benton	NASA/GSFC	Briefing: (IRS Cubed) NOAA views and sensitivities.
15 Jun 1979	NOAA, NASA, Canadian Atmospheric Environment Service	Exchange of information on Agency plans re: Environmental Satellite Systems and their Applications	NASA Hq.	Presentation: NESS Plans and Longer Range Outlook.
24 Sep 1979	NESS Satellite Field Service Station/SSD Oceanographers	Training Session	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Presentation: NOAA, NESS Future, Ocean Programs, etc.
17 Oct 1979	U.S. House Appropriations Committee	Briefing for Investigative Survey Staff	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: NESS Operating Systems. Tour of FOB-4 and WWB.
28 Nov 1979	Weather Analysis Center in Offenbach, Germany	Briefing for Director Ludwig Weichmann	NESS, Suitland, MD	Briefing: Overview of NESS and Office of Operations.

10 Jan 1980	National Research Council	Meeting of Select Committee on the National Weather Service	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Presentation: Central Data Distribution Facility – Sectorizers and Data Collection System.
18 Jan 1980	Colorado State University (CSU)	Seminar	CSU, Fort Collins, CO	Lecture: New Developments in Operational Satellites.
22 Jan 1980	Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska	Seminar, plus visit to SFSS	Fairbanks, AK	Lecture: New Developments in Operational Satellites.
28 Jan 1980	University of Hawaii	Seminar, plus visit to SFSS	Oahu, HI	Lecture: New Developments in Operational Satellites.
29 Feb 1980	NESS, NWS, ERL	PROFS Troika Meeting	Hallgren’s Office, Gramax Building	Troika Member with Hallgren and Yates: Review of progress and issues.
11 Mar 1980	World Meteorological Organization (WMO)	Briefing for Secretary-General Wiin-Nielson	DOC Executive Conference Room	Briefing: NESS System and Products Overview.
24 Apr 1980	NESS, NWS, ERL	PROFS Troika Meeting	Hallgren’s Office, Gramax Building	Troika Member with Hallgren, Yates: Review of progress and issues.
2 Jun 1980	NOAA, NESS	Briefing for S. Dhawan, Indian Dept. of Space, and Chair, Indian Space Commission, J. P. Singh, INSAT Program Director, and D. Verma, First Secretary for Space in Indian Embassy	FOB 4, Suitland, MD and World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Organized and conducted briefing and tours.
4-7 Jun 1980	COSPAR	Symposium on Systems Performance and Early Results of the Global Observing System for FGGE	Budapest, Hungary	Paper by Ludwig & D. S. Johnson: GOES System Performance. Did not attend; paper presented by COSPAR Program Committee and included in Proceedings.
20 Jun 1980	NESS, NWS, ERL	PROFS Troika Meeting	Hallgren’s Office, Gramax Building	Troika Member with Hallgren, Yates: Review of progress and issues.
13 Jun 1980	Dept. of Commerce	Briefing on FY1982 budget for Budget Examiners	Main Commerce	Briefing, Satellite Operations.
Aug 1980	National Environmental Satellite Service (NESS), NOAA	Started as Technical Director	Suitland, MD
17 Sep 1980	American Meteorological Society	September Monthly Meeting	World Weather Bldg., Camp Springs, MD	Lecture: Satellites and NOAA.
23 Sep 1980	NOAA, NESS	Retreat for reviewing potential initiatives for FY-83	NASA, GSFC Mgmt. Conf. Rm.	Presentation: Office of Operations Initiatives.
29-30 Sep 1980	Service ARGOS, Toulouse, France	Workshop on Data Collection Platform Networks	Auberge des Gouverneurs, Québec, Canada	Member of Panel Discussion : What are the Applicable Official Policies of Government Agencies?
1-2 Oct 1980	Service ARGOS, CNES, Toulouse, France	ARGOS User’s Conference	Auberge des Gouverneurs, Québec, Canada	Co-chairman with Simon de Kergunic.
6-8 Oct 1980	NOAA, Ness and ARGOS, CNES	Twice yearly ARGOS Operations Committee Meeting	Charlottesville, VA	Co-chairman with Simon de Kergunic.
2 Nov 1980	Environmental Research Laboratories (ERL), NOAA	Started as Senior Scientist and Technical Advisor to the Director,	Boulder, CO
13 Nov 1980	NOAA, Environmental Research Labs. (ERL)	Dedication of CSU Cooperative Institute	Fort Collins, CO	Attended.
21 Nov 1980	ERL, NWS, NESS	PROFS Troika Meeting	Hallgren’s Office, Gramax Building	Troika Member with Hallgren, Yates: Review of progress and issues.
1 Dec 1980	ERL/Space Environment Lab. (SEL)	SEL Program Review by Ferris Webster, Asst. Admin. For R & D and staff	Radio Building, Boulder, CO	Attended.
2-3 Dec 1980	ERL/ Wave Propagation Lab. (WPL)	WPL Program Review by Ferris Webster, Asst. Admin. For R & D and staff	Research Lab. 3, Boulder, CO	Attended.
11 Jan 1981	American Meteorological Society		San Antonio, TX
27 Jan 1981	NOAA Hq.	Presentation to NOAA Associate Administrators	NOAA Hq.	Presentation: A NOAA Initiative in Oceanic Remote Sensing Research.
Box 8
4-6 Mar 1981	ERL, National Weather Service (NWS), NESS	Workshop on Prototype Regional Observing and Forecasting Service (PROFS), Central Storm Information System (CSIS), and Next Generation Weather Radar (NEXRAD)	Research Lab. 3, Boulder, CO	Organized, Chaired, and provided Opening Remarks.
12 Mar 1981	American Meteorological Society	Fifth Symposium on Atmospheric Turbulence, Diffusion, and Air Pollution	Atlanta, GA	Luncheon Address: Improving Local Weather Forecasts – Will New Technologies Help?
3 Jun 1981	NOAA Hq.	Retreat to examine impact on research of existing mgmt. climate and plan for FY-83 budget	Sheraton Inn, Frederick, MD	Participated.
10 Jun 1981	NOAA and NASA	Discussion of Doppler LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) research	FOB-10, Washington, DC	Organized and Chaired jointly with Shelby Tilford of NASA.
6 Jul 1981	University of Colorado	Native Americans in Science Program	CU Business Admin. Bldg., Boulder, CO	Presentation: Overview of ERL.
13 Jul 1981	ERL/PROFS	NOAA Program Review	Research Lab. 3, Boulder, CO	Presentation: PROFS Directions after 1983.
29-30 Jul 1981	ERL, NWS, NESS	PROFS Troika Meeting	Research Lab. 3, Boulder, CO	Troika Member with Hallgren and Yates: Review of progress and issues.
7 Aug 1981	ERL/PROFS, Severe Weather, SEL	Briefing for Congressman James H. Scheuer and staff, Chair, Subcommittee on Natural Resources, Agriculture, Research and Environment of the House Committee on Science and Tech.	Research Lab. 3, Boulder, CO	Presentation: ERL Overview.
9 Aug 1981	Environmental Research Laboratories (ERL), NOAA	Started as Director	Research Lab. 3, Boulder, CO
27 Aug 1981	ERL	Visit by Administrator John Byrne and Assoc. Admin. Ferris Webster	Boulder, CO	Organized and conducted major review.
28 Aug 1981	ERL	Visit by Vivian Rivera, Terese Ohnsorg, and Shirley Weber, Budget Analysts	Boulder, CO	Presentation: ERL Overview.
9-10 Sep 1981	NOAA Assoc. Admin. for Research and Development and ERL	Great Lakes Environmental Research Lab. Program Review:	GLERL Conference Room, Ann Arbor, MI	Participated.
14-15 Sep 1981	ERL/Pacific Marine Environment Lab.	Introductory visit by Ludwig	Seattle, WA area	Discussions with John Apel, tours of facilities, including Sand Point, discussions with staff and other related labs.
23-25 Sep 1981	ERL	Board of Director’s Meeting	10th Floor, JILA Building, Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted.
28-29 Oct 1981	NOAA Assoc. Admin. for Research and Development and ERL	Meteorological Lab. Program Review	Research Triangle Park, NC	Participated.
2 Nov 1981	ERL	Visit by Roy Berggren, Swedish Met. And Hydrological Inst. (SMHI)	Boulder, CO	Presentation: ERL Overview.
4-6 Nov 1981	NOAA Assoc. Admin. for Research and Development	Program Budget Planning Retreat	YMCA Camp, Estes Park, CO	Participated.
12 Nov 1981	ERL	Visit of People’s Republic of China delegation	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted. Presentation, ERL Overview and discussion of Programs.
17 Nov 1981	NOAA Assoc. Admin. for Research and Development and ERL	National Severe Storms Lab. Program Review	Norman, OK	Participated.
1-3 Dec 1981	NOAA Assoc. Admin. for Research and Development and ERL	Space Environment Lab. Program Review; Wave Propagation Lab Program Review	Boulder, CO	Participated.
7 Dec 1981	ERL/ AOML, NHRL	Atlantic Oceanography and Meteorology Lab. and National Hurricane Research Lab. informal visit	Miami, FL	Set up and conducted.
8-9 Dec 1981	National Weather Service/Hurricane Center	Hurricane Conference	Hurricane Center, Coral Gables, FL	Attended.
11 Dec 1981	Univ. of Colorado, Graduate School	Small-Group discussion on research needs for the State of CO.	UMC 230, Boulder, CO	Participated.
17 Dec 1981	Colorado State Univ., CIRA	Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere Advisory Board Meeting	Fort Collins, CO	Member.
5 Jan 1982	ERL	Visit by R. Hallgren, National Weather Service Director	Boulder, CO	Briefed on ERL Activities: Set up and chaired.
19 Jan 1982	ERL	Meeting of the Cloud Dynamics Monitoring Program	Boulder, CO	Presentation: Funding and Questions to be Addressed.
21 Jan 1982	NOAA	Meeting with NOAA Administrator’s Staff	Boulder, CO	Presentation: Development of Solar Terrestrial Services.
1 Feb 1982	Univ. of Washington	Meeting of Admin. Bd. For the Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere and Ocean	Seattle, WA	Board Member. Participated.
2-3 Feb 1982	ERL/PMEL	Program Review of Pacific Marine Environmental Lab.	Seattle, WA	Participated.
11-12 Feb. 1982	ERL	Familiarization visit by A. Calio	Boulder, CO
8-10 Mar 1982	NOAA	NOAA Five Year Planning Retreat	Virden Center, Lewes, DE	Participated. Chaired Working Group on Atmospheric Services and Activities.
15 Mar 1982	ERL/National Bureau of Standards	Visit by Joseph Wright, Dep. Dir. Of Office of Management and Budget	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted. Presentation: Introduction and Overview of ERL Labs.
22 Mar 1982	Joint Inst. For Marine & Atmospheric Research (JIMAR)	Admin. Board meeting and JIMAR review	Honolulu, HI	Board Member. Participated.
26 Mar 1982	ERL	Visit by Van Allen, Univ. of Iowa	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted.
30 Mar 1982	ERL	Visit by Douglas Pewitt, et al, Asst. Dir, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted. Presentation: Welcome and Overview of ERL Labs.
5-7 Apr 1982	ERL	Board of Director’s Meeting. Initial planning for OAR reorganization	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted.
8 Apr 1982	ERL/Research Facilities Center (RFC)	RFC Technical and Budget review	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted.
15-16 Apr 1982	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
6 May 1982	ERL, Space Env. Lab.	Meeting with SEL staff to work on budget and OAR reorganization	Boulder, CO	Set up and conducted.
1-4 Jun 1982	Cooperative Inst. For Mesoscale Meteorological Studies	Symposium on Mesoscale Modeling, followed by Workshop	Univ. of OK, Norman, OK	Participated. Presentation in Opening Session.
10 Jun 1982	Univ. of Iowa	Van Allen Symposium on Space Science and Dedication of Van Allen Hall	Iowa City, IA	Invited Lecture: The University of Iowa Enters the Space Era – 1953 through 1959.
17 Jun 1982	ERL	Annual State-of-the-ERL Address	Boulder, CO	Presented.
25 Jun 1982	NOAA Hq.	Annual Budget Review	Wash. Science Center $5, Washington, DC	Participated. Presented review of Weather and Solar Service R&D Planning.
1 Jul 1982	None	25th IGY Anniversary	Boulder, CO	Attended.
19-23 Jul 1982	CIRA-Cooperative Inst. for Research in the Atmosphere	Training Workshop in Satellite Meteorology	Fort Collins, CO	Attended. Gave Banquet address.
26-27 Jul 1982	ERL, NBS	Visit by Robert Gajdys, Director, Office of Personnel, NOAA	Boulder, CO	Gave ERL Overview.
28 Jul 1982	ERL, NBS	Visit by John Eli, Member of the President’s Task Force on the Private Sector	Boulder, CO	Participated in discussions.
11-13 Aug 1982	ERL	Briefing for Alan Thomas and Nick Kastelan on ERL Budget, Admin., and Mgmt. Procedures	Boulder, CO	Introductory briefing. Related to ERL Reorganization.
13-15 Aug 1982	NOAA Office of R&D	R&D Retreat for planning for the reorganization	Columbia Inn, Columbia, MD	Participated.
Box 9
22-24 Sep 1982	CIMMS-Cooperative Inst. for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies	NEXRAD Doppler Symposium/Workshop	Norman, OK	Participated.
27-29 Sep 1982	NOAA/Office of R&D	Review of Weather Observation and Prediction R&D	Bldg. RL3, Boulder, CO	Participated.
30 Sep 1982	Office of Management and Budget (OMB)	Review of FY 1984 Program and Budget	WSC-5, Rockville, MD	Presentation: PROFS Enhancement.
8 Oct 1982	ERL, NWS, NESS	PROFS Troika Meeting	Hallgren’s office, Gramax Bldg., Silver Spring, DC	Member. Participated.
18-19 Oct 1982	National Research Council, Space Science Board	Meeting of Committee on Data Management and Computation (CODMAC)	Radio Building, Boulder, CO	Member. Meeting Host. Participated.
28 Oct 1982	ERL/Geophysical Geodynamics Lab.	GFDL Annual Program Review	Forrestal Campus, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ	Participated.
4-5 Nov 1982	Department of Commerce	Site Survey for DOC Regional Admin. Support Center in Boulder	Boulder, CO	Participated. Presentation on ERL.
10 Nov 1982	ERL/Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies	Meeting: CIMMS Annual Advisory Board	Norman, OK	Participated. Opening Remarks.
6-7 Dec 1982	NOAA Hq.	Cloud Physics and Weather Modification Research Review	Boulder, CO	Participated.
8-9 Dec 1982	Department of Commerce	Meeting of Site Selection Committee for DOC Regional Admin. Support Center in Boulder	Boulder, CO	Participated.
10 Dec 1982	American Geophysical Union	Fall Meeting	Cathedral Hill Hotel, San Francisco, CA	Invited Paper: The Early Explorer Satellites and the Discovery of the Van Allen Radiation Belts.
29 Dec 1982	NOAA/Oceanic & Atmospheric Research	Visit by David Ross	Rockville, MD	Two Presentations: Overviews of ERL.
10-14 Jan 1983	American Meteorological Society	Annual Meeting, including Conf. on Climate/Energy Interactions and Second Conf. on Climate Variations	Sheraton Hotel, New Orleans, LA	Attended.
17 Jan 1983	Univ. of Colorado/ Cooperative Inst. for Research in Environmental Sciences	CIRES Fellows Retreat	Boulder, CO	Participated. Opening Address.
19 Jan 1983	DOC, NOAA, OAR, ERL, GLERL, and American Federation of Government Employees	Signing of contract agreement	Ann Arbor, MI	Remarks. Signing.
24 Jan 1983	NOAA/OAR	OAR Planning Retreat	Columbia, MD	Participated.
28 Jan 1983	None	Dinner on occasion of Frank McDonald’s move to NASA Hq.	Washington, DC	Comments.
7-8 Feb 1983	ERL, Pacific Marine Environmental Lab.	Visit to PMEL, Pacific Marine Center, Northwest and Alaska Fisheries Center	Seattle, WA	Presented Awards and Comments.
8, 10 Feb 1983	PMEL/Univ. Wash. Joint Institutes	Administrative Board meeting, JISAO and JIMAR	Seattle, WA	Participated as member of the two Boards.
11 Feb 1983	ERL, Mona Loa Observatory	Presentation of AMS Award to the Mona Loa Observatory at Banquet.	Hilo, HI	Made the presentation with comments.
7-8 Mar 1983	NOAA/OAR	Air Quality Research Review	Rockville, MD	Attended.
16-18 Mar 1983	ERL	Visit by James Winchester, incoming NOAA Assoc. Admin.	Boulder, CO	Attended. Presented ERL Overview and Wrapup.
22 Mar 1983		Review of NOAA Oceanic Remote Sensing
5-7 Apr 1983	ERL/AOML	Program Review for Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Lab.	Miami, FL	Conducted.
27 Apr 1983	NWS, ERL, NESS	PROFS Troika Meeting	Hallgren’s office, Silver Spring, MD	Participated as ERL Troika member.
13 May 1983	ERL	ERL Directors' Meeting
19 May 1983	NESDIS, ERL/SEL	GOES Data Collection System User’s Working Group Meeting	Boulder, CO	Opening Remarks.
12 Jun 1983	NASA Hq.	Started as Assistant to the NASA Chief Scientist	Washington, DC
29 Nov – 1 Dec 1983	NASA, GSFC, Solar System Exploration Div.	Planetary Data Workshop-Trends in Planetary Data Analysis	Greenbelt, MD	Opening Lecture: NASA Directions in Data Management
1 Feb 1984	NASA Hq.	Retired from NASA	Washington, DC

16 May 1985	NASA Hq. Advisory Council and Committees	Started as Consultant for NASA Committee Special Activities as requested	Washington, DC
16-17 Jul 1985	NASA Hq.	Meeting of Space Applications Advisory Committee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Attended as Member.
Nov 1985	Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES), University of Colorado	Started as Senior Research Associate	Boulder, CO
7 Mar 1986	Colorado Alliance for Science	Third Annual Meeting	Boulder, CO	Lecture: Technology, Society, and Education.
7 Apr 1986	Univ. of Colorado – Boulder, Dept of Aerospace Engineering	Engineering Seminar	Boulder, CO	Lecture: Advances in Space Research Data Management.
10-11 Apr 1986	NASA Hq.	Meeting of Space Applications Advisory Committee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Attended as Member. Also as member of the Information Systems Subcommittee.
May 1986	Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP), University of Colorado	Started as Senior Research Associate	Boulder, CO
23-25 Jun 1986	NASA Hq.	Meeting of Space Applications Advisory Committee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Attended as Member of Committee, and Member of Information Systems Subcommittee.
21 Jul 1986	Kiwanis Club of the Foothills	Regular Meeting	Boulder, CO	Lecture: The US Space Station.
20-23 Aug 1986	NASA Hq.	Summer Workshop of the SAAC	Annapolis, MD	Participated as Member of SAAC. Co-chaired Information System Group.
11 Sep 1986	NASA Hq.	Started as Chairman, SAAC Information System Group
October 1986		NASA Long-Range Remote Sensing Applications
21-23 Oct 1986	NASA Hq.	Meeting of Space Applications Advisory Committee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Attended as Member of Committee, and Chairman of Information Systems Subcommittee.
23 Oct 1986	NASA/JPL	Planetary Data System Science Working Group Meeting	Pasadena, CA	Member. Participated.
28 Oct 1986	American Astronautical Society	33rd Annual Meeting	Hilton Harvest House, Boulder, CO	Invited Lecture: Space and Earth Science Data Management.
6 Nov 1986	Military-Government Panel on Telecommunications Educational Needs	Conference on Educating the Telecom Professional	Boulder, CO	Lecture: A NASA View of Future Telecommunications Needs.
4 Dec 1986	Univ. of Hawaii, Planetary Geosciences Division	Meeting to discuss geosciences activities	Honolulu, HI	Participated.
20 Feb 1987	LASP	Pioneer-Venus Data Management Symposium	Boulder, CO	Participated.
17-19 Feb 1987	NASA Hq.	Meeting of Space Applications Advisory Committee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Attended as Member of Committee, and Chairman of Information Systems Subcommittee.
24-26 Feb 1987	NASA/Office of Space Science and Applications	Earth Science and Applications Data Systems (ESADS) Workshop	Easton, MD	Chaired Task Group on Scientific and Operations Management. Participated in Panel H, Data System Policy Issues.
Box 10
13 Mar 1987	Colorado Alliance for Science	Fourth Annual Meeting-Educational Foundations for a Rapidly Changing Society	Golden, CO	Conference Planning Committee. Address-Charge for the Day. Organized Group Discussions.
2 Apr 1987	Univ. of Colorado /School of Engineering	Space Operations and Information Systems Design Course	Boulder, CO	Lecture: Data Management – The Future-Space Operations and Information Systems.
27 Apr 1987	Univ. of Colorado /Lab. For Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP)	Data Management Workshop	Boulder, CO	Lectures: The NASA Central On-line Data Directory, The PDS MOU, and A Distributed Data System Model.
12 May 1987	NASA Hq.	Presentation for Lennard Fisk by SAAC Information System Subcommittee	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Presentation of Subcommittee Recommendations.
18-21 May 1987	IEEE/GRS-S	International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS ’87)	Ann Arbor, MI	Lecture: Distributed Information Systems for Space Remote Sensing.
3-5 Jun 1987	Lunar & Planetary Inst., hosted by LASP	Martian Clouds Data Workshop (First research use of PDS)	Boulder, CO	Participated.
21 Jun 1987	NASA Hq. Advisory Council and Committees	Ended as Consultant, NASA Committee Special Activities	Washington, DC
30 Jun-1 Jul 1987	NASA/JPL	Planetary Data System Design Review	Pasadena, CA	Participated.
Feb 1988	NASA Hq. Space Station Science and Applications Advisory Subcommittee (SSSAAS)	Started as Consultant
23-24 Feb 1988	NASA Hq.	Space Station Science and Applications Advisory Subcommittee (SSSAAS) Meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Participated as Member, and Chairman of Information System Subcommittee.
7-9 Mar 1988	Univ. of Colorado, LASP	Telescience Testbed Pilot Program Review	Boulder, CO	Presentation: Earth System Science Testbed.
21-22 Mar 1988	NASA	Space Station Science and Applications Advisory Subcommittee (SSSAAS) Meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Participated as Member.
25 Mar 1988	National Academy of Science, Engineering	Meeting of Committee on Data Management and Computation (CODMAC)	Pasadena, CA	Lecture: SSSAAS Structure. NASA Information Systems Issues.
12 May 1988	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRS-S)	Administrative Committee Meeting	George Washington University, Washington, DC	Participated as Member.
7-9 Jun 1988	NASA	Wrapup meeting of the Information Systems Subcommittee, Space Applications Advisory Committee, NASA Advisory Council	Washington, DC	Presentation and paper as Subcommittee Chairman: Final Report of the Subcommittee.
17 Jun 1988	Univ. of Colorado (LASP)	Seminar	Boulder, CO	Lecture: The Eos Information System.
20-24 Jun 1988	NASA	SSSAAS Summer Workshop	Hyannis Regency Inn & Conference Center, Hyannis, MA	Participated. Chaired Information Systems Splinter Group.
20-23 Aug 1988	University of Colorado/Center for Space and Geosciences Policy	Workshop-Space Policy Reconsidered	Boulder, CO	Participated.
24 Aug 1988	Space Applications Board, NAS/NAE	Board Meeting	Boulder, CO	Presentation: NASA Information System Issues.
12 Sep 1988	IEEE/GRS-S	Advisory Committee Meeting	Univ. of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland	Participated as Committee Member.
13-16 Sep 1988	IEEE/IGARSS	1988 International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium	Univ. of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland	Paper: Information Systems for the Space Station Era. 6.
Box 11
13-14 Oct 1988	NASA	SSSAAS Advisory Subcommittee third meeting	League City, TX	Participated as member.
3 Nov 1988	Univ. Corp. for Atmospheric Research (UCAR)	1988 Forum on Data Management for Global Change	Baltimore, MD	Presentation: Report on Advisory Committees Dealing with NASA Data Activities.
18 Nov 1988	IEEE/GRS-S	GRS-S Advisory Committee Meeting	University of Texas, Arlington, TX	Participated as member.
13-15 Dec 1988	International Group	International Forum on Scientific Uses of the Space Station	Toronto, Canada	Presentation: Information System Commonality Issues.
15 Dec 1988	Univ. of Colorado, (LASP)	Seminar Series	Boulder, CO	Lecture: A Student’s Eye View of the Early Explorer Program.
4-5 Jan 1989	NASA	SSSAAS Advisory Subcommittee meeting	Santa Barbara, CA	Participated as member.
1-3 Feb 1989		SSAAC Advisory Board
16 Feb 1989	IEEE	Joint Boulder-Denver AP/MTT/GRS Chapter Meeting	Boulder, CO	Lecture: The First Explorers and the Discovery of the Van Allen Belts.
17 Feb 1989	Univ. of Colorado, Depts. Of Physics and Engineering	Natural Philosophy Club	Denver, CO	Lecture: A Student’s Eye View of the Early Explorer Program.
3 Mar 1989	IEEE/GRS-S	GRS-S Advisory Committee Meeting	George Washington Univ., Washington, DC	Participated as member.
24 Apr 1989	Boulder Kiwanis Club	Weekly meeting	Boulder, CO	Address: The First Explorers and the Discovery of the Van Allen Belts.
26 Apr 1989		SSCA Advisory Subcommittee
1-3 May 1989	NASA Hq.	Science Users Workshop, convened by Information Systems Strategic Planning (ISSP) Project	Historic Inns of Annapolis, Annapolis, MD	Participated as Member, Meeting Emerging Science Needs Panel.
11 May 1989	Boulder Optimists Club	Regular meeting	Senior Center, Boulder, CO	Lecture: The Early Explorers and the Discovery of the Earth’s Radiation Belts.
18-19 May 1989	University of Colorado/LASP	LASP Advisory Board meeting	Boulder, CO	Participated .
26-30 Jun 1989	NASA Hq. SSSAAS and International Forum on the Scientific Use of Space Station (IFSUSS)	Space Station Science and Applications Subcommittee of the NASA Advisory Council	Woods Hole Study Center, Woods Hole, MA	Participated as member of SSSAAS. Presentation on information systems issues from the earlier Information System Splinter Group. Chairman of Materials and Fluid Sciences Splinter Group.
9 Jul 1989	IEEE/ Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS)	Administrative Committee Meeting	University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada	Participated as Member.
Box 12
8 Aug 1989	ERL/Space Environment Lab.	Seminar	Radio Building, Boulder, CO	Open Lecture: The First Explorers and the Discovery of the Van Allen Belts.
12 Oct 1989	California Inst. Of Technology	Started as Visiting Senior Scientist Continued LASP appointment.	NASA Hq., Washington, DC
2 Nov 1989	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society	Administrative Committee Meeting	Houston Area Research Center, The Woodlands, TX	Participated as Member and Secretary.
6-8 Dec 1989	NASA	SSSAAS Advisory Subcommittee seventh meeting	NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Participated as Member of SSSAAS and of the Observing Sciences Splinter Group.

31 Jan-1 Feb 1990	USGS/Earth Resources Operational Satellite Data Center	Review of EROS Data Center		Sioux Falls, SC	Participated.
7-9 Mar 1990	NASA	SSSAAS Advisory Subcommittee eighth meeting		Radisson Hotel and Langley Revercha Center, Hampton, VA	Participated as Member of SSSAAS and the Observing Sciences Splinter Group
18 Apr 1990	NASA Hq.	First meeting of the Information Systems Management Board		FOB-10, Washington, DC	Participated on behalf of Shelby Tilford.
23-24 Apr 1990	NASA/ Space Science and Applications Advisory Committee (SSAAC)	Meeting of the Communications and Information Systems Subcommittee (CISS)		SAIC Conference Room, 400 Virginia Ave., Washington, DC	Participated.
16 May 1990	National Academy of Sciences (NAS)/ Committee on Earth Sciences (CES)	Meeting of the Working Group on Global Change (WGGC)		NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Participated.
20 May 1990	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society	Administrative Committee Meeting		Center for Adult Education, Univ. of MD, College Park, MD	Participated as Member and Secretary.
11-15 Jun 1990	NASA	SSSAAS Advisory Subcommittee Summer Study		NAS Woods Hole Study Center, Woods Hole, MA	Participated as Member of SSSAAS. Chaired session on Scientist-Experiment Interaction. Participated in Observing and Sensing Science Splinter Group.
18 Jun 1990	NASA/DFVLR	NASA visit to DFVLR to review plans for their Space Station components and German Processing and Archiving Facility		DLR, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany	Member of five-person NASA delegation.
19-21 Jun 1990	ESRIN	Thirteenth meeting of the Earth Observation International Coordination Working Group		Frascati, Italy	Participated.
8-9 Aug 1990	NASA/ Space Science and Applications Advisory Committee (SSAAC)/ Communications and Information Systems Subcommittee (CISS).	Information Systems Program Review		NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Participated.
20 Sep 1990	DFVLR	Celebration Colloquium on occasion of dedication of the German Processing and Archiving Facility (D-PAF) for ERS-1		DLR, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany	Attended.
25-27 Sep 1990	ESA/DFVLR	Ninth meeting, Committee on Earth Observations Satellites (CEOS), Working Group on Data		DLR, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany	Participated.
8 Nov 1990	NASA/OSSA Information Systems Working Group (ISWG)	Meeting		NASA Hq., Washington, DC	Participated.
30 Nov 1990	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society	Administrative Committee Meeting		California Inst. of Technology, Pasadena, CA	Participated as Member and Secretary.
22 Jan 1991	NAS/CES	Meeting with Corell, Fein, Withee		NAS, Washington, DC	Lay groundwork for what became the Global Change Data and Information System (GC-DIS) and the Interagency Working Group on Data Management for Global Change (IWGDMGC)
Box 13
11 Feb 1991	NAS/IWGDMGC	Meeting of Principals		NAS, Washington, DC	Led planning for the Forum. Participated.
21 Mar 1991	NOAA Geophysical Data Center	Meeting with Dallas Peck, W. Bieseker	NOAA GDC		Briefing on IWGDMGC
22 Mar 1991	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society	Administrative Committee Meeting	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD		Participated as Member and Secretary.
2 Apr 1991	NASA	Meeting of the Steering Group for the International Space Year Conference on Earth and Space Science Information Systems	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD		Conducted, as General Conference Chairman. Conference planned for 10-13 Feb 1992.
4-5 Apr 1991	British National Space Centre	Meeting of Committee on Earth Observing Satellites (CEOS) to discuss the international exchange of satellite data for global environment research	The Cosener’s House, Abingdon, England		Participated.
16-18 Apr 1991	NOAA/NESDIS	Tenth meeting of the CEOS Working Group on Data (WGD)	Annapolis, MD		Participated
2 Jun 1991	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS)	Administrative Committee Meeting	Espoo, Finland		Participated as Member and Secretary.
3-6 Jun 1991	IEEE/GRSS	1991 International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium	Espoo, Finland		Chaired session on Global Remote Sensing. Presented paper: Early-EOS Data and Information System. Presented paper: Data Policies for the U.S. Global Change Research Program.
12 Jun 1991	NASA/OSSA	Meeting of OSSA Information Systems Management Board	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD		Participated.
18 Jun 1991	NASA/OSSA	Program Review of NASA Science Internet (NSI)	NASA Hq.		Participated.
19 Jul 1991	NASA/OSSA	Meeting of OSSA Information Systems Management Board	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD		Participated.
26 Jul 1991	NASA/OSSA	Meeting of OSSA Information Systems Management Board	NASA Hq., Washington, DC		Participated.
13 Aug 1991	NASA/OSSA	Meeting of OSSA Information Systems Management Board	NASA Hq., Washington, DC		Participated.
Box 14
13 Sep 1991	National Research Council	Meeting of Steering Committee for the Forum on IWGDMGC	NAS Green Building, Washington, DC		Chaired as IWGDMGC Executive Secretary. Major presentation: Management of Large-Scale Global Databases for the Earth Observing System (EOS).
15 Sep 1991	California Inst. Of Technology	Ended role as Visiting Senior Scientist Continued LASP appointment.	NASA Hq., Washington, DC		Retired from further paid professional activities.
17-18 Sep 1991	NOAA Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)	Meeting of the NGDC Science Advisory Panel	Boulder, CO		Participated.
30 Sep 1991	NASA	Meeting of the Steering Group for the International Space Year Conference on Earth and Space Science Information Systems	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD		Conducted, as General Conference Chairman. Conference planned for 10-13 Feb 1992.
22 Nov 1991	IEEE/Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS)	Administrative Committee Meeting	Tucson, AZ		Participated as Member and Secretary.
22-24 Jan 1992	National Research Council/Committee on Geophysical Data	1992 Data Forum	NAS Georgetown Facilities, Washington, DC		Participated.
10-13 Feb 1992	NASA as Sponsor for Space Agency Forum on the International Geophysical Year (SAFISY)	International Space Year Conference on Earth and Space Science Information Systems	Pasadena Convention Center, Pasadena, CA		Conference General Chairman. Opening Address. Space Science Special Paper: The Global Change Data and Information System.
12-14 Aug 1992	NOAA Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)	Meeting of the NGDC Science Advisory Panel	Boulder, CO		Participated as Member.
15-16 Nov 1993	NOAA Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)	Meeting of the NGDC Science Advisory Panel	Boulder, CO		Participated as Member.
16-18 Oct 1996	University of New Hampshire	Symposium on Cosmic Rays in the Heliosphere and Galaxy in honor of William Weber	Durham, NH		Chair: Session on Galactic Electrons and Positrons.

3 Jun 2000	None	Frank McDonald’s 75th Birthday Symposium and Banquet	Greenbelt, MD	Address: Frank McDonald—Comments at his 75th Birthday Banquet
7 Mar 2001	Torch Club of Winchester, VA	Monthly Meeting	Jimmy’s Steak House, Winchester, VA	Paper: Entry into Space—Exploration, Science, and Politics. Later published in the Torch bulletin.
13 Mar 2001	Alpha Chi Society, Shenandoah University	Monthly Meeting	Clement Board Room, Shenandoah Univ., Winchester, VA	Lecture: Entry into Space—Exploration, Science, and Politics.
Box 15
27 Mar 2001	Rotary Club of Winchester	Weekly Meeting		Lecture: Entry into Space—Exploration, Science, and Politics.
3 May 2001	Science Club, Charlottesville HS	Periodic Meeting	Charlottesville, VA	Lecture: Into Space.
22 May 2001	Deriters Club, First Presbyterian Church	Weekly Meeting	Winchester, VA	Lecture: Into Space.
19 Nov 2001	Book Club of Winchester	Weekly Meeting	Winchester, VA	Entry into Space—Exploration, Science, and Politics-or-Beating the Soviets to the Radiation Belt Discovery.
14 May 2002	Goddard Retirees Alumni Association	Monthly Meeting. Orbiting Geophysical Observatory Reunion	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Address: Comments on OGO (for which I was Project Scientist.
11 Jun 2002	Goddard Retirees Alumni Association	Seminar for NASA Academy Interns	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Address: Entry into Space—Exploration, Science, and Politics.
19 Oct 2002	Men’s Weekly Breakfast	Weekly Meeting	Gabriela’s, Winchester, MD	Address: George’s Nine Lives.
21 Nov 2002	Technical Student Association, Handley High School	Periodic Meeting	Handley High School, Winchester, VA	Address: George’s Nine Lives.
11 Mar 2003	Goddard Retirees Alumni Association	Grand Farewell Luncheon for Leslie H. Meredith	GSFC, Greenbelt, MD	Address: Leslie H. Meredith—The Iowa Years.
9 Oct 2004	Physics and Astronomy Department, University of Iowa	Van Allen Day. Celebration of James A. Van Allen’s 90th Birthday	Iowa City, IA	Co-Organizer. Lecture: Building the Early Explorer Instruments.
6-7 May 2005	First Presbyterian Church	Men’s Retreat: God and the Cosmos	Massanetta Springs, VA	Lecture: Glimpsing God’s Universe—The View from Space.
1 Aug 2005	Shenandoah Astronomical Society	Monthly Meeting	Lord Fairfax College, Stevens City, VA	Lecture: The U.S. Entry into Space and the Discovery of the Van Allen Radiation Belts.
8 Mar 2006	Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum	Special gala evening to honor two recipients of the NASM Trophy, the Mars Exploration Rover Team and James A. Van Allen for Lifetime Achievement	NASM, Washington, DC	Invited Guest. Represented the University of Iowa.
20 Sep 2006	Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum	Gala Dinner in celebration of 30 years of Milestones of Air and Space	NASM, Washington, DC	Invited Guest. Introduced as builder of the Explorer I science instrument, one of the 30 milestones.
3 Dec 2008	Smithsonian NASM Udvar-Hazy Center	Gala Dinner in celebration of the Udvar-Hazy Center’s fiftieth anniversary	NASM, Udvar-Hazy Center, Dulles Airport, VA	Invited Guest.
15-19 Dec 2008				Lecture: The Foundations of Radiation Belt Research
6 Mar 2009	Lord Fairfax Community College	Regular Meeting of the Scientific Society	Lord Fairfax College, Stevens City, VA	Lecture: The Foundations of Radiation Belt Research.

Correspondence Series

Box 1

1961-1964

Box 2

1965-1966

Box 3

1967-1968

Box 4

1969-1970

Box 5

1971-1974

Box 6

1975-1977

Box 7

1978-1979

Box 8

1979-1980

Box 9

1980

Box 10

1981

Box 11

1982-1986

Box 12

1987-2007

Projects:

NASA Data Management Study, 1983-1984

SSSAAS Information System, 1988

IWGDMCC, 1989-1991

SAIS, 1988

Translations and Other Public Releases of Soviet Papers Series

Box 1

Astronautics Information, No. 1-16; 1959-1960

Box 2

----. No. 17-32; 1960-1964

Four translations by Joseph L. Zygielbaum, 1959

Conference on Rockets and Satellites, National Academy of Sciences; 1957

Binder: USSR and other translations

Box 3

Symposium of Soviet Research on Artificial Earth Satellites and Related Subjects (two parts), 1958

Soviet Bloc International Geophysical Year Information [weekly reports], November 1957-May 1959

Box 4

----. May 1959-December 1960

Original Data Plots for the Explorer Missions Series

Box 1

1958-1960

University Libraries

Special Collections and Archives

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Return to Finding Aids A-Z List