The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Papers of Hunter R. Rawlings III Access and Restrictions: The Correspondence Series is closed to research for 30 years after date of creation. The remaining series (Publications, Speeches and Articles) are open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 1996. Preliminary container list prepared April 4, 1997. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006. Photographs: |
|
Biographical Note
Hunter R. Rawlings III served as the seventeenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1988 to 1995.
A classics scholar, Rawlings was a noted author and editor as well as professor when he was named university president in 1988. His book, The Structure of Thucydides’ History, was published in 1981.
Rawlings is a 1966 graduate of Haverford College, with honors in classics. He received a Ph.D. in 1970 from Princeton University, where he was a Woodrow Wilson Fellow and National Defense Education Act Fellow.
In 1970 Rawlings joined the classics faculty at the University of Colorado at Boulder and, in 1978, became department chair. He was named full professor in 1980 and served as associate vice chancellor for instruction from 1980 to 1984. He received the University of Colorado Teaching Excellence Award in 1979.
While president at Iowa, Rawlings chaired the Governor’s Commission on Foreign Language Studies and International Education for the State of Iowa from 1988 to 1991. In 1995 as he completed his presidency, he was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. During the same year he was named president of Cornell University.
Rawlings was born in Norfolk, Virginia, in 1944 and is married to Elizabeth Trapnell Rawlings. They have four children.
Related Materials
Biographical file in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives
Rawlings, Hunter R. "The University and the Public." Iowa City: The University of Iowa, 1992.
Box Contents List
The collection consists of three series: Correspondence, Publications, and Speeches and Articles. The Correspondence series is closed to research 30 years after date of creation. The Publications and Speeches/Articles series are open for research.
Correspondence Series
Box
1 1988 1 - 39.1
2 39.3 - 43
3 44 - 50
4 50 - 53
5 1989 Pres. off. (1 - 46.13?)
6 46.14 - 53.7
7 Athletics
8 1991 1.0 - 1.10
9 1.10 - 40.0
10 7.8, 1.19 - 5.0
11 7.0 - 7.28
12 7.31 - 8
13 8.4 - 9
14 10 - 19
15 20 - 23
16 23.1 - 23.8
17 24 - 29
18 30 - 32
19 32.31 - 34
20 40.7 - 46.11
21 41 - 41.6
22 46.12 - 51
23 51.0 - 54.0
24 V.P. for research, 1 of 2
25 V.P. for research search
26 Internal audit, 2 of 2
27 Program closings; German
28 1992 1 - 53
29 1993 Liberal arts - student
30 Thru law
31 V.P. finance - pharmacy
32 UIHC - Big 10
33 Chair/council of 10 + NCAA
34 NCAA thru associations/boards
35 NCAA thru associations/boards
36 NCAA thru associations/boards
37 Councils thru UI Foundation
38 Councils thru UI Foundation
39 1994 #1
Publications series - 0.25 lin. ft.
Speeches and Articles series - 2.5 lin. ft.