The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Committee Records Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007. The materials were reprocessed, with additional accessions, in May-June 2011. Photographs: None |
|
Box Contents List
Box 1:
Administrative Structure Committee
Report, 1966
Admissions Committee
Materials, May 1985 - September 1996
Adjustment Committee
Materials, 1935, 1952, 1954
Minutes, June 1942 - November 1948 [Bound]
Minutes. January 1949 - May 1962 [Bound]
Area of Concentration Committee
Report, n.d.
Classroom and Office Space Committee
Materials, 1929 - 1930
Computer-Based Education Committee
Materials, 1979 - 1980
Computer Operations Committee
Materials, 1979 - 1980
Coordination of Student Personnel Services Committee
Materials, 1952 - 1959
Courses of Study Committee
Materials, 1915 - 1916
Materials, 1917 - 1921
Materials, 1925 - 1947
Minutes, September 1915 - March 1941 [Bound]
Minutes, September 1917 - February 1942
Curriculum and Duplication Committee
Materials, 1936
Curriculum and Instruction Committee
Materials, 1919 - 1943
Materials, 1944 - 1950, n.d.
Minutes, January 1948 - JUne 1949 [Bound]
Minutes, November 1942, March 1944 - May 1950
Reference Materials, 1929, 1944 - 1949, 1954, n.d.
Subcommittees:
Basic Skills: Materials, 1945, 1949 - 1950, n.d.
Core Courses: Materials, 1943 - 1944 (January-June)
Core Courses: Materials, 1944 (July-December)
Box 2:
Curriculum and Instruction Committee
Core Courses Subcommittee:
Materials, 1945 - 1946
Materials, 1947 - 1948
Materials, 1949
Materials, 1950 - 1953
Materials, n.d.
Reports, 1949
Report from Chairman W.F. Loehwing, 1949
Advisory Program, 1944, n.d.
Areas of Concentration, n.d.
Budget Requests and Estimates for General Studies, 1947, n.d.
Budget Needs, 1947, n.d.
General Studies Committee, 1948
Tabulated Enrollment for Core and Skill Courses, 1945 - 1948
Non-Degree Curricula Subcommittee
Report, 1945
Curriculum Revision Committee
Materials, 1938 - 1941
Materials, 1942 - 1943
Materials, 1944 - 1945, n.d.
Subcommittees:
Fine Arts, 1942 - 1943
Foreign Languages, 1944
History, 1942 - 1943, n.d.
Literature, 1942 - 1943
Science, 1942 - 1943, n.d.
Social Studies, 1942, n.d.
Dean Search Committee to Replace Dean Stuit
Materials, 1975
Dean Search Committee to Replace Dean Tait
Materials, 1983 - 1984
Department Executive Officers, Meetings of
Minutes, October 1946 - June 1964 [Bound]
Minutes, February 1942, July 1950, October 1950, March 1951
Minutes, July 1951 - December 1957
Minutes, January 1958 - November 1964
Box 3:
Department Executive Officers, Meetings of
Minutes, January 1965 - December 1969
Minutes, January 1970 - April 1976
Miscellaneous Materials, 1976 - 1979
Informal Guide to Administrative Procedures, 1950 - 1951, 1959, 1962, 1966, 1972, 1975
Department Heads, Chairmen and Directors, Meetings of
Minutes and Materials, 1942 - 1943, 1949 - 1950 [Incomplete]
Educational Policy Committee
Materials: Core Course Requirements, 1952 - 1954
Materials: General Education Requirements, 1978 - November 1979
Materials: General Education Requirements, December 1979 - 1980, n.d.
Minutes, 1959 - 1959 [Bound]
Minutes, 1959 - 1964 [Bound]
Minutes, 1950 - 1964
Minutes, 1965 - 1971
Minutes, 1972 - 1979
Minutes, 1980 - 1981
Minutes, 1982 - 1986
Minutes, 1987 - 1990
Minutes, 1991 - 1994
Minutes, 1995 - 2000
Box 4:
Educational Policy Committee
Correspondence, 1951, 1953, 1965, 1967, 1973 - August 1980
Correspondence, September 1980 - September 1985
Memoranda, 1952 - 1953, 1977 - April 1979
Memoranda, May 1979 - March 1980
Memoranda, April 1980 - 1985
Various Documents, 1967, 1979 - 1981, n.d.
Various Reports, 1965, 1970, 1978 - 1981, n.d.
Examination Procedures Committee
Report, 1942
Executive Committee
Minutes, 1911 - 1927 [Bound]
Minutes, 1927 - 1942 [Bound: Also includes minutes for Committee on Admission and Classification, 1939 - 1942]
Minutes, 1944 - 1949 [Bound]
Minutes, 1956 - 1964 [Bound: Also includes minutes of Joint Meetings of Executive and Educational Policy Committees]
Box 5:
Executive Committee
Minutes, 1911 - 1913
Minutes, 1913 - 1915
Minutes, 1915 - 1916
Minutes, 1916 - 1918
Minutes, 1918 - 1920
Minutes, 1920 - 1921
Minutes, 1922 - 1924
Minutes, 1925 - 1926
Minutes, 1927 - 1928
Minutes, 1928 - 1930
Minutes, 1930 - 1932
Minutes, 1934 - 1937
Minutes, 1937 - 1940
Minutes, 1941 - 1942
Minutes, 1942 - 1949
Minutes, 1949 - 1951
Minutes, 1951 - 1954
Minutes, 1954 - 1957
Minutes, 1957 - 1962
Minutes, 1962 - 1968
Minutes, 1968 - 1978
Minutes, 1979 - 1984
Minutes, 1985 - 1988
Minutes, 1989 - 1990
Minutes, 1991 - 1993
Box 6:
Executive Committee
Minutes, 1994 - 1997
Minutes, 2000 -
Meeting Materials: Correspondence, 1917 - 1982
Meeting Materials: Memoranda, 1978 - 1980
Meeting Materials: Memoranda, 1981 - 1989
Meeting Materials: Miscellaneous, 1917 - 1988, n.d.
Report on Student Army Training Corps, 1918
Faculty Meetings
Materials, 1919 - 1924
Minutes and Materials, October 1929 - October 1945
Minutes and Materials, May 1946 - December 1949
Minutes and Materials, January 1950 - December 1956
Minutes and Materials, March 1957 - December 1963
Minutes and Materials, April 1964 - December 1969
Minutes and Materials, February 1970 - December 1975
Minutes and Materials, January 1976 - December 1980
Minutes and Materials, February 1981 - November 1988
Minutes and Materials, February 1989 - December 1996
Faculty Meetings, Graduate
Minutes, April - May 1950, January 1958, June 1958, January 1959, May 1959
Freshman Studies Committee
Materials, 1935 - 1938
General Committee Information, 1985
General Education Requirements Committee
Assorted Materials: General, Physical Education, Rhetoric, 1978
Assorted Materials: Historical Cultural Core, Natural Science Core, 1978
Box 7:
General Education Requirements Committee
Assorted Materials: Mathematics, Foreign Languages, Social Science Core, Litetature Core, 1977 - 1978
Assorted Materials from Within UI, 1977 - 1980, n.d.
Correspondence and Memoranda, 1977 - 1979
Minutes, 1978
Proposals, 1978, n.d.
Reference Documents (non-UI), 1977 - 1978, n.d.
Box 8:
General Education Requirements Committee
Reports and Responses, 1967, 1978
Reports and Responses, 1979
Military Affairs Committee
Materials, 1946
National Defense and Military Service Committee
Materials, 1941 - 1942, 1944, n.d.
Nominating Committee
Materials, 1916 - 1924, 1931 - 1943
Occupational Therapy Committee
Materials, 1946 - 1947
Presidential Search and Screen Advisory Committee
Roster, 1995
Program Committee
Materials, 1917 - 1924, 1937
School of Letters Committee
Materials, 1930 - 1932
Social Studies Education Committee
Materials, 1949
Social Science Seminar [Core Classes]
Materials, 1951 - 1952
Standing Committees
Materials, 1916, 1925 - 1936, 1950 -1952, 1980
Stewart (G.W.) Committee (Educational Discussion Group)
Materials, 1948 - 1953, n.d.
Structure of the College of Liberal Arts Committee
Materials, 1965 - 1966
University Council
MInutes, 1949 - 1950, 1959 [Incomplete]
Various Committees
Materials, 1918 - 1974, n.d.