The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Records of the School of Library and Information Science Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: Records of the School of Library and Information Science have been transferred from the School to the University Archives at various times. The Course Syllabi and Notes series, 1969-70, was donated by Corinne Stutts, an alumna. Guide posted to the Internet November 2007; revised August 2011. Photographs: None |
|
Scope and Contents
The Records of the University of Iowa School of Library and Information Science are arranged into 11 series: Administrative, Printed Material, Student-Produced Projects, Beta Phi Mu (Beta Beta Theta Chapter), Newsletters, Scholarships, Director's Files, Course Syllabi and Notes, Alumni Correspondence and Student Data, Comprehensive Exams, and Curriculum Committee. In the Comprehensive Exams series, names of the students associated with the files were removed to ensure privacy, and a sampling of exams representing activity every four years was retained.
Historical Note
The University of Iowa School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) was created in 1965 by an act of the Iowa state Board of Regents, with the first classes offered in September 1967. Prior to this time, courses in librarianship were offered at UI through the College of Education. The School's first director, Frederick Wezeman, was appointed in September 1966 and served until his retirement in 1980. He was succeeded by Carl Orgren, who served until 1996, Padmini Srinivasan from 1996 to 2000, Joseph Kearney (interim director) from 2000 to 2002, David Eichmann from 2002 to 2006, and James Elmborg in 2006 (interim director), becoming director in 2007.
The School achieved accreditation by the American Library Association for the first time in 1971. In 1983 the School's name was changed from School of Library Science to School of Library and Information Science. In 2000, during a program reorganization, SLIS moved from the College of Liberal Arts to the Graduate College.
Related Materials
Papers of Frederick Wezeman (RG 99.0123)
Buchanan, Ellen. "Tell Me Your Story." Iowa City: Iowa City Public Library, 1989. Video recording of interview with Prof. Louane L. (Jerry) Newsome, who discusses the early years of SLIS. In Archives cataloged section.
Box Contents List
Box 1
Administrative
ALA Accreditation Report, 1974
----. 1980
Application procedures, 1973-1976
ICN instruction, undated
Minority referrals and recruitment, 1990-2002
New student orientation, 2002-2003
Public programs, 1969-1974
Self-study, 1973
----. 1979
Printed Material
Library School News Notes; Information and Schedule; 1969-
Bulletin, 1967-1970
Student Guide, 1973-1976
Student Newsletter, 1973-1976
Student-Produced Projects
Carnegie Libraries in Iowa calendar project, 2007
Handbook for the University Main Library, 1972
Information Resources in Iowa City, 1970
Selected and Annotated List of Government Publications on Drug Abuse and Misuse for the High School Library, 1971
Sources of Information on Censorship in Iowa, 1971[?]
Beta Phi Mu (Beta Beta Theta Chapter)
Annual Chapter Program, newsletter, 1988-
By-laws
Box 2
Newsletters, 1966-1969
----. 1970-1974.
----. 1975-1979.
----. 1980-1984.
----. 1985-1989.
----. 1990-1994.
----. 1995-1999.
----. 2000-
Box 3
Scholarships, 1983-
Box 4
Director's Files
Correspondence, 1967-1968
----. September-December 1968
----. January-July 1969
----. August-December 1969
----. January-August 1970
----. September-October 1970
----. November-December 1970
----. January-March 1971
----. April-June 1971
Box 5
----. July-September 1971
----. October-December 1971
----. January-March 1972
----. April-June 1972
----. July-September 1972
----. October-December 1972
----. January-March 1973
----. April-June 1973
----. July-September 1973
----. October-December 1973
Box 6
----. January-March 1974
----. April-June 1974
----. July-September 1974
----. October-December 1974
----. January-March 1975
----. April-June 1975
----. July-September 1975
----. October 1975-March 1976
----. April-June 1976
----. July-September 1976
----. October-December 1976
----. January-March 1977
----. April-June 1977
Box 7
----. July-September 1977
----. October-December 1977
----. January-March 1978
----. April-June 1978
----. July-September 1978
----. October-December 1978
----. Public relations, January 1971-December 1976 (two folders)
Board of Regents talk regarding liquor at University of Iowa, July 1974
Iowa City Public Library directorship, July 1974
Memoes, 1967-1976
Box 8
Lectures, speeches and reviews, 1963-1978
Clippings, 1966-1976
Course Syllabi and Notes
Cataloging and Classification, Spring 1969
Reference I, Spring 1969
Box 9
Book Selection, Spring 1969
Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Summer 1969
Advanced Reference, Fall 1969
History of Libraries and Librarianship, Fall 1969
Multi-Media Concept in Libraries, Fall 1969
Box 10
Bibliography of the Humanities, Spring 1970
College and University Libraries, Spring 1970
Introduction to Information Science, Spring 1970
Supplement: Deere and Company Library, Spring 1970
Bibliography of the Sciences, Summer 1970
Information about course syllabi and registration; requirements; comprehensive exams; list of library journals, 1969-1970
Box 11
Music Workshop. Spring, 1971
Scientific and Technological Literature. Fall 1973
Reference Workshop. Fall 1974
Government Documents Workshop. Spring 1974
Cataloging Workshop. Winter 1975
Computer Applications Workshop. Spring 1975
Workshops for Librarians. Summer 1975
Health Information Conference. Fall 1975
Elementary School Librarians. Summer 1976
Personnel Workshop. Fall 1976
Building Collection Materials. Conference. Spring 1977
Workshops. Summer 1977
Media Services Conference. 1977
Cooperation Conference. Spring 1978
Workshops. Summer, 1978
On-Line Literature Searching Workshops. 1978-1980
Alumni Day Workshop. Fall 1978
Box 12
Multi-Cultural, Non-Sexist Materials Conference. Spring 1979
State Documents Workshop. Fall 1979
Books for Young People. Fall 199-1989
Business Sources Conference. Spring 1980
Preservation Conference. Fall 1980
Microcomputer Conference. Spring 1981
Measurement and Evaluation Workshop. Spring 1981
Networking Workshop. Spring 1981
Public Relations Conference. Fall 1981
Microcomputers Workshop. Spring 1982
Microcomputer Conference. Spring 1982
Reviewing & Book Selection Workshop. Summer 1982
Alternative Sources of Funding for Libraries – Conference. Fall 1982
Literature for Adolescents. Fall 1982
Microcomputer Conference III. Spring 1983
Graphic Arts in Books for Children & Adolescents. Summer 1983
Box 13
Storytelling Workshop. Spring 1983
Dewey 19 Workshop. Summer 1982
Online Catalog Conference. Fall 1983
Library Use/User Surveys. Spring 1984
Reference Update Conference. Fall 1984
Methodology and Sample Surveys. 1984
Summer Workshops. 1984
Creative Uses of Children’s Literature. Summer 1984
Summer Workshops. 1985
“The Illustrator as Storyteller. Summer, 1985
Legal Materials Conference. Spring 1985
The Library Bill of Rights. Fall 1985
Box 14
Summer Workshops. 1986
Performance Measures. Spring 1986
Automated Library Systems. Fall 1986
Subject Cataloging: issues. Trends. Spring 1987
Summer Workshops. 1987
History of Books for Young People. Spring 1987
Reader Guidance in Public Libraries. Fall 1987. Spring 1988
Microcomputer-Based Automation of Small Libraries. Spring 1988
Summer Workshops. 1988
Shaking the Money Tree. Fall 1988
Summer Workshops. 1989
Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Foley. Summer 1989
Box 15
Bibliography of the Humanities. Fall 1989
The One-Person Library. 1989
Dewey 20 Conference. Fall 1989
Cd-Rom Workshops. Spring 1990
Books for Young People Festival. 1990-1999
Literature and Storytelling for children. Summer 1990
Summer Workshops. 1990
Marketing Public Library Collections. Fall 1990
Books for Young People Festivals. 1990-1999
Access Services: Circulation and Beyond. Spring 1991
Box 16
Summer Workshops. 1991
Preparing Librarians and Information Professionals. Spring 1992
Summer Workshops. 1992
Designing User Services. Fall 1992
Medical Librarian and Bibliography. Summer 1993
Summer Workshops. 1993
Database Design and Implementation. Spring 1993
Copyright Workshop. Fall 1993
Summer Workshops. 1994
Special Libraries. Fall 1994
Box 17
Technical and Serial Services Management. Spring 1994
Copyright Law in the Age of Technology. Spring 1994
Internet Workshop. Spring 1994
Facing the Challenge. Summer 1994
LANs and CD-ROM. Fall 1994
Description and Organization of Materials. Fall 1994
Description and Organization of Materials. Spring 1995
Workshop brochures. 1995
Advanced Management Topics. Summer 1995
Description and Organization of Materials. Fall 1995
Library Materials for Adults. Fall 1995
Box 18
Storytelling: Planting the Seed. Spring 1995
Marketing the Inner-City Library. Spring 1995
The Balancing Act: Books, Children & Choices. Spring 1995
Doing More with Less. Summer 1995
Shaping Your Library’s Future. 1995
Video Conference. Fall 1995
The Joy of Serials. Fall 1995
Workshop Brochures. 1996
Course Data Sheets. 1996
Library Materials for Children. 1996
Box 19
Systems Analysis & Database Design. Fall 1996
History of the Book. Fall 1996
Special Libraries and Information Services. Fall 1996
Information Science and Technology. Spring 1996
The College and University Library. Spring 1996
Health Information. Summer 1996
World Wide Web Workshops. Spring 1996
Summer Workshops. 1996
Dewey at 21. Fall 1996
Organization of Information Resources II. Summer 1997
Advanced Reference. Summer 1997
Electronic Resources for Libraries 1. Summer 1997
Electronic Resources for Libraries 2. Summer 1997
Electronic Resources for Libraries 3. Summer 1997
Electronic Resources for Libraries 4. Summer 1997
Research Methods. Summer 1997
Summer Workshops. 1997
Video Teleconference. 1997
Box 20
Grant Writing Workshop. Fall 1997
Information Handling. Fall 1997
Marketing of Libraries & Information Centers. Fall 1997
Electronic Resources for Libraries. Sumer 1997
Information Science and Technology. Fall 1997
Text Retrieval. Fall 1997
School Library Media Center Administration. Fall 1997
Reference. Fall 1997
Foundation and Collection Development. Spring 1997
Multimedia and Interactiive Technolongy. Spring 1997
Management of a Library. Fall 1997
Box 21
Library Automation. Spring 1998
Management of Library and Information Systems. Spring 1998
Practicum in Libraries and Information Centers. Spring 1998
Management of Libraries. Spring 1998
The Public Library. Spring 1998
Bibliography. S[ring 1998
Library Materials for Adolescents. Spring 1998
Research Methods. Summer 1998
Advanced Reference. Summer 1998
Issues of Budget and Finance. Summer 1998
Online Information Systems. Summer 1998
Web Search Engines. Summer 1998
Programs for Youth Services. Summer 1998
Organization of Information Resources. Summer 1998
Readers’ Advisory. Fall 1998
Fundamentals of Acquisitions – Teleconference. Spring 1998
Government Information Resources. Spring 1998
School Library. Media Center. Practicum. Spring 1998
Law Librarianship. Summer 1998
Box 22
Design of Automated Systems. Fall 1998
Foundations of Library and Information Science. Fall 1998
Practicum in Library’s and Information Centers. Fall 1998
Special Libraries. Fall 1998
Information Literacy. Fall 1998
Collection Development. Fall 1998
Strategic Management. Fall 1998
Personnel Management. Fall 1998
School Libraries Media Administration. Fall 1998
Organization of Information Resources. Fall 1998
Bibliography. Fall 1998
Resources for Children. Fall 1998
Budget and Finance Issues. Spring 1999
Capstone. Fall 1999
Facilities. Summer 1999
School Library Media Practicum. Spring 1999
Information Policy. Spring 1999
Health Information Resources. Fall 1999
Practicum in Libraries and Information Centers. Spring 1999
College and University Libraries. Spring 1999
College and University Libraries. Fall 1999
Advanced Reference. Spring 1999
Strategic Management. Fall 1999
Information Literacy. Summer 1999
Online Information Systems. Fall 1999
Collection Development. Fall 1999
Electronic Publishing. Spring. 1999
Competitive Intelligence. Spring. 1999
Database Systems. Spring 1999
User Education: Multimedia. Spring 1999
Research methods. Spring 1999
Reference and Information Services. Spring 1999
Organization of Information Resources II. Spring 1999
Foundations of Library and Information Science. Spring 1999
Reference and Information Services. Summer 1999
Storytelling Workshop. Summer 1999
Organization of Information Resources. Summer 1999
Research Methods. Summer 1999
User Education: Multimedia. Summer 1999
Resources for Adults. Fall 1999
Foundations of Library and Information Science. Fall 1999
Special Libraries. Fall 1999
Box 23
Collection Development. Fall 1999
Program Evaluation. Fall 1999
Budget and Finance Issues. Spring 2000
Public Libraries. Spring 2000
Information Policy. Spring 2000
Books for Young People Festival. Summer 2000
Research Methods. Spring 2000
Resources for Young Adults. Spring 2000
Digital Libraries. Spring 2000
Design of Automated Systems. Spring 2000
Practicum in Libraries and Information Science. Spring 1000
Summer Workshops. 2000
Box 24
Foundation of Library Information Science. Summer 2000
School Library Media Administration. Fall 2000
Strategic Management. Fall 2000
Program Evaluation. Fall 2000
College and University Libraries. Fall 2000
Practicum in Libraries and Information Science. Fall 2000
Text Retrieval. Fall 2000
Online Information Systems. Fall 2000
Reference and Information Services. Fall 2000
Resources for Children. Fall 2000
Web Search Engines. Fall 2000
Organization of Information Resources I. Fall 2000
Design of Automated Systems. Fall 1000
Foundations of Library and Information Science. Fall 2000
Hypertext Systems. Fall 2000Collection Development. Fall 2000
Collection Development. Fall 2000
Summer Workshops. 2001
Alternative Resources for Adults. Fall 2001
School Library Media Administration. Fall 2001
Program Evaluation. Summer 2001
Nonprofit Management and Community Relations. Fall 2001
Public Libraries. Spring 2001
Special Libraries. Spring 2001
Information Policy. Spring 2001
Practicum in LIS. Spring 2001
Practicum in LIS. Fall 2001
Government Information Resources. Spring 2001
Digital Libraries. Spring 2001
Electronic Publishing. Summer 2001
Information Literacy. Summer 2001
Research Methods. Spring 2001
Library Materials for Adolescents. Spring 2001
Youth Programming. Summer 2001
Online Resources in Science. Summer 2001
Collection Development. Summer 2001
Multimedia. Summer 2001
Organization of Information Resources I. Summer 2001
Reference and Information Services. Summer 2001
Web Search Engines. Summer 2001
Foundation of LIS. Summer 2001
Digital Libraries. Fall 2001
Collection Management. Dall 2001
Hypertext Systems. Fall 2001
Resources for Children. Fall 2001
Design and Automated Systems. Fall 2001
Research Methods. Fall 2001
Database Management Systems. Spring 2001
User Education: Multimedia. Spring 2001
Box 25
Resources for Young Adults. Apring 2002
Online Information Systems. Spring 2001
Government Information Resources. Spring. 2002
History of Readers and Reading. Spring 2002
Electronic Publishing. Spring 2002
Organization of Information Resources I. Spring 2002
Design of Automated Systems. Spring 2002
Web Search Engines. Summer 2002
Foundation of LIS. Summer 2002
Research Methods. Summer 2002
Reference. Summer 2002
Online Information Systems. Fall 2002
Information Literacy. Fall 2002
Collection Management. Fall 2002
Resources for Children. Fall 2002
Research Methods. Fall 2002
User Education: Multimedia. Summer 200
Organizations of Information Resources II. Summer 2002
Strategic Management. Summer 200School Library Media Administration. Fall 2002
Program Evaluation. Summer 2002
Nonprofit Organizational Effectiveness. Spring 2001
Public Libraries. Spring 2002
Information Policy. Spring 2002
Introduction to Archives. Summer 2002
Practicum in Libraries and Information Centers. Spring 2002
School Library Media Center Practicum. Spring 2002
Resources for Young Adults. Spring 2003
Program Evaluation. Summer 2003
Policy/Planning. Summer 2003
Strategic Management. Summer 2003
Government Information Resources. Summer 2003
Online Information Systems. Summer 2003
College and University Libraries. Fall 2003
Research Methods. Fall 2003
Design of Automated Systems. Fall 2003
Cultural Foundations. Fall 2003
Resources for Young Adults. Spring 2004
Text Retrieval. Spring 2004
Use and Users. Spring 2004
Collection Management. Summer 2004
Strategic Management. Fall 2004
Program Evaluation. Fall 2004
College and Universities Libraries. Fall 2004
Public Libraries. Fall 2004
Electronic Publishing. Fall 2004
History of Readers and Reading. Fall 2004
Analysis of Scholarly Domains. Fall 2004
Organization of Information I. Fall 2004
Web Seasrch Engines. Fall 2004
Cultural Foundations. Fall 2004
Design of Automated Systems. Fall 2004
Workshop brochures. 2007
Information Policy. Spring 2008
Box 26
Alumni Correspondence and Student Data
Stutts, Corinne. 1984-1996
Survey of Graduates. 1982 (folder 1)
Survey of Graduates. 1982 (folder 2)
Survey of Graduates. 1982 (folder 3)
Survey Masters. 1984
Placement Reports, 1971-2002
Student Profile, 1968-2001
Box 27
Comprehensive Exams
Questions used in exams, 1981-1996
Exams, Summer 1972 (3 folders)
----. Fall 1972
Box 28
----. Fall 1976
----. Spring 1980 (2 folders)
----. Summer 1980
Box 29
----. Summer 1980
----. Fall 1980
----. Spring 1984
----. Summer 1984
----. Fall 1984
Box 30
----. Spring 1988
----. Summer 1988
----. Fall 1988
----. Spring 1992
----. 1998-2002
Box 31
----. Spring 2000
----. Summer 2000
Box 32
Curriculum Committee
Minutes of Meetings. 1972-1982
Minutes. 1982-1983
Articles. 1982-1985
Meetings. 1983-1984
General. 1982-1984
Review. 1984
Official Record. 1983-1984
Official Record. 1984-1985
Meetings. 1988-1989
Box 33
Minutes and Certification. 1985-1987
Educational Policy Statements. 1988-1994
Course Offerings. 1989-1990
Meetings. 1990-1991
Meetings and Business. 1990-1991
Plan for Progress. 1990
Project. 1990
Occupational Opportunities. 1990
Museology. 1990
Survey Report. 1990
Market for Information Science Graduates. 1990-1991
Enhancements to the Program. 1991
Box 34
Meetings. 1991
Information Science Proposal. 1991
Meetings. 1992-1993
Planning for Uncertainty. 1992
Meetings. 1992
Retreat. 1992
Meetings. 1992
Retreat. 1993
Kellogg Foundation HRISM Grants. 1994
Box 35
Meetings. 1994
Meetings and Business. 1995
Meetings. 1995-1996
Strategic Plan for Graduate College. 1995
Masters for Handouts. 1997
Retreat 1. 1997
Retreat 2. 1997
Retreat 3. 1997
Retreat 4. 1997
Retreat 5. 1997