Finding Aid
|
Papers of Dean Wiley B. Rutledge, College of Law Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries in the 1970s. Processed by: Robert Franciosi July 1979, and Earl M. Rogers August 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008. Photographs: None |
|
Scope and Contents
This collection is primarily the correspondence of Rutledge and a few reports regarding the routine business of participation in the Iowa Law Review, the American Bar Association, bar admissions, the Iowa Law School Association, the Association of American Law Schools, and the American Law Institute. The material is dated 1923 to 1944, encompassing a broader range than Rutledge's deanship at Iowa.
Biographical Note
Wiley Blount Rutledge was born July 20, 1894 in Cloverport, Kentucky. He married Annabel Person in 1917, the same year he was admitted to the Colorado bar. The family grew to include three children, Mary Lou, Jean Ann, and Neal.
Wiley B. Rutledge served as dean of the College of Law at Iowa from 1935 until 1939. He was also a professor of law at the University of Colorado, and professor and dean at Washington University, St. Louis. From Iowa, Rutledge was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, and later to the U.S. Supreme Court. Justice Rutledge died September 10, 1949, at age 55.
The many writings on Rutledge’s career include a sketch in the Dictionary of American Biography, supplement 4, and articles by Irving Brant and W. Willard Wirtz in the Iowa Law Review, Summer 1950. Both articles also appear in the Indiana Law Review, Summer 1950.
Related Materials
The law dean records arranged under Rutledge’s name overlap other deanships, especially that of Mason Ladd, 1939-1966.
Ferren, John M. Salt of the Earth, Conscience of the Court: The Story of Justice Wiley Rutledge. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2004. 577 pp., illus., bibliog.
Folder, "Rutledge, Wiley B.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)
Papers of Wiley Blount Rutledge, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
Box Contents List
Box/Folder
Iowa Law Review
1 / 1 1930 -- 1937
2 1937/ 1938
3 1938/ 1939
4 1939/ 1940
5 1940/ 1941
6 1941/ 1942
7 1942/ 1943
8 1943/ 1944
American Bar Association
2 / 1 1933 -- 1936
2 1937/ 1938
3 1938/ 1939
4 1939/ 1940
5 1940/ 1941
6 1941/ 1942
7 1942/ 1943
8 1943/ 1944
9 Bar admissions, 1938/ 1939
Iowa Law School Association
10 1923 -- 1937
11 1937/ 1938
12 1938/ 1939
13 1939/ 1940
14 1940/ 1941
15 1942/ 1943
Association of American Law Schools
3 / 1 1933 -- 1937
2 1937/ 1938
3 1938/ 1939
4 1939/ 1940
5 1940/ 1941
6 1941/ 1942
7 1942/ 1943
3 / 8 1943/ 1944
4 / 1 Annual report, 1940/ 1941
American Law Institute
2 1935 -- 1937
3 1937/ 1938
4 1938/ 1939
5 1939/ 1940
6 1940/ 1941
7 1941/ 1942
8 1942/ 1943
9 1943/ 1944
