The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Records of the Institute of Public Affairs Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Institute of Public Affairs at various times, including Accession 2005-50. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007; revised June 2007. Photographs: None |
|
Scope and Content
The collection consists of 19 series, reflecting the Institute's functions and activity. Folder or publication titles are listed in chronological order under each series heading.
Series I: About the Institute
Series II: Local Government Series and Salary Surveys
Series III: Public Policy Reports
Series IV: Conference Proceedings
Series V: Taxation and Finance
Series VI: Governor's Studies
Series VII: Studies of Legislatures
Series VIII: Voting and Elections
Series IX: Administrative Studies
Series X: Community Improvement and Economic Development
Series XI: Manuals
Series XII: Compilation of Information on Laws in Iowa
Series XIII: Police
Series XIV: Training
Series XV: Miscellaneous Publications
Series XVI: Title VIII Housing Act of 1964
Series XVII: Contemporary Public Affairs
Series XVIII: Newsletters and Annual Reports
Series XIX: Letters for Leaders
Organizational History
The Institute of Public Affairs was founded in 1949 as a part of the Division of Extension, State University of Iowa. It was established in order to provide consultation, research and training services to public officials and concerned citizens "toward the goal of maintaining quality state and local government in Iowa," according to a 1970 publication. The bulk of the titles listed below are those of publications released by the Institute, including their year of issuance.
[D. McCartney, 6/2007]
Box Contents List
Box 1
Iowa 2000: The Time of Our Lives
Iowa 2000 Final Report
A Perspective of Iowa 2000: The Time of Our Lives
Iowa's Resource: The University of Iowa
Institute of Public Affairs pamphlet (2)
40 Years of Outreach
Institute of Public Affairs pamphlet
Services to Iowa Governments
Horizons in Personnel Development, 1975
----, 1976
Assistance to Iowa Governments from Your University in Iowa City through The Institute of Public Affairs
Institute of Public Affairs pamphlet
Iowa Local Government In-Service Training Program (3)
Municipal Public Relations: A Correspondence Study Course, 1968
Iowa Model Ordinances, 1973
Institute of Public Affairs pamphlet, 1985
A Decade of Service to Iowa Government 1949-1959, 1959
The Convener- 11 issues, 1967-1969
The Institute of Public Affairs: serving you and your community, 1970
----, 1972
Horizons in Personnel Development- 3 issues, 1973-1974
Governor's Conference on Iowa in the Year 2000, 1974
Iowa 2000: The Time of Our Lives, 1977
30 Years of Service to Iowa Government, 1979
Training and Consultation Services, 1979
Training and Consultation Services to Iowa Governments, 1980
Quality Circles: A Productivity Enhancement Program, 1981
Helping People Make Cities Work: A Summary of 1984-1984 Institute of Public Affairs' Services to Local Government, 1985
Series II: Local Government Series and Salary Surveys
Refuse Collection and Disposal for Iowa Communities, 1951
Iowa Municipal Salaries, 1951
----, 1953
County Salaries in Iowa, 1954
----, 1956
Iowa Municipal Salaries, 1955
----, 1957
----, 1959
County Salaries in Iowa, 1960
Iowa Municipal Salaries, 1960
----: Cities Over 6000, 1961
----: Cities Under 6000, 1961
Home Rule for Iowa, 1962
Iowa Municipal Salaries: Cities Over 6000 Population, 1962
----: Cities Under 6000 Population, 1962
County Salaries in Iowa, 1963
Iowa Municipal Salaries: Cities Over 6000 Population, 1965
----: Cities Under 6000 Population, 1965
County Salaries in Iowa, 1966
Iowa Municipal Salaries: Cities Under 2500 Population, 1968
----: Cities Between 2500-4000 Population, 1968
Box 2
Iowa Municipal Salaries: Citites Between 4000-6000 Population, 1968
----: Cities Between 6000-10000 Population, 1968
----: Cities Over 10000 Population, 1968
County Salaries in Iowa, 1969
Local Government in Iowa: Problems and Perspectives- Working Paper No. 1, 1970
----: Problems and Perspectives- Working Paper No. 2, 1970
----: Problems and Perspectives- Working Paper No. 3, 1971
Iowa Municipal Salaries: Cities Under 3500 Population, 1973
----: Cities Between 3500-7500 Population, 1973
----: Cities Over 7500 Population, 1973
Working Papers on the Iowa State Civil Service Law 1973 & Recommendations for the Iowa State Civil Service Law 1976, 1973
Home Rule for Iowa Counties, 1974
County Home Rule, 1978
State Mandates on Local Government in Iowa, 1983
State Government in Iowa, 1985
----, 1990
Series III: Public Policy Reports
Regionalism
Iowa in the World
Box 3
The 1950 Census...Its Effects on Government in Iowa, 1950
Mental Health Facilities in Iowa, 1952
A Report Concerning State Laws Regarding Organizations That Solicit Funds from the Public for Charitable or Benevolent Purposes, 1954
State Control and Administration of Atomic Radiation, 1957
Initial Report on Water Pollution in Nine States, 1963
Iowa's Investment in Child Welfare Services, 1968
Genocide, 1971
Iowa Court Reform, 1972
Women and Public Policy: A Humanistic Perspective, 1974
The 1974 EEOC Guidelines on Testing: A Brief Explanation and Commentary, 1974
For the Record, 1975
Planning Iowa's Future, 1977
Annual Report and New Directions, 1981
Annual Report to Iowa Governments, 1982
----, 1983
Annual Report, 1984
----, 1985
----, 1986
----, 1987
----, 1988
A Decade of Adjustment, 1988
Annual Report, 1989
Series IV: Conference Proceedings
Juvenile Delinquency: Iowa's Problems and Resources, 1956
Proceedings of the 1964 Urban Policy Conference, 1965
Urban Development: Proceedings of the Second Annual Urban Policy Conference, 1966
Proceedings of the Iowa Conference on Mobility in the Public Service, 1966
Community Leadership and Decision-Making: Third Urban Policy Conference, 1966
----: Proceedings of the Third Annual Urban Policy Conference, 1966
Improving Human Relations in Iowa: What Next? Official Conference Report sponsored by the Iowa Civil Rights Commission, September 27, 1967
Cities of the Future: Proceedings of the Fourth Annual Urban Policy Conference, 1967
Report on the Iowa Commonwealth Conference on Human Rights, 1968
Box 4
The Politics of Redesigning Community Governmental Structures, 1968
The Changing Concepts of Community, 1968
The Emerging Patterns of service for Communities, 1968
Strengthening Government Organizations in Changing Communities: Proceedings of the Fifth Annual Urban Policy Conference, 1969
Plans, Programs, & People: Proceedings of the Sixth Annual Conference of the Iowa Housing and Redevelopment Association, 1970
Conference on the Future of the State of Iowa Resource Paper No. 1: Land Use Policy, 1973
We the People: A Report of the 1975 Iowa Commonwealth Conference, 1975
Performance Appraisal Conference, 1979
Iowa Government Series- Issues 1-38, 1980-1987
Series V: Taxation and Finance
Memorandum Regarding the Need for and the Results of the Special Tax Program Adopted in Iowa in 1934, n.d.
A Manual of Accounting and Financial Procedures in Iowa Towns and Cities, 1954
State Sales Taxes on Services, 1954
Financing Iowa's Highways, 1954
Presentation to the Iowa Taxation Study Committee by the State Board of Regents, Sept. 28, 1955
General, Special and Highway Revenue, summary tables 1940-1955
A Half-Century of Local Governmental Finances: The Case of Iowa - 1910-1960, 1963
Technical Appendix to Iowa Local Governmental Finance Studies, 1963
Box 5
A Half-Century of Local Finances: The Case of Iowa, 1964
Trends and Variations in Local Finances: The Case of Iowa Counties, 1965
Financing Services on an Area Basis: Some Background Ideas, 1971
Revenue Sharing, 1971
City Debt in Iowa, 1978
A Survey of Municipal Fees and Charges in Iowa, 1980
A Study of Federal Revenue Sharing in Iowa, 1980
Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, 1983
Iowa State Government Revenues and Expenditures 1950-1983, 1984
Iowa Local Government Finance Reports: City Tax Levies in Iowa, 1984
----: Local Government Debt in Iowa, 1984
----: City Finances in Iowa, 1986
----: City Property Tax Summary, 1986
States' Tax Capacities and Tax Efforts
1985 Update: Iowa Property Taxes, 1985
Standardized Measures of Municipal Property Tax Dependency in Iowa Fiscal Years 1985 & 1986, 1986
Iowa School Finance Issues: Property & Income, Capacity & Effort, 1987
What Does "State Debt" Mean in Iowa?, 1987
The Short Ballot in Iowa, 1987
Iowa School Finance Reform: Issues and Options, 1987
Iowa Local Government Property Tax and Local Option Sales Tax Capacity and Effort: County Based Indicators of Local Government Fiscal Potential, 1987
Initiative and Referendum in State Governments -- A Possibility for Iowa?, 1987
Iowa Local Government Finance Reports: School District Property and Income, Capacity and Effort, 1987
Iowa Local Government Finance Reports: 1987 City Property Tax Summary, 1987
Tax Increment Financing: A Proactive Economic Development Tool, 1989
1989 City Property Tax Summary, 1989
Report to Governor Thomas E. Dewey on Permanent Personal Registration of Electors, 1952
The Governor's Commission on Economic and Social Trends in Iowa, 1958
Statutory Provisions Relating to the Aged, 1958
Gubernatorial Staffs: Function and Political Profiles, 1969
Box 6
Series VII: Studies of Legislatures
Appointment of State Legislative Committees
The Iowa Lawmaker
Partisan Politics on Campus, 1950
A Report on Presidential Primary Laws, 1952
The Use of Sifting Committees in the 48 State Legislatures, 1952
Iowa Law Review: Iowa Senatorial Districts can be Reapportioned - A Possible Plan, 1954
Stenographic Assistance for State Legislators, 1955
An Analysis of Constitutional Provisions Relating to "Single Work or Object" Sections with Special Reference to the Constitution of Iowa, Nov. 14, 1958
State Constitutional Conventions: The Legislature's Role Preparing for a Convention, 1960
Facts and Opinions About the Shaff Plan, 1963
The 1964 Iowa Constitutional Question, 1964
Proceedings of the Commonwealth Conference on Legislative Research, 1964
A Look at Nine Pending Constitutional Changes, 1966
State Legislatures in American Politics, 1966
Five Constitutional Amendments Proposed to the Voters, 1968
Final Report, 1968
Three Constitutional Amendments Submitted to the Voters, 1972
1980 Iowa Constitutional Issues, 1980
Box 7
Series VIII: Voting and Elections
A report of The Iowa Conference on Preparing College Men and Women for Politics, 1953
Voting in Iowa, 1955
----, 1956
A Citizen's Guide to Iowa Municipal Elections, 1956
A Citizen's Guide to Iowa Municipal Government and Elections, 1959
A Preliminary Report of an Analysis of the Effects of the Use of Voting Machines in Voting on Special Questions in Iowa- 1920 to 1956, 1960
Teacher's Guide for use with Voting in Iowa, 1962
Effects of the Use of Voting Machines on Total Votes Cast: Iowa - 1920-1960, 1964
Voting in Iowa, 1968
Lost Votes: Effects of Methods of Voting on Voter Participation Iowa 1920-1984, 1986
Series IX: Administrative Studies
Dubuque Traffic Survey, 1950
A Survey of Municipal Organization and Administration - Davenport, Iowa, 1961
Iowa Falls, Iowa Survey of Municipal Government and Administration: Trade Area Survey, 1962
Study of Mobility of University of Iowa, Iowa State University, and State College of Iowa Graduates, 1964
A Survey of Municipal Organization and Administration - Des Moines, Iowa, 1965
Box 8
Grinnell Municipal Government: Part I - An Administrative Survey, 1965
----: Part II - A Position Classification Plan, 1965
----: Part III - A Salary Plan, 1965
Operation Profile - Waverly, Iowa, 1967
----. Adel, Iowa, 1967
Training Needs Survey, 1968
Public Employment Recruitment and Selection Practices in Iowa State and Municipal Governments: A Two-Year Effort at Researching, Recommending, and Modernizing, 1973
Municipal Employee Survey: Discrimination Against Minority Group Members by Municipal Governments, Employee Attitudes on Working for the Cities of Burlington, Des Moines, Sioux City, Muscatine, Iowa City, Mason City, 1973
A Survey of Energy Conservation Practices in Iowa Local Governments, June 1975
Series X: Community Improvement and Economic Development
Traditional Methods of Regional Cooperation and Local and Area-Wide Governmental Reorganization
A Handbook for Improving Iowa's Communities, 1957
Iowa Citizenship Clearing House, 1958
A Guide to Annexation and Subdivision Control, 1959
Iowa Municipal Information Service - 5 Issues, 1959-1964
Iowa City in the Future: A Proposal for the Renewal of the Central Business District of Iowa City and Adjacent Areas, 1960
Community Theatre Handbook, 1961
Institute on Community Planning and Development, 1964
New Dimensions in Community Development, 1966
Multi County Development, 1966
Box 9
Human and Community Resource Directory - 3 Issues, 1966-1968
Community Development in Transition, 1967
The Community School Concept, 1968
Hospital-Based Ambulance Service, 1968
A Study of Iowa Ambulance Service, 1968
Education for Community Development: A Two Year Program, 1972
Potential for Metropolitan Reform, 1975
Approaches for Governmental Cooperation and Reorganization in Metropolitan Areas, 1975
Implementing Metropolitan Reform, 1976
Guides for Clerks
Resources for Iowa Local Officials
A Handbook for Iowa Mayors, 1942
A Handbook for Iowa Councilmen, 1950
A Handbook for Iowa Mayors, 1951
A Reference Manual for Iowa City and Town Clerks, 1952
Iowa Model Ordinances, 1955
----, 1956
----, 1957
----, 1958
----, 1959
Municipal Licensing and Regulation of Electrical Installations, 1959
Your Job as Councilman, 1961 Notes to
The Ordinance: Drafting, Adoption, Publication, 1962
Regulation of the Sale of Liquor, 1962
Box 10
Iowa Model Ordinances, 1953; rev. 1964
A Profile of the Iowa Legislative Process, 1967
Iowa Model Ordinances, 1969
A Handbook for Iowa Mayors, 1971 Changes to
Your Job as Councilman, 1971 Changes to
Box 11
Guides for Iowa City Clerks, 1973
Iowa Model Ordinances, 1973
Labor Relations Student Manual, 1973
A Handbook for Iowa Council Members supplement, 1974
Planning for Disaster, 1975
Disaster Services Management: Local Government's Role, 1975
A Handbook on Intergovernmental Cooperative Agreements in Iowa, 1978
A Manual for Clerks of the Iowa District Courts, 1979
Guides for Iowa City Clerks, 1980
Economic Development Handbook, 1981
A Manual for County and City Assessors of Iowa, 1981
Box 12
A Penny Saved Is a Penny Earned: An Investment Manual for Iowa County Treasurers, 1981
A Tax Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1982
A Handbook for Iowa Council Members, 1982
A Tax Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1983
October 1983 Revisions for A Tax Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1983
A Manual for County Supervisors of Iowa, 1983
Changes in the Handbook for Iowa Council Members, 1983
A Handbook for Iowa Mayors 1983-1984, 1984
An Election Manual for County Auditors of Iowa, 1984
A Handbook for Iowa Mayors, 1985
Handbook for Iowa Council Members, 1986 (2)
An Investment Guide for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1986
Box 13
A Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1986
A Manual for County Recorders of Iowa, 1986
A Manual for County Supervisors of Iowa, 1986
Handbook for Iowa Mayors, 1987
Handbook for Iowa Council Members, 1987
A Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1988
A Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa: Directions for New Page Insertion, 1989
Policy Leader Handbook: Guide for Iowa Mayors and Council Members, 1989
An Investment Guide for County Treasurers of Iowa, 1990
A Manual for County Recorders of Iowa, 1991
Box 14
A Manual for County Treasurers of Iowa: Directions for New Page Insertion, 1991
Municipal Policy Leaders' Handbook, 1994
Series XII: Compilation of Information on Laws in Iowa
Legal Aspects of Doing Business in Iowa
New Iowa Laws Affecting Local Government, 1951
New Iowa Laws, 1953
New Iowa Laws Affecting Local Government, 1955
----, 1957
----, 1959
----, 1961
Iowa Fire Laws, 1962
Iowa Laws Affecting Local Government, 1963
----, 1965
Explanation of New Iowa Laws Affecting County Officers, 1967
A Subject Matter Arrangement of the Constitution of Iowa, 1970
Working Papers on the Iowa City Civil Service Law, 1973 / Recommendations for the Iowa City Civil Service Law, 1976
State Government in Iowa, 1974
----, 1977
A Guide to Iowa Laws Concerning Children and Youth, 1979
State Government in Iowa, 1982
----, 1985
Box 15
Armed Robbery, 1949
The Police and the Public, 1950
Protection Against Burglary, 1953
Recommended Forms for Indictments and True Informations, 1961
Selection of Police Officers, 1969
Cutting the Loss to Shoplifting, 1973
Cutting the Loss to Bad Checks, 1973
Management Training in the State Administration of Iowa
An Evaluation of Work for Iowa Municipal Governments: City Employees Look at Their Employers
Discrimination Against Minority Group Members By Municipal Governments: The Views of Municipal Government Employees
Handbook for Preparing Job Classifications
Summary Report: Local Government Training Programs, Problems, and Needs in Iowa, 1968
Local Government Training Programs, Problems, and Needs in Iowa, 1968
Education Plan for Iowa Local Government In-Service Training Program, 1970
A Program of Personnel Development and Training for the Iowa Department of Revenue, 1971
Employee Training and Development for Iowa State Government, 1972
Performance Evaluation: Participant's Training Manual, 1977
Municipal Policy Leaders' Handbook, 2000
----, 2004----, 2008
Box 16
Series XV: Miscellaneous Publications
Extension and Service Activities, 1960
Laboratory for Political Research, 1966
Adult Involvement with Youth Problems in Selected Iowa Communities, 1970
Pocket Guide to Iowa Government, 1977
Iowa 2000 State Commonwealth Conference, 1977
City Government, 1978
We Are Iowans First, 1984
Iowa Governmental Series - 10 Issues, 1985-1987
Iowa City Management Association, 1989
----, 1990
----, 1991
Box 17
Series XVI: Title VIII Housing Act of 1964
Reports, 1968-72
Box 18
----, 1972-73
Box 19
Series XVII: Contemporary Public Affairs
Iowa's Transportation System: The Role of State Government, 1973
Campaign Finance Reform: Public Financing of Elections, 1974
No-fault Automobile Insurance, 1974
Victimless Crimes, 1974
Probate Reform, 1974
Cable Television, 1974
Iowa Court Reform, 1972
National Health Care, 1972
A National Presidential Primary Election, 1973
Discussion Program: China, the U.S., and the U.N.
----: Genocide
----: Revenue Sharing
----: Wage Price Controls
Iowa Administrative Reorganization
Box 20
Series XVIII: Newsletters and Annual Reports
Annual Reports, 1966, 1980-85, 2007-
Resource Guides, 1959-68
Horizons in Personnel Development, 1971-76
The Convener, 1967-69
One Minute Message, 1983-85
Publications order information
Series XIX: Letters for Leaders (one folder)