The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Records of the Office of Student Life Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: The records of the Office of Student Life were transferred to the University of Iowa Archives as Accession 2006-32. Photographs: None |
|
Scope and Contents
The Records of the Office of Student Life consist of four series: Student Organizations (arranged by name of the organization), Homecoming, Office of Campus Programs and Activities, and Newspaper Articles (all arranged chronologically).
Historical Note
The Office of Student Life provides diverse social, cultural, recreational and educational programs and
activities for the University of Iowa community. Supporting more than 400 recognized student organizations,
the OSL sponsors major annual events, diversity initiatives, leadership opportunities, and arts and entertainment
programs. As of 2007, OSL was part of the administration of the Iowa Memorial Union, which in turn reports to the
Dean of Students.
Although student clubs and organizations have thrived at the University of Iowa since classes began in 1855,
there was no central office to coordinate these activities until about 1977 with the establishment of the Office
of Student Activities. By 1984, OSA was re-named the Office of Campus Programs and Student Activities (OCPSA), and, in
1998, the Office of Student Life.
Related Materials
Student Life Collections (RG 02)
Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG 01.15.04)
Records of the Office of Student Services (RG 24.03)
Records of the Iowa Memorial Union (RG 24.04)
Records of the Committee on Student Life (RG 05.03.19)
Box Contents List
Box 1
100 Words, 1994-1998
21st Century Forum, 1998
319 Positive Youth Coalition, 1997-1998
A. Craig Baird Debate Forum, 1981-2000
Academy of Students of Pharmacy, 1990
Actuarial Science Club, 1990
Advertising Club, University of Iowa, 1990
African Association, 1990
Africana Graduate Association, 1996-1997
Afro-American Graduate Student Association, 1990
Alliance for Indigenous Rights, 1998-1999
ALPHA, 1998-1999
Alpha Eta Mu Beta, 1990
Alpha Kappa Psi, 1990
Alpha Phi Omega-Omicron Chapter, 1990
Alpha Sigma Chi, 1997-1998
American College of Healthcare Executives, 1990
American Bar Association - Law Student Division, 1990
American Guild of Organists, 1990
American Indian Law Students Association, 1991
American Indian Student Association, 1990
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, 2000
American Medical Student Association, 1990-1998
American Society for Information Science, 1995-1998
American Student Investment Club, 1990
American Studies Graduate Student Association, 1991-1999
Applied Planning Workshop, 1992-1994
Animal Coalition, University of Iowa, 1992-1999
Anthropology Student Organization, 1996-2000
Arabian Knights, 1998-2000
Arab Law Student Assocation, 1998-1999
Arab Student Association, 1990-1999
Art History Society, 1991
Box 2
Art of Living Club, 1995-1998
Asian American Law Students Association, 1990-1991
Asian American Women's Group, 1997-1998
Asian Film Society, 1990
Asociacion De Estudiantes Latino Americanos (ADELA), 1990
Association of Graduate Nursing Students, 1981-2000
Association of Graduate Students in English, 1990-1991
Associated Honors Housing, 1983-1999
Association of Nursing Students, 1990
Association of Pre-Physician Assistant Students, 1990
Associated Students of Business, 1990
Associated Students of Engineering, 1990
Atheist Monastery, 1999
The Babylon 5 Interstellar Alliance, 1998-2000
BACCHUS, 1983-1997
Beta Alpha Psi, Alpha Pi Chapter, 1984-1997
Bijou/UPS Films, 1990
Biochemistry Undergraduate Majors Society, 1985-1998
Biostatistics Student Association, 1990
Black Entreprenurial Society, 1998-1999
Black Law Students Association, 1991
Black Student Union, 1990
Book Arts Club, 1990-1998
Box 3
Botanical Society, University of Iowa, 1990
Business Page, 1990
Business Student Ambassadors Organization, 1995-1999
Business Students Care, 1999
Business Student Senate, 1990
Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu & Mixed Martial Arts Society, 2001
CADUCEUS, 1990-1991
Campaign to End the Death Penalty, University of Iowa, 1997-1998
Campaign to Organize Graduate Students, 1995
Campus Photo, University of Iowa, 1999-2000
Career Services Ambassadors, 1993-2000
Celtic Society, University of Iowa, 2000
Central American Solidarity Committee, 1994-1999
Chicano Hispanic Association for Legal Education, 1990-1991
Chicano/Latino Association for Student Education, 1990
Chicanos Y Amigos Student Association, 1990
Chinese Student Association, 1990
Christian Fellowship, University of Iowa, 1981-1998
Cigar Society, University of Iowa, 1996
Cinema and Disability Group, 1998-2000
Circle K International, 1990
Club Apple, 1997
Coalition of African Heritage, 1990
College Greens, 2000-2001
Collegiate Alternative Dispute Resolution Organization, 2000-2001
Colonia, 1999-2001
Computer Science Graduate Student Association, 1990
Council for Exceptional Children, University of Iowa Student Chapter, 1997-1998
Crisis Center, 1990
Culture Club, 2001
Crosspoint (Parkview Church College Ministry), 1989-1998
Cultural Survival, 1994-1999
Cycling Club, 1998-2001
Delta Gamma Fraternity, 1997
Delta Sigma Pi, 1990
Disability Action, Resource Center, 1996-1997
Doctors Ought to Care (D.O.C), 1991
Economics Forum, 1990
Environmental Coalition, University of Iowa, 1990
Box 4
Environmental Law Society, 1990-2000
Environmental Science Society, 1998-1999
Episcopal Campus Ministry, 1999
Equal Justice Foundation, 1990-1991
Eta Kappa Nu, 1986-2000
Exchanges, 1996-1998
Family Practice Club, 1990-1998
Financial Management Association, 1988-2000
The Fine Arts Council, 1991
Fitness and Self Defense Club, 1998-2000
Foreign Language House, 1990-2000
Forum for Cultural Research, 1991
Freshmen Council, 1996-1997
Friendship Association of Chinese Students and Scholars, 1990
Gay People's Union, 1990
General Union of Palestine Students, 1990
Gerontology Student Organization, 1981-1999
Global Outreach United, 1993-1996
Graduate Design Association, 1998
Graduate History Assocation, 1990
Graduate Student Development Association, 1991
Graduate Students in Management & Organizations, 1990
Graduate Student Nurses Association, 1990
Graduate Students in Science Education, 1998-2000
Graduate Student Senate, 1990
GSSE, 1990
Graduate Students Social Workers Association, 1997-1998
Graduate Students In Statistics & Actuarial Science, 1990
Box 5
Graduate Women's Studies Association, 1996-1998
Hawaii Club, University of Iowa, 1999-2000
Hawkeye Engineer, 1990
Hawkeye News, 2000-2001
Hawkeye Pride/Birds of Prey, 1999-1998
Hawkeye Woods and Rivers Club, 1999
Hawkeye Yearbook, 1990
Hawk - iMug
HawkPac, 1992-1997
Health Sciences Ambassador Network, 1994-2000
Horn Choir, University of Iowa, 1999
Hong Kong Students Association, 1982-1999
The Human Condition, 1990
Human Rights Coalition, The University of Iowa, 2000
India Association, 1990-1999
Individual Speaking Events Squad, 1990
Indonesian Student Association, 1990
Industrial Relations and Human Resources, 1990
International Alliance for People's Movement, 1990-2000
International Association of Business Communicators/University of Iowa, 1990
International Meditation Society, 1995-1998
Intervarsity Graduate Christian Fellowship, 1998-1999
Insight Student Organization, 1997-1999
Iowa City B-Boy Movement, 2001
Iowa City Coalition on Hunger, 1990
Iowa International Socialist Organization, 1990
Iowa Journal of Cultural Studies, 1991
Iowa Journal of Literary Studies, 1990
Iowa Leopold Society, 1998-2001
Iowa Lesbian and Gay Law Association, 1991
Iowa Network for Social Justice, 2000
Iowa's Pride, 1997-1999
The Iowa Rag, 1990
Iowa Recreation Education Council, 1990
Iowa Society of International Laws and Affairs, 1991
Box 6
Iowa Student Bar Association, 1990
Iowa Student Computer Association, 1990
Iowa Student Dental Association, 1990
Iowa Student Libertarian Organization, 1997
Iowa Student Psychology Association, 1990
Iowa Surgical Interest Society, 1998
Iowa Undergraduate History Society, 1999
Irish Literary Society, 1998
The Islamic Society of Iowa, 1990
Islamic Studies Group, 1997
Japanese Cultural Association, 1993-2001
Jun Fan/Lamenco Eskrima Club, University of Iowa, 1993-1998
Kappa Epsilon Fraternity, 1990
Kappa Kappa Gamma, 1997
Korean Student Organization, 1990
Kum Do Club, University of Iowa, 2000-2001
Laos and Taidam Student Association, 1991-1992
Latin American Dance Club, 1995-2001
Latin American Media Association, 1990
Latinos Unified for Graduate & Professional Advancement and Relations, 1995-1996
Latter-Day Saint Student Association, 1985-2001
Lesbian Alliance, 1990
Box 7
Liberal Arts Student Organization, 1990
Library and Information Science Student Organization (LISSO), 1990
Life Affirming Medical Professional Students, 1998
Living Word Campus Fellowship, 1999
Loose Association of Very Silly People, University of Iowa, 2000
Los Curanderos, 1990
The Major Grooves/Medical Student Chorus, 1997-1999
Master of Accountancy Student Association, 1997
Malaysian Student Society, 1990
Mathematical Biology Group, 1990
MBA Association, 1990
Medical Students for Choice, 1996-1998
Medical Student Council, 1990
Microbiology Student Association, 1990-1998
Minority Business Students Association, 1990-1997
Minority MBA Association, 1997-2000
Mortar Board Society, 1990
Mountain Bike Club, University of Iowa, 1998
MPH-MHA Student Association, 2001
Music Educators National Conference, 1990
Music Therapy Student Association, 1990
National Lawyer's Guild, 1990
National Lesbian and Gay Law Association, 1990
The National Soceity of Collegiate Scholars, 2000-2001
National Society of Professional Engineers, 1993-1998
Natural Law Party, University of Iowa, 1996
Network of Black Law Students, 1997
New Wave, 1990
Non-Traditional Student Forum, 1994
Non-Traditional Student Association, 1996-1999
Old Capitol Track Club, 2000
Omega Chi Epsilon, 1985-1998
Box 8
Omicron Delta Kappa, 1986-2001
Operation Smile - University of Iowa Medical and Dental Association, 1998-1999
Organization for Iranian Students, 1990-1995
Organization for Women Law Students and Staff, 1990-1991
The Original University of Iowa Undergraduate Creative Arts Magazine, 1996-1997
Pablo Neruda Cultural Center, 1990
Paintball Enthusiast's Club, 1991-1994
Pakistan Student Association, 1990
People for African Unity, 1990
Pharmacy Class of 1992, 1990
Pharmacy Class of 2002, 1997-1999
Pharmacy Class of 2003, 1998-2000
Phi Alpha Theta, 1991
Phi Beta Delta, 1990
Phi Beta Kappa, 1986-1999
Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, 1999-2000
Physical Therapy Student Organization University of Iowa, 1990
Physiology Graduate Student Association, 1990
Pi Sigma Alpha/Beta Chi, 1997-2000
Pi Sigma Epsilon, 1986-2000
Pi Tau Sigma, 1978-1989
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Group, 1998
Political Science Club, 1997-1998
Pre-Law Association, University of Iowa, 2000-2001
Pre-Law Society, 1990-1994
Pre-Physical Therapy, 1990
Productive Students Organization, 1990
Psi Mu Delta (Pre-Medical Fraternity), 1998-2000
Public Relations Student Society, 1990
Box 9
Racquetball Club, 1989-1996
Rainforest Action Group, 1994-1999
Rape Victim Advocacy Program, 1990
Rehabilitation Conseling, University of Iowa, 1991
Rinse Cycle, 1999
River City Housing Collective, Inc., 1990
River City Pagan Community, 1994-2000
Riverfest Commission, 1990
Running Club, University of Iowa, 1997
Salmagundi, 1999-2000
Salvation Army Student Fellowship, 1996
School Psychology Student Association, 1990-1999
Science Society, 1990
Scottish Highlanders, University of Iowa, 1990
Seishin Ryu University of Iowa Branch Dojo, 1998
Seventh-day Adventist Campus Community Fellowship, 1997-1998
Shades of Medecin, 1998-2000
Sigma Gamma Epsilon, 1995-1997
Sigma Nu International Fraternity, 1996
Singapore Students Association, 1986-2000
Social Work Student Assocation, 1990
Sociedad Hispanica/Hispanic Society, 1990
Society of African Expressive Culture, 1998
Society of Automotive Engineers, 1983-1999
Society of Composers, Inc., 1997-1999
Society for Diversity in History, 2000-2001
Society of Elementary Education Majors in Science, 1998
Society for Resource Management, 1989-1998
Society of Professional Journalists, 1990
Box 10
Society of Women Engineers, 1976-1990
South African/Azanian Association, 1981-1995
Sociology Graduate Student Association, 1991
Special Librarians Association, 1987-1997
Speech Communication Association Student Club, 1997
Starfleet Simulation Command, 1984-1998
Strategic Action Committee (SAC), 1997
Student Advisory Committee/College of Education, 1990
Student Activities Board, 1990
Student Assembly, 1990
Students in Design, 1990-1998
Students for Bill Bradley, University of Iowa, 1999
Students for Bob Simpson, 2000
Student Broadcasters, Inc. (KRUI), 1990
Students for Camp Heartland and the Prevention of HIV/AIDS, 1995-2000
Students of Color, 1996-1999
Students for Elizabeth Dole, 1999
Students for Elected Office, 1998
Students for Gore, 1999-2000
Students for John Kasich, 1999
Students for Jim Leach, 2000
Students for McCain, 1999
Students for Nader, 2000
Students for Social Change, 1999
Students for Social Etiquette, 2000
Students for Steve Forbes, 1999
Students for Wellstone, 1998
Student Iowa State Education Association, 1990
Student Labor Action Coaltion, 1996
Students for Liberty, 1997
Student National Medical Association, 1981-2001
Student Rugby Association, 1996-1999
Box 11
Student Senate, University of Iowa, 1990
Students for Sensible Priorities, University of Iowa, 1999
Student Society of Nuclear Medicine Technology, 1990
Students Undertaking Mathematical Sciences, 1995-2001
Students United in Business and Engineering, 2000
Tau Beta Pi, 1990
Tenant Landlord Association, 1990
Theta Tau, 1990
Theological Society, University of Iowa, 1994
Transfer Student Network, 1990
The Undergraduate Classics Club, 1999-2000
Undergraduate Geography Association, 1993-1999
Unidos En Neustro Mundo, 1996
United Slater Association, 1994-2001
University Travel, 1990
Urban and Regional Planning Association, 1995-1999
Venezualan Student Association, 1997-1999
Vietnamese Student Association, University of Iowa, 1990
Vital Signs, 1990
Voices of Soul, 1990
We Be Wimmin Colorful, 1990
West Side Players, 1990-1999
Women of A Stolen Legacy, 1990
Women's Resource Group, 1999
Zen Studies Assoc., University of Iowa, 1996
Homecoming, 1970
----. 1976
----. 1977
----. 1978
----. 1979
----. 1980
----. 1981
----. 1982
----. Agenda and Minutes, 1982
----. Assistant Director, 1982
----. Constitution, Protocol, 1982
----. Dance, King & Queen, 1982
----. Director, 1982
Box 13
----. Evaluation, 1982
----. Parade, 1982
----. Public Relations, 1982
----. PreExecutive P.R. & Duties, 1982
----. Sales, 1982
----. Special Events Commmittee, 1982
----. Student Activities Board of Governing, 1982
----. Treasurer, 1982
----. Year-end Report, 1982
----. General, 1983
----. Carnival, 1983
----. Community Relations, 1983
----. Contests, 1983
----. Entertainment, 1983
----. Events, 1983
----. Executive Minutes, 1983
----. Kick Off, 1983
----. King & Queen, 1983
----. Marketing, 1983
Box 14
----. Meetings, 1983
----. Parade, 1983
----. Progress Reports, 1983
----. Sales and Distribution, 1983
----. Special Events, 1983
----. Sports Night, 1983
----. Treasurer, 1983
----. Asst. Director, 1984
----. Card Club, 1984
----. Carnival Director, 1984
----. Director, 1984
----. Executive Secretary, 1984
----. Financial Report/Budget, 1984
----. Kick Off, 1984
----. King and Queen, 1984
----. Marketing, 1984
----. Marketing Director, 1984
----. Meetings, 1984
----. Miscellaneous, 1984
Box 15
----. Parade, 1984
----. Parade Director, 1984
----. Public Relations, 1984
----. Sales, 1984
----. Sales Director, 1984
----. Secretary, 1984
----. Special Events Director, 1984
----. Treasurer, 1984
----. Mall/Union Entertainment, 1985
----. Miscellaneous, 1985
----. Pep Rally, 1985
----. Progress Reports, 1985
----. Sports Night, 1985
----. Union, 1985
----. General, 1986
----. General, 1987
----. '86-'87 Overview, 1987
----. Badges, 1987
----. Evaluation, 1987
----. Event Registration Forms, 1987
----. King & Queen, 1987
----. Media Relations, 1987
----. Meetings, 1987
----. Publicity, 1987
----. Rep. Relations, 1987
----. General, 1988
----. Evaluations, [?]
Box 16
Series III: Office of Campus Programs & Student Activities
Student Council Leadership Guide, 1967
Men's Interfraternity Council, 1950-1951
----. 1953-1965
----. 1965-1970
Interfraternity Council: Housing, 1965-1976
----. An Evaluation of the Effect of Parietal Rule, 1971
Co-Curricular Experience Program: Miscellaneous, 1990-1991
----. Goals & Objectives, 1990-1991
OCPSA: Working Papers, 1987----. Committee systems, 1984
----. Calendar, 1989
----. Two-Week Reports, 1989
----. End of Year Report, 1990-1991
Box 17
OCPSA: Vol. 1, 1989
----. Vol. 1 - Workshops, 1989
----. Vol. 1 - Goals & Objectives, 1989
----. Vol. 1 - Order of Omega, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Final Report/Review of Goals & Objectives, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Fraternities, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Alpha Sigma Phi, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Phi Kappa Theta, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Chi Phi, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Sigma, 1989
----. Vol. 2 - Mentor Co-Curricular, 1989
----. Greek System - Jim Valentine, Teaching Assistant Transition Manual, 1989-1990
----. Miscellaneous, 1990-1991
----. Goals & Objectives, 1990-1991
----. Miscellaneous Projects, 1990-1991
OCPSA: Summer Internship (Bruce Peterson) General, 1990
----. Audit, 1990
----. Educational Programs, 1990
----. Emergency Program, 1990
----. Graduate Program, 1990
----. Greek Life 2001, 1990
----. Inteview Questions, 1990
----. Peer Helping Training, 1990
----. Resume Selling Yourself/Example, 1990
OCPSA: Greek System. Year End Reports, 1986-1987
----. Review of Goals & Objectives, 1987-1988
----. Year End Reports (Alpha Phi Omega/Alpha Sigma Phi), 1988
----. Year End Reports (Phi Kappa Theta), 1988
----. Goals & Objectives, 1988-1989
Box 18
OCPSA: Greek System. Goals & Objectives, 1990-1991
----. Monthly Reports, 1990-1991
----. BACCHUS/House Director's Residence Advisors, 1990-1991
----. Greek Life 2001, 1990-1991
----. Educational Programs, 1990-1991
----. Sigma Tau Gamma/Sigma Pi Assistance, 1990-1991
----. Order of Omega, 1990-1991
----. Greek Week 1991, 1990-1991
----. Meeting Minutes, 1990-1991
----. Director/Assistant Director, 1990-1991
----. Treasurer & Financial, 1990-1991
----. Blood Drive Philanthropy, 1990-1991
----. Promotions/Recreation, 1990-1991
Bijou Theater: Letters/Applications/Calendars, 1990-1991
----. Budget/Spendings, 1990-1991
UISA "Fair Book Exchange": Manual/Reports/Letters, 1990
----. Accounts/Spendings/Sales, 1990
KRUI: Invoices, Expenses, Vouchers, 1990-1991
----. Budget/Spending, 1991
----. Requisitions, 1991
Newsletters for Recognized Student Organizations, August 1994-November 1995
----. January 1996-April 1997
Box 19
January 1996-March 1996
April 1996-June 1996
July 1996-September 1996
October 1996-December 1996
January 1997-March 1997
April 1997
May 1997-September 1997
October 1997-December 1997
January 1998-February 1998
Box 20
March 1998-April 1998
May 1998-September 1998
October 1998-December 1998
January 1999-February 1999
March 1999-April 1999
May 1999-August 1999September 1999-October 1999
November 1999-December 1999