Finding Aid
|
Class and Faculty Photograph Album Collection Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: The photograph albums were donated to the University Archives by numerous donors at various times. The 1895 album was a gift of J. Lyle Kinmonth. Guide posted to the Internet April 2005; updated January 2008. Photographs: Entire collection |
|
Scope and Contents
The photograph albums include portraits of University administrators, faculty, and students and cover most of the 1878-1895 period. .
Historical Note
Most of the photograph albums that comprise this collection preceded the Hawkeye yearbook, which commenced publication in 1892. They were among the earliest attempts to document campus life at the University of Iowa. Generally the albums were produced commercially and were intended for the immediate University community, particularly graduating seniors and members of the faculty.
Related Materials
Yearbooks Collection (RG 02.10)
Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs (RG 30.01.01)
Box Contents List
Box 1
Class of 1878. One album; about 60 images. Mainly portraits of faculty and students; 1878.
Box 2
Class of 1889. Two copies of photo album, about 40 images each. Faculty and graduating senior portraits; 1889.
Box 3
Class of 1890. Two copies of photo album; 12 images each. Faculty and graduating seniors, collage format; 1890.
Boxes 4-5
Class of 1891. Four copies of photo album; 16 images each. Faculty and graduating seniors, collage format; 1891.
Boxes 6-9
Class of 1892. Four copies of photo album; about 50 images each. Faculty and graduating seniors, collage format; 1892.
Box 10
Class of 1893. One album; about 50 images. Faculty and graduating seniors, collage format; 1893.
Boxes 11-12
Class of 1894. Two copies of photo album; about 50 images. Faculty and graduating seniors, collage and portraits; campus buildings; 1894.
Box 13
Class of 1895. One album; about 50 images. Faculty and graduating seniors, collage and portraits; 1895.
