The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Department of Dance Video Collection Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: The DVD recordings in this collection were transferred to the University Archives from the Department of Dance as Accession 2011-10. Guide posted to the Internet February 2011. Photographs: None |
|
Scope and Contents
The Department of Dance Video Collection consists of audio-visual recordings of performances hosted or in some way coordinated by the University of Iowa Department of Dance. The collection is arranged alphabetically by name of recurring programs, such as Dance Gala and undergraduate concerts, and by name of specific events, such as the 1999 Tribute to Alicia Brown. All items described in the box list below are in DVD format. Recordings of performances dated from prior to about 1995 are re-formatted versions of earlier formats, such as VHS analog tape or Umatic tape.
Related Materials
Records of the Department of Dance (RG 06.24.02)
Box Contents List
Box 1
Advanced Choreographic Design Concert (10 items)
AfroCuban Drum and Dance Ensemble, 2005-2007 (8 items)
Alan Sener "Passport," 2005 (3 items)
Box 2
The Architects, 2006 (1 item)
Audition Tape, n.d. (3 items)
Breaking Bounds, 1996 (1 item)
C-5; n.d. (1 item)
Children's Concert, 1980-1984 (2 items)
Concerts, pre-1981 (1 item)
Dance Gala, 1981-1986, 1988 (11 items)
Box 3
Dance Gala, 1994-1997 (20 items)
Box 4
Dance Gala, 1997-2000 (20 items)
Box 5
Dance Gala, 2000-2001, 2006 (13 items)
Dance History II, III, n.d. (4 items)
Dance of the Americas, 2000 (3 items)
Box 6
Dance of the Americas, 2000 (3 items)
Dancers in Company, 1994-1998 (17 items)
Box 7
Dancers in Company, 1998-2002, 2006-2007 (20 items)
Box 8
Dancers in Company, 2007, n.d. (4 items)
Dancers to Go, 1987 (2 items)
Dances with the Maia, 2007 (2 items)
Duarte Dance Works, 2005-2007 (10 items)
Duke Ellington's Nutcracker, 1998 (1 item)
Box 9
Faculty / graduate concert, 1978, 1980, 1996, 1998-2001; variously named: Graduate Dance Concert, Faculty dances, Faculty concert rehearsal (20 items)
Box 10
Faculty / graduate concert, 2001-2002, 2006-2007 (11 items)
Festival Iowa, 1977 (1 item)
Five - Collaboration, 1997 (2 items)
5Alive: A Dance Concert, 2006 (3 items)
Floresta, 1997 (3 items)
Box 11
Floresta, 1997 (3 items)
Groundwork, 1999 (1 item)
"Iowa Endowment 2000", 1987 (1 item)
Jazz Concert, 1996 (3 items)
Lost Minds / Found Bodies, 1995 (2 items)
MFA theses, 1981-1996 (incomplete) (9 items)
Box 12
MFA theses, 1997-1998 (20 items)
Box 13
MFA theses, 1998-2002 (20 items)
Box 14
MFA theses, 2002, 2005, 2007, n.d. (13 items)
The Nutcracker, 2005-2007 (6 items)
Project Art, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, n.d. (2 items)
Box 15
Shorts; n.d. (1 item)
Space / Place Concert, 1981-1996 (19 items)
Box 16
Space / Place Concert, 1997-2000 (19 items)
Box 17
Teknowledgey (3 items)
Tribute to Alicia Brown, 1999 (2 items)
Undergraduate Concert, 2000-2001, 2005; also as: Graduate / Undergraduate, Graduate Dance Event, Graduate / Undergraduate Concert5, Undergraduate Works (15 items)
Box 18
Undergraduate Concert, 2005-2007 (15 items)
Unicorn, 1979 (1 item)
World Dance Concert II, 2006 (3 items)
Box 19
[No title; dates only: March-May 2002] (8 items)