Finding Aid
|
Papers of Ernest Peter Kuhl Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ernest Kuhl in 1977, 1978, and after his death in 1981. Processed by: Earl Rogers, Daniel Farber, and Robert Franciosi, 1977-1978. Guide posted to Internet: December 2004; updated January 2008. Photographs: See E.P. Kuhl Collection of Photographs (RG 30.01.02) |
|
Scope and Contents
The Kuhl Paers comprehensively document the life of a university professor, involved in teaching and research, confronting the changing academic atmoshere and the bureaucratic problems of institutions of higher education. A large part of the collection consists of correspondence to Kuhl from fellow scholars and students, including most of the important Chaucer and Shakespeare scholars who, with Kuhl, laid the groundwork for 20th century Medieval and Renaissance studies. The collection also includes a book length manuscript concerning the historical context of Shakespearean drama and the role of Shakespeare within his own epoch. Kuhl's letters to his family (1960 -- 1974) disclose the alert, sensitive erudition cultivated during eight decades of academic activity.
A collection of his articles edited by Elizabeth Kuhl Belting, Studies in Chaucer and Shakespeare (Beloit, Wisconsin: Belting Publications), was published in 1971. Included are two of his most important articles, "Chaucer's Burgesses" and "Shakespeare and the Founders of America." Kuhl was especially interested in the political and economic milieus in which these authors worked.
The register incorporates material (p. 3 -- 11, 14) prepared by Daniel Farber. His notes on the correspondence included: Kuhl discovers Lanier papers, ca. 1924, and Kuhl-Foerster conflict concerning departmental policies, ca. 1936.
Major Correspondents, 1900 -- 1929
T.W. Baldwin
J.W. Bright
Carleton Brown
Hardin Craig
John French
G.L. Kittredge
Marie C.L. Linthicum
John L. Lowes
John Manley
J.S.P. Tatlock
Frederick Tupper
Bartlett Whiting
Karl Young
Major Correspondents, 1930 -- 1939
Margaret Ash
H.T. Baker
T.W. Baldwin
Hans Baron
M.C. Batchelder
Carro1 Camden
Harry H. Clark
Hardin Craig
C.C. Cunningham
Norman Foerster
T. Henry Foster
John French
William Griffin
G.B. Harrison
Dean G.F. Kay
G.W. Lemmi
Maria C.L. Linthicum
Baldwin Maxwell
Dorothy Norris
Jack Powell
Fred N. Robinson
Delmar Rodabaugh
Dean Carl Seashore
Marion Taylor
Florence Teager
J.W. Tupper
Albert WaIker
G.B. Woods
Bartlett Whiting
Ola Elizabeth Winslow
Major Correspondents, 1940 -- 1949
Ralph Coder
J.C. Cunningham
A.C. Edwards
William Griffin
Ernest McKenzie
S.B. Neff
Martin Price
Charles Sisson
Goldwin Smith
Gardiner Stillwell
Henry Webb
Bartlett Whiting
Margaret Zerby
Major Corrrespondents, 1950 -- 1959
F.W. Baxter
Hardin Craig
A.C. Edwards
M. Galway
Mary E. Griffin
William Griffin
Henry Grosshans
Virgil Hancher
William S. Heckscher
John W. Howley
Alan D. Lehman
Allardyce Nico11
Tom Perry
Charles Sisson
Baldwin Smith
Gardiner Stillwell
Albert L. Walker
Henry Webb
Frances A. Yates
Major correspondents, 1960 -- 1974
Elizabeth Kuhl Belting
Sidney Berger
Wendy Bie
Howard Bowen
David Cheney
Cbarles Eble
A.C. Edwards
Phil Gerber
William Griffin
Sue Henig
Albert Kuhl
Barbara Kuhl
Robert Kuhl
Tom Perry
Jack Powell
A.L. Walker
Henry Webb
Minor Correspondents, 1960 -- 1974
Betty Bang
Evvy Boyd
Joel Branham
Archibald Coolidge
Karen Belting Crokett
Mrs. H.H. Doberteens
John Gerber
Henry Grosshans
John Harrison
Yoshie Itabashi
Grace Leech
Charles Lumpkin
Russ Peterson
Margaret Rhoades
Janet Silloway
Marion Taylor
Robert Thackerberry
Bartlett Whiting
Biographical Note
Ernest Peter Kuhl was born in Milan, Ohio, October 10, 1881 of German immigrants. He attended Sandusky Business School, Valparaiso University, received a BA from Indiana University (1907) and his MA from Harvard (1908).
On September 9, 1909 he married Lucy Van Dyke Leech whom he met at Valparaiso University and with whom he had two children, Robert Wolfe Kuhl and Lucy Elizabeth Kuhl Belting.
Kuhl taught English and rhetoric at the University of Michigan for four years (1908 -- 1912), then returned to Harvard for his Ph.D (1913). He taught at Radcliffe, Dartmouth (1914 -- 1916), University of Minnesota (1916 -- 1918), Goucher College (1918 -- 1926) and in the extensions department of Johns Hopkins (1919 -- 1926), before coming to Iowa in 1926. He taught summers at Maine, Michigan, Stanford, Radcliffe, and Washington.
He was a lifetime member of the Modern Language Association and the University of Iowa Research Club.
Kuhl retired from the University of Iowa in 1952. He continued to research works of William Shakespeare well into his 90s. Kuhl died at the age of 99 in Iowa City on April 26, 1981..
Related Materials
Folder, "Kuhl, Ernest P.", in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)
E.P. Kuhl Collection of Photographs (RG 30.01.02)
Box Contents List
Correspondence, Boxes 1 -- 6
Manuscript and Kuhl house remodeling, Box 7
Miscellaneous notebooks and books, Box 8
Box 1
1 Kuhl -- Weichel family correspondence and account book, ca. 1855
2 1903 -- 1918
3 1923
4 1924
5 1925
6 January -- August 1926
7 September -- December 1926
Box 2
1 January -- September 1927
2 October -- December 1927, 1928
3 1929
4 1930
5 January -- July 1931
6 August -- December 1931
7 January -- June 1932
8 July -- December 1932
Box 3
1 January -- June 1933
2 July -- December 1933
3 1934
4 January -- May 1935
5 June -- December 1935
6 January -- October 1936
7 November -- December 1936
8 January -- June 1937
9 July -- December 1937
10 1938
11 1939
Box 4
1 1940
2 1941
3 1942
4 1943
5 1944
6 1945
7 1946
8 1947
9 1948
10 1949
Box 5
1 1950
2 M. E. Branham, 1950
3 1951
4 M. E. Branham, 1951
5 1952
6 M. E. Branham, 1952
7 1953 -- 1954
8 1955 -- 1959
9 1960 -- 1963
Box 6
1 1964
2 1965
3 1966
4 1967
5 1968 -- 1969
6 January -- July 1970
7 August -- December 1970
8 1971
9 1972 -- 1978
Box 7
1 -- 9 Shakespeare: Soul of the Age. Manuscript.
10 Remodeling of Kuhl house, architect's agreement and invoices, 1927 -- 1928
Box 8
1 July 3, 1908 "diary on trip to England"/ E.P.Kuhl
2 October 21, 1908 "outlines of Tom Jones" / E.P. Kuhl, Ann Arbor, Michigan
3 October, 1908 "briefs and impressions of reading" / E.P. Kuhl, Ann Arbor, Michigan
4 February, 1913 William Hand Browne / by J.W. Bright
5 ca. 1921 "lecture notes, English 2 -- 8"
6 June 10, 1922 "diary-Oropesa" / E.P. Kuhl
7 ca. 1928 L'Heur Passe by Carol Wight
7a Chaucer in Tennessee/ January 23, 1938/ E.P. Kuhl
8 ca. 1941 "consumer's research" / E.P. Kuhl
9 December 1950, no entries
10 ca. 1951 "travel notes, Mexico" / E.P. Kuhl
11 June 1, 1952 "diary, Chaucer & Shakespeare" / E.P. Kuhl
12 June 26, 1952 "Dublin" / E.P. Kuhl
13 August 1952 "Oxford" / E.P. Kuhl
14 October 20, 1952 "Oxford"/ E.P. Kuhl
15 ca. 1952 "Britain-address book" / E.P. Kuhl
16 August 1954"Canal, Florida" / E.P. Kuhl
17 August 1, 1956 "travel notes" / E.P. Kuhl
18 ca. 1958 "notes" / E.P. Kuhl
19 n.d. "notes"/ 'E.P. Kuhl
