The University of Iowa Libraries

• RSS Feed
• Twitter
• Facebook

Finding Aid

---

Scope and Contents

The papers of Edward C. Mabie include newspaper clippings, nine boxes of correspondence (arranged alphabetically), magazines, notebooks, speeches, memorabilia, and radio programs. Much of the history of the growth of the University Theatre, both physically and in curriculum is contained in these materials. Mabie's notes show the development of the Department of Speech, and Iowa school system changes as well. Also presented are Works Progress Administration (WPA) dealings, high school debates, Dartmouth College notes, positions at Illinois and Kentucky, and his hobbies of gardening and raising poultry.

---

Biographical Note

Edward Charles Mabie was born in LaCrosse, Wisconsin on October 27, 1892. He earned his B.A. in political science in 1915, and his masters degree in 1916, both at Dartmouth. Six months later he married Grace Chase. They had one daughter, Pricilla.

Mabie served on the faculty of Illinois Wesleyan College from 1917 to 1918. He was an assistant professor of English and Speech at the University of Kentucky 1918 -- 1920, then joined the State University of Iowa in the summer of 1920. Upon arrival in Iowa he was the head of the Department of Public Speaking; the department name soon changed to the Department of Speech. He became full professor and department head in 1925, when the department name changed again to Department of Speech and Dramatic Arts.

Mabie played a large role in establishing University Theatres, a production group. Over the next thirty years Mabie shaped the University theatre department into one of the finest in the country. He served as Regional Director of the Federal Theatre Projects of the WPA (Works Progress Administration), which included Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Kansas, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Nebraska.

Mabie is one of those who brought about an important change in graduate work: to allow creative work to be accepted as a thesis for both the M.A. and the Ph.D. He personally supervised MFA student directors in nearly 100 productions during his thirty-five year career at Iowa. Mabie died of a heart attack in Iowa City on February 9, 1956.

---

Related Materials

Federal Theatre Project Scripts and Papers Collection (MsC 314), Dept. of Special Collections, University of Iowa Libraries.

Folder, "Mabie, Edward Charles," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the Dept. of Communication Studies and Theatre Arts (RG 06.38)

---

Box Contents List

Box 1

Adult Education Workers correspondence, summer 1934

Army materials, correspondence, 1943

(AETA), 1940 -- 1947

Budget material, University Theatre, 1930 -- 1932

Dramatic Art, 1936 -- 1937

Bulletins, 1932, 1937

Frances M. Camp, Committee on the Recommendation of Teachers, 1929 -- 1931

Clapp, Phillip Greeley, 1934, 1936

Speech Clinic Report, 1933 -- 1936

Curriculum-Okoboji, 1938 -- 1940

Coe College Players, 1934 -- 1935

Summer 1947

General, 1945 -- 1952

Course Outlines from staff members, 1945 -- 1946

Davenport Plays, 1933 -- 1935

Departmental Plans, 1943 -- 1944

Degree Requirements, 1949

The Drama Magazine, 1930 -- 1931

Frank Elser, 400 E. 52nd St.  New York City, 1932 -- 1934

Dina Rees Evans, 1937 -- 1942 

 Box 2

Falk, Sawyer, 1944 -- 1947

Federal Aid, Speech Clinic, 1934

General Correspondence, 1934

Financial Allocations, 1952

Experimental Theatre, 1934 -- 1940

Federal Theater Project, Mrs. Hallie Flanagann, 1937 -- 1944

Federal Theater Project, Bess Whitcomb, 1936 -- 1941

Federal Theatre Project, 1935 -- 1937

Fine Arts, 1944 -- 1952

R.H. Fitzgerald, director school of  Fine Arts, 1928 -- 1933

Department of Dramatic Art, Four Week Inter-session, February 24, 1942

President Gilmore, 1935 -- 1940

Graduate appointments, 1945 -- 1947

Speech majors, graduate and undergraduate, 1931 -- 1932

Harper, Earl E., 1938 -- 1945, 1950 -- 1951

President Hancher, 1941 -- 1944

Earl Harper, World War II, 1942 -- 1943 

Box 3

Harper, Earl, 1946 -- 1952

Jacobson, Carlyle E., 1946 -- 1948

Kay, Dean George F., 1930 -- 1931

1933 -- 1937

1918 -- 1943

1937 -- 1948

Lake Okoboji Summer Theatre, 1939 -- 1941

Leathem, Barclay S., National Theatre Conference, 1945 -- 1946

Mabie, Edward C., 1953

McGrath, Earl J., 1946 -- 1951

Miscellaneous, 1943 -- 1944

1945 -- 1950

National Council of Teachers of English, 1933 -- 1944

National Association of the Teachers of Speech, subsidiary, 1933

1929 -- 1933

1934 -- 1945

Box 4

National Theatre Conference, 1938 -- 1945

1936 -- 1952

Legitimate Theater Committee, 1933

National Youth Administration, 1937 -- 1940

Newburn, Dean Harry K., 1937 -- 1952

Norvelle, Lee, 1946 -- 1949

Notes about classes, staff, courses, 1946 -- 1949

Official Notices, 1937 -- 1942

Outstanding Women, 1941 -- 1942

Packer, Dean P.C., 1933 -- 1940

Paul and the Blue Ox, a play, Summer 1939

Payne, Ben Iden, 1930 -- 1936

Phonetics Laboratory Material, 1930 -- 1931

Potter, Robert, a telegram, 1939

Prentice Hall, Inc., 1936 -- 1939

President’s Office/ Hotz & Gilmore, 1933 -- 1936

Pride, Leo, 1933 -- 1935

Programs, 1924 -- 1928

Projects, 1934

Public Speaking Scholarships, 1934 -- 1936  

Box 5

Radio, 1936 -- 1938, 1945 -- 1949

1935 -- 1938

1937 -- 1955

Rice, Elmer, 1935 -- 1936

Riggs, Lynn, 1932 -- 1935

Rockefeller appointee acceptances, 1934

Budget and letters, 1934 -- 1940

Correspondence, 1937 -- 1938

Dramatic Art, 1934 -- 1936

Voice and Speech in the Theatre, 1934 -- 1935

Root, Professor W.T./Department requirements, 1944 -- 1945

Rural Drama

Sigma Delta Phi, 1933 -- 1934

Seashore, Dean C.E., 1932 -- 1933

1942 -- 1946

Speech, 1937 -- 1939

Staff Letters, 1948

Stevens, David H., 1934 -- 1937

1934 -- 1939, 1944

Stoddard, Dean George D., 1937 -- 1942  

Box 6

Organization of T.V.C., 1942 -- 1943

Syllabus, Dramatic Production, n.d.

Original Plays Produced at Iowa, 1921 -- 1955

Lists of Plays Written by Students, includes Richard Maibaum, Virgil Baker, n.d., ca. 1930 -- 1935

Playwright’s Correspondence, 1945, 1948

Stock-Amateur situation royalty, 1933, 1936

Stuit, Dewey B., 1946 -- 1950

Theatre, Summer 1939, 1941, 1944

Advisory Committee/T.V.C., 1943

T.V.C., 1943 -- 1944

Minutes and Reports/T.V.C., 1943

Scripts/T.V.C., 1943

Radio Address/T.V.C., 1943

N.T.C./T.V.C., 1943

Ballots/T.V.C., 1943

War Council for Theatres/T.V.C., 1942 -- 1943

Theatre for Victory Week/T.V.C., 1943

University Director’s council constitution, n.d.

University Theatre Finance Committee, 1948

Viehman, Theodore, 1939, 1943

Waery, James E., 1939

Washington, Iowa Alumni Association, 1934 -- 1936  

Box 7

W.P.A. (Works Progress Administration), Theatre Plans, 1934 -- 1936

Macdonald, Professor W.R., 1930, 1935 -- 1944

WPA-Federal Theatre Project, 1935 -- 1939

Mabie’s plan for organizing regional theatres, n.d.

Play Bureau-WPA Federal Theatre Project, 1936

Western Theatre Journal, 1936

Board of Education, Omaha, 1934 -- 1937

Western Theatre Conference, July 1935

1935

Zeta Phi Eta, 1940 -- 1949

Women’s Club, 1940 -- 1941

Within These Walls, 1935, 1937  

Box 8

Play: One-third of a Nation, n.d.

Correspondence, Theatre Plans, Telegrams, Bulletins, Etc., ca. 1935 -- 1936

“Cargo,” collected works of Stanford English class, 1934 -- 1936

Survey: “Life with Father” play, n.d.

WPA Bulletins, 1935

Federal Theatre Project-Bureau of Research and Publication lists of plays, n.d.

Play: It’s Up To You, by Arthur Arent, 1942 -- 1945

Writer’s War Board, 1941 -- 1945

Plays: The Music Goes Round and Round and The Sergeant– 1945

WPA-Federal Theatre Radio Division, 1938

“Asides 1945 -- 1946” Dramatists’ Alliance, 1945  

Box 9

Negro Plays, 1911 -- 1934

Federal Theatre in the South: Supplement to the Federal Theatre National Bulletin, 1936

WPA Bulletins and Instructions, 1935

“Suggested Repertory of American, English and Irish Plays”, n.d.

Play program: The Mayan Theatre Triple A Plowed Under, n.d.

Production bulletin: “One third of a nation” Includes photographs, sketches, blue prints. Detroit

Federal Theatre, 1937

Plays: Brideship, Hank’s Kid, Deborah I., 1946

New Plays Survey, National Service Bureau, Federal Theatre project, 1938

Production bulletin: Triple A Plowed Under, includes photographs, sketches, 1936

Federal Theatre Project, New York State, 1935 -- 1936

Play Bureau, Federal Theatre Project, Russian Plays, Barnum Returns, n.d.

Jewish Non-royalty Plays and Pageants, 1937

34 Old and New Spanish Plays, 1937

WPA, Backstage, North Carolina Federal Theatre Project, 1937

Federal Theatre Radio Division, 13 Elizabethan Dramas, WQXR; Presentations and Comment –

1937 -- 1938  

Box 10

Clippings, n.d.

Wisconsin, pre-1915

New Hampshire, 1915 -- 1916

Illinois, 1917 -- 1918

Kentucky, 1919 -- 1920

Iowa, 1920 -- 1921

1922

1923

1924

1925

1926

1927

1928

1929

1930

1931

1932

1933 -- 1934

1935

1936 -- 1937

1943 -- 1944

1948 -- 1955

1956 -- 1959 

Box 11

E.P. Conkle, 1936 -- 1954

A.C. Baird, 1924

Brown, Gilmor, 1933 -- 1939

G.P. Baker, 1927 -- 1937

Cheney, Sheldon, 1936 -- 1952

Clark, Barrett, 1931 -- 1952

Clark, Barrett, 1932 -- 1944

Davis, Harvey H., 1949 -- 1953

Eaton, Walter Prichard, 1924 -- 1937

Famous Authors, 1923 -- 1954

Gallaway, Marian, 1937 -- 1949

Felton, Norman, 1937 -- 1948

1938 -- 1947

Geddes, Virgil (Playwright), 1934 -- 1935

Green, Paul, 1933 -- 1943  

Box 12

Howard, Sidney (Playwright), 1933 -- 1936

Immel, Ray, 1930

Jacobsen, Carlyle (Dean), 1946 -- 1947

Jessup, Walter A., 1923 -- 1954

Johnson, Wendell, correspondence 1940 -- 1949; publications 1944 -- 1954

Loehwing, Walter F. (Dean), 1931 and 1950 -- 1953

Longman, Lester D., 1943 -- 1944

MacGowan, Kenneth (Professor), 1929 -- 1950

MacKaye, Percy, 1932 -- 1936

Maibaum, Richard, 1931 -- 1954

1933 -- 1955

Meier, Norman C., 1933 -- 1951

Miscellaneous Letters, 1939 -- 1954

1921 -- 1957

1937 -- 1939

Newburn, Harry (President, U of Oregon), 1946  

Box 13

Letters of Congratulations, 1926 -- 1955

Letters from former students, 1921 -- 1953

Personal Correspondence, Servicemen, 1941 -- 1947

Letters after stroke, 1950 -- 1955

Morton, Vance (Professor), 1937 -- 1947

Seashore, Carl (Dean), 1933 -- 1944

Payne, B. Iden, 1930 -- 1944

Savage, George (Professor), 1937 -- 1955

Selden, Samuel (Professor), 1930 -- 1932

Shaw, Warren Choate (Professor), 1928

Sumner Smith, Maude (Playwright), 1931 -- 1933

Stevens, Thomas Wood, 1929 -- 1944

Stoddard, George (Dean), 1932 -- 1948

Stringfield, Lamar, 1932 -- 1934

Stuit, Dewey (Dean), 1939 -- 1954

Watson, Lowell, 1943 -- 1951 

  Box 14

Appointment Letters, 1920 -- 1955

Class Syllabus, 1952

Notes for Mabie’s Baconian Lecture, 1931 -- 1944

Books in Mabie home library, n.d.

Archives of speech, copyright, 1934 -- 1951

Audience-Response, 1949 -- 1953

Audience-Response, 1950

Meier Audience, Response Recorder, 1950 -- 1951

Audience-Response, 1950 -- 1953

Audience-Response and photos, 1952

Audience-Response, 1952 -- 1953

Audience-Response measurements and photos, 1956

Audience-Response, n.d.

American Educational Theatre Association, 1930 -- 1955

1936 -- 1951

1938 -- 1945

1953

1921 -- 1953

Miscellaneous, 1952 -- 1954  

Box 15

Community Players, Iowa City, 1934 -- 1935

Civic Art Players, Joe Baldwin, Davenport, 1933

Community Players, Cedar Rapids, 1934 -- 1936

Auditorium Committee, 1940 -- 1951

Bibliography, 1930, 1948

Community Play Work, Davenport, 1933

Comparison of Academic Ratings, 1937

Theatre Courses, 1922 -- 1953

EC Contributions, 1938 -- 1955

Dramatic Interpretation, n.d.

Articles by Edward Mabie, n.d.

Community Theatre, 1939

Bibliography for a Theatre course, n.d.

Gerber, 1936 -- 1948

Communication Skills, 1937 -- 1953

Correspondence with Dean Kay, part confidential, 1936 -- 1941

Box 16

Department of Speech, n.d.

Courses, 1952 -- 1953

Budget, 1926 -- 1947

Ten Years of Speech Development, n.d.

Playwriting Skills, n.d.

Dramatic Art, 1918 -- 1937

Worksheets for Classes, 1937

Degree Requirements, 1953

n.d.

1937

1936 -- 1946

Master of Fine Arts (MFA) program, beginnings of, 1938

Status of Dramatic Art, 1937 -- 1939

Department of Speech Development, ca. 1950  

Box 17

Ford Foundation, Fund for Adult Education grant request for television production, n.d., ca. 1950’s

Director’s Notes, Children of the Moon, n.d.

Winterset, n.d.

Once in a Lifetime, n.d., ca. 1920’s

Taming of the Shrew, n.d., ca. 1920’s

Play notes, Loyalties, Director’s Notes, n.d., ca. 1920’s

Prompter’s copy of a play, 1947

Debate and miscellaneous, La Crosse, 1907 -- 1911

Clippings, ca. 1940’s  

Box 17-A

“Suggestions for Carrying Out a Full Production Program of Experimental Plays at the State

University of Iowa”, n.d., ca. 1930’s

Experimental Plays, 1933 -- 1934

Professor Mabie’s Club Members, “The Club”, 1940 -- 1949; “Dining Club”, 1956

Color Mixture in Stage Lighting, by E.C. Mabie, 1923

Statistical Summaries of Advanced Degrees in Speech and Drama at SUI, 1920 -- 1944

Inquiries from other theatres regarding construction, 1930 -- 1939

Delta Sigma Rho correspondence, 1928 -- 1955

General Studies, correspondence, publications, notes, 1945 -- 1948

Edmund Kinzinger case, 1942

Box 18

Miscellaneous, ISEA and NEA, Education Associations

Education booklets, 1953 -- 1954

Play: 1954, and Epilogue, Iowa’s Capitol, negatives, n.d.

Centennial Leadership Conference, 1954

I.S.E.A., Financial Orders, 1954

I.S.E.A., W. Henry Galbreth, 1954

Play: The I.S.E.A. Library Service, n.d.

Photographs

Plays: 1954 and Frontiers of the 20th Century, n.d.

Plays, 1954 -- 1955

Dartmouth Alumni Magazine, 1954

Biographies, n.d.

Frontiers play, photograhps, n.d.

Photographs 

Box 19

Howard Mumford Jones, 1938

Play: Never-Ending Frontier, n.d.

Never-Ending Frontier, play for Iowa State Education Association centennial, 1954

Play: Never-Ending Frontier final copy, November 1954

Citizens and Their Schools: Anniversary Issue 1954

Play: Never-Ending Frontier draft with notes, 1954 

Box 20

Muscatine Court House, Centennial, 1954

Education pamphlets, 1954

Reorganization of school districts, 1953 -- 1954

1954

Assistant writer in Never-Ending Frontier, negatives

Play, 1954, three folders

Plays and background information, 1954

Never-Ending Frontier, Scene 1, and Original

Never-Ending Frontier, 1954

Never-Ending Frontier, call for readings, n.d.

Public School funding; Gov. Grimes; Iowa State Teacher’s Association; a dance drama

I.S.E.A.; Never-Ending Frontier, 1952 -- 1954

Play, n.d.

Children’s Play: Educating for Leadership, 1954

Never-Ending Frontier, 1954 

Box 20-A

1896, four copies, n.d.

Play, n.d.

Play: 1954

Miscellaneous

Never-Ending Frontier

National Citizens Commission for Public Schools, January 1953 

Box 21

Homer Serley, President of Iowa State Teachers College, portrait, n.d.

School districts, n.d.

Never-Ending Frontier, Galland prayer, n.d.

Never-Ending Frontier, 1954

Never-Ending Frontier and 1954, music plan, n.d.

Miscellaneous

Frontiers of 20th Century, n.d.

Miscellaneous, n.d.

I.S.E.A., history, 1954

I.S.E.A. script, n.d.

Never-Ending Frontier, KRNT Radio Theater, 1954

Never-Ending Frontier

Play: 1862

Never-Ending Frontier

Never-Ending Frontier and 1896

Never-Ending Frontier

Never-Ending Frontier

1854 Scene 2, Muscatine; Original

1854

Never-Ending Frontier, Scene 1, Galland’s School

(no title)

Frontiers of the 19th Century

Never-Ending Frontier 

Box 22

National Theatre Conference, Constitution and Bylaws, 1931

1932

Correspondence, 1932 -- 1939

National Theatre Committee, 1933

National Theatre Conference, 1933 -- 1935

1930 -- 1950

Reorganization Plans, 1936

First National Convention of the Legitimate Theatre, 1937

Miscellaneous, 1937 -- 1938

National Theatre Conference, 1946 -- 1947

1947 -- 1948

Annual meeting, 1947

1937 -- 1953

Controversial, 1948

Bulletin, 1948 -- 1949

1950 -- 1953

Box 22-A

Programs, National Association of Teachers of Speech, 1919 -- 1941 (incomplete)

Speech and Theatre Conference, 1950 -- 1955 (incomplete)

Speech Association of America, 1947, 1948

Central States Speech Association; 1949, 1953; Conference on Dramatic Art,     1932; National Theatre Conference brochure

Box 23

Plays for Small Libraries, n.d.

Publisher, 1930 -- 1950

Richard Smith, Three, one-act plays, Hispanic Play set in New Mexico, n.d.

Prentice-Hall, agreement blanks, 1936 -- 1938

Rockefeller Foundation Scholarships, 1934 -- 1939

Plays, ca. 1926

Points of View in the Theatre, n.d.

Mabie responses to play criticism, 1931 -- 1949

Music notes, 1944

Play, Milestones, photographs, 1921

Michigan Schoolmasters’ Club, 1931

Prentice-Hall, 1936 -- 1938

Prentice-Hall, 1937 -- 1945

Prentice-Hall, 1937

Membership Certificates, 1943

Harper and Brothers Publishers, 1938 -- 1951 

Box 24

Mementoes

Communication Studies Society, offers of membership, 1950

National Society for Study of Communication, 1950

Society for the Study of Communication, bylaws, 1950

Smith College, Work Program Analysis, May 1942

Department reorganization recommendation, December 1942

Correspondence, 1942

1942

Investigation, 1942, 1944

Stage lighting, n.d.

Summer Session Project, 1930 -- 1953

Publicity, 1941

Womens Club; Drama League, 1923 -- 1940

World War I, 1917 -- 1919 

Box 25

Script requests, 1930 -- 1933

Speeches, 1931 -- 1951

Last Los Angeles Speech, 1955 -- 1957

Speeches, 1939 -- 1951

Speech Association of America, 1948 -- 1950

Speeches, 1935 -- 1938

Steering Committee, 1942 -- 1944

Television and Radio, 1946 -- 1953

Early Writing, n.d.

Book drafts, 1954

Drafts, 1951

Book material, n.d.

Radio Program, 1930 -- 1934

First draft of Speech Training and Individual Needs, n.d. 

Box 26

Book Material, 1936 -- 1941

Book Material, n.d.

Book Material, 1921

Book Material, n.d.

Book Material

Class writing assignments, Mabie’s education, n.d.

Dramatic Production Text Book, n.d.

Principles of Dramatic Production, 1921

Stage Lighting, n.d.

Book Material

Book Material, n.d., two folders 

Box 27

Miscellaneous, 1952 -- 1954

Plays, and Tombstone Arizona news, 1936 -- 1941

Renting Props to Denver; Penitent Brotherhood and Marcus Bach, 1937 -- 1942

Director’s notes, The Devil’s Disciples

Play: Come Marching Home, 1945

The Man in the Icebox, n.d.

Tidings Brought to Mary, 1947

Lost Horizon, 1930 -- 1953

Fugitive Kind, 1937 

Box 28

Syllabus for "Principles of Speech", 1924 -- 1925

Booklet, The Communication Skills, 1945 -- 1946

Syllabus, n.d., two folders

Syllabus for Dramatic Production, 1930

Class textbook, n.d.

Theatre Rockefeller Grant, 1934 -- 1950

Rockefeller, 1937

Rockefeller Foundation, Correspondence and budget, 1936 -- 1937

Early Theatre Plans, 1919 -- 1920

Theatre Building, 1938

Uni-Theatre, Rockefeller, 1935

Theatre Building, Hub Electric Company, 2219 W. Grand, Chicago, 1931

Department of Dramatic Art work projects, 1949

Theatre additions, south wing, n.d. 

Box 29

Notes on class in stage direction (Speech 165), 1928 -- 1929

Play programs, playbills, tickets, recital programs, 1923 -- 1955, incomplete

Membership cards, licenses, 1918 -- 1955

Announcements: Summer Session, Fine Arts, 1924 -- 1941, incomplete

Programs: Fine Arts Festival, 1941 -- 1955, incomplete

Memoranda to stage crew; promotional sheet (FRAGILE), 1929, 1939

Speech Department Bulletins, 1941-1954, incomplete

Principles of Dramatic Production by Edward C. Mabie

Quarterly Journal of Speech Education, 1920, 1925

Thesis and dissertation schedules and notices, 1925 -- 1954, incomplete

Cards for plays written and produced under direction of Mabie, Cards for M.A. theses/dissertations written under Mabie

Hearthstone of Old Gold publication promoting new Iowa Memorial Union; draft and    final versions, 1929

Box 30

Massachusetts, clippings, n.d.

LaCrosse High School classes and notes, 1908 -- 1911

Illinois Wesleyan University, 1918, 1952

University of Kentucky, 1918 -- 1920

Mr. Martin Flavin, Carmel, California, 1935 -- 1937

Eulogy; Speech in Cleveland; Correspondence 

Box 31

Mabie’s College Course Work, 1912 -- 1913

1914

Mabie’s Personal Accounting, 1913 -- 1915

Dartmouth, Benezet correspondence, 1911 -- 1915; 1955

Dartmouth, 1911 -- 1917 and 1945, 1954

Dartmouth Debating, n.d.

Dartmouth College, New Hampshire, Mabie’s position as asst., state tax commission, 1914 -- 1955

Accounting in New Hampshire, State Tax Commission, Assistant, 1916 -- 1917 

Box 31-A

The Dartmouth, 1913 -- 1916

Mabie’s College Course Work, 1914

Dartmouth, n.d.

Mabie’s College Course Work, 1914

Mabie’s College Course Work, 1914

Mabie’s College Course Work, n.d.

Mabie’s College Course Work, 1914

Mabie’s College Course Work, n.d.

Mabie’s College Course Work, American History and Political Science, n.d.

Box 32

WPA notes, spiral pad, n.d.

Hallie Flanagan, Personal, 1935 -- 1945

Lee Norvelle, 1939

Resignation, 1935 -- 1936

A Plan for the Organization of Regional Theatres in the United States, n.d.

Correspondence, National Theatre Conference, December 1948

Federal Theatre, correspondence and stage arrangement, 1936 -- 1951

Handling expense vouchers, 1935 -- 1942

Conference notes, 1935

A Plan for the Organization of Regional Theatres in the United States, n.d.

Federal Theatre Plays, Titles, n.d.

A. Dale Riley, 1934 -- 1937

Proposal for Regional Theatre Project at Iowa, n.d., ca. 1934

Plan for the Organization of Regional Theatres in the United States, by E.C. Mabie,    n.d., ca. 1934

Box 33

Class notes, Political Science, n.d.

Political Science, n.d.

English, 1911 -- 1912

Biology II, 1913

History of County Government, n.d.

Economics, 1913

Plays of the Month featuring the New University Theatre, by Professor Edward C. Mabie, 1935

The University Theatre: Third Unit of the Iowa Memorial Union, 1928

Financing Public Education in the Decade Ahead, National Citizens Commission for     the Public Schools, 1954

Architectural Record, Community Theaters section, 1939

Dartmouth Alumni Magazine, November 1952

The Southwest Poultryman, April 1946

First National Convention of the Legitimate Theatre, American Theatre Council, Hotel Astor, New York, May 1937

University Theatre Fourteenth Annual Dinner, “Building a Theatre”, includes floor plans, lists of UI plays, 1921 -- 1935

Midland Schools magazine, Iowa State Education Association, 1954

Players Magazine, 1925, 1933, 1936 

Box 34

Le Petit Theatre du Vieux Carre, New Orleans, LA, 1940

Archives of Speech, vol.1, no.1, January 1934

Schools of American Research of the Archaeological Institute of America Annual report, 1936

Notes on 1944 Theatre Season in New York City by E.C. Mabie

Kentucky Mountain Fantasies by Percy Mackaye, 1928

Stage Direction, class presentation notes, 1928 -- 1929

Voice, class presentation notes, n.d., ca. late 1920s

Notes and comments on department, n.d., ca. 1938

Parnassus, December 1940, February 1941 

Box 34-A

Museum of New Mexico School of American Research, Permanent Gallery Catalogue, 1932

Dartmouth Alumni Magazine, January 1955, December 1955

University of Iowa Publication, The Baconian Lectures 1944, Research in speech and fine arts

Maxwell Anderson, The man and his plays by Barrett. H. Clark, 1933

The Mexican Schools and the Peasantry by Emilio Portes Gil, 1936

Ramona-California’s Greatest Outdoor Play Souvenir program, San Jacinto and Hemet, California, n.d., ca. 1930

Univ. of New Mexico Bulletin, Stage Edition of the “Mosterllaria” (Haunted House) of Titus Maccuis Plautus, 1935

Kentucky High School Quarterly, April 1919

Paul Green by Barrett H. Clark – 1928

The Palimpsest, July 1943, August 1946

Account Book, 1946

Papers of the School of American Research: A proposed Indian Theater in Santa Fe by Edgar L. Hewett, 1925

Papers of the American Research, The Fiesta book (Santa Fe, NM), 1926 

Box 35

Poultry Prizes and Ribbons, 1945 -- 1948

Fourteenth Community Flower Show directed by the Garden Department of the Iowa City Woman’s Club, 1936

Gardening Record book, includes chicken record, 1938 -- 1942

1933

1934 -- 1940

1935 -- 1936 

Box 36

Play book, Let us be Gay, Crothers, Rachel script, 1929

In the Shadows of a Rock, Conkle, E.P. script, 1937

Both Houses, Anderson, Maxwell script, 1933

Once in a Lifetime, Hart, Moss and George S. Kaufman script, 1930

Beggar on Horseback, Kaufman and Connelly script, 1924

The Chinese Lantern, Housman, Laurence script, 1916

Box 37

Play books, cont.

Loyalties, Galsworty, John, script, 1927

Berkeley Square, Balderson, John L., script, 1930

Milestones, Bennet, Arnold, script, 1912

The Torch-Bearers, Kelly, George, script, 1923

Valley Forge, Anderson, Maxwell, includes program and script, 1934

Within These Walls, Bach, Marcus, script, 1936

The Eve of St. Mark, Anderson, Maxwell, script, 1942 

Box 38

Play books, cont.

Ten Nights in a Bar-room”, script, n.d.

The Bluebird”, Maeterlinck, Maurice, script, 1937

Sparkin”, Conkle, E.P., script, 1928

The Owl and the Two Young Men,” “Loolie,” “The Juber-Bird,” “Th’ ‘Nitiated,” , 1928

Hiss! Boom!! Blah!!!”, Middleton, George, script, 1933

Hamlet, prince of Denmark”, Shakespeare, Crawford, Jack R. editor, script, 1917 

Box 39

Play books, cont.

Lost Horizon, Hilton, James, script, includes critical notes and photographs, 1942

The Faith Healer, Moody, William Vaughn, script, 1910

Art and Mrs. Bottle, Mrs. Moonlight, Levy, Benn W., scripts, 1931

Abe Lincoln in Illinois, Sherwood, Robert E., script, 1940

Saint Jean, Shaw, Bernard, script, 1924 

Box 40

Play books, cont.

Merry Wives of Windsor, Shakespeare, script, Rolfe, Williams J. editor, 1910

Henry IV Part I, Shakespeare, script, Moorman, Frederic W., 1917

Merchant of Venice, Shakespeare, script, Withers, H. L., editor, 1916

Merchant of Venice, Shakespeare, script, Thurber, S. editor, 1896

Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, Shakespeare, script, Crawford, Jack R., editor, 1917

The Call of a World Task, Part II, Murray, J. Lovell, script, Student Volunteer Movement, 1918

The Amazons, Pinero, Arthur W., script, 1895

Young Adventure, Savage, George, script, 1941 

Box 41

Finance Methods in New Hampshire Cities, Mabie, Edward, thesis, Dartmouth College, 1915

Never- Ending Frontier, Mabie, Edward C., script, 1954

Much Ado About Nothing, Shakespeare, play book, Prouty, Charles T., editor, Smith, J.C., editor, two scripts, 1948

Taming of the Shrew, Shakespeare, play book, Rolfe, Williams J. editor, script, 1909

School for Scandal, Sheridan, Richard Brinsley, play book, script, 1917 

Box 42

"Principles of Speech" syllabus, first semester, 1924 -- 1925

Articles by E.C. Mabie: "Speech Monographs", November 1952

"Research in Speech and the Fine Arts", 1944

"Speech Training and Individual Needs", n.d. ca. 1931

"The Responses of Theatre Audiences, Experimental Studies", 1952

"Behnd the Scenes with 17 Leading Play Directors", 1952

Quarterly Journal of Speech Education vol. XI no.1 (February 1925), includes Mabie article

Quarterly Journal of Speech Education vol. IX no. 4 (November 1923), includes Mabie article

Quarterly Journal of Speech vol. XIX no. 3, (June 1933), includes Mabie article

Quarterly Journal of Speech Education vol. XII no. 4, (November 1926), includes Gray and Baird articles

Speech Monographs, vol. VII, 1940

Speech Monographs, vol. XIX, no. 4, November 1952

Archives of Speech, vol. 1, no. 1, 1934

Archives of Speech, vol.1, no.2, 1936

Archives of Speech, vol.1, no.3, 1936

Archives of Speech, vol.1, no.4, 1936

Archives of Speech, supplement, 1936 

Box 43

Mementos 

Box 44 (oversize)

Map:  “Cities on Which American Theatre History Studies Have Been Made as of February 1954”

Diplomas, degrees of Edward C. Mabie

“Department of Speech and Dramatic Art-Chart Descriptive of Function, Progression, and

Relationship of Courses” n.d.

Folio script: Much Ado About Nothing, with director’s notes, n.d.

Two scrapbooks

Box 45 (oversize)

Ribbons and awards (poultry competitions)