Finding Aid
|
Papers of Michael Solursh Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to University Archives from the Biological Sciences Department in January 1998. Guide posted in July 2009. Photographs: All Boxes |
Dr. Michael Solursh |
Scope and Contents
These are the professional papers of Michael Solursh, Ph.D., while on faculty at the University of Iowa Department of Biology. Professor Solursh's published research papers are housed as numbered by him, 3 through 169, roughly in chronological order dated 1967 to 1994. These folders include manuscripts and supporting data, photographs, and correspondence.
Abstracts are filed chronologically following research papers. Additional correspondence is organized chronologically or alphabetically. Correspondents include Ahnders Franzen, Gillian M. Morriss, Ignacio V. Ponseti, Rebecca S. Reiter, and Karen L. Jensen, among others. These papers also include course lectures, reprints of scientific papers written by other researchers, and research grant files. Each line in the box list represents one folder, unless otherwise noted.
Biographical Note
Michael Solursh was born December 22, 1942 in Los Angeles, California. He married Victoria Raskin on March 22, 1964, and they had one daughter, Elizabeth.
Solursh received his B. A. degree in Zoology from the University of California at Los Angeles in 1964. He took his Ph.D. at the University of Washington in July 1969. In August 1969 Solursh joined the faculty of the University of Iowa Department of Zoology, where he taught courses in developmental biology. He was named a full professor in 1980. The UI Zoology Department merged with the Biology Department in 1986 and Solursh became a professor of biology at that time. He published a vast number of papers relating to cartilage formation of chicken embryo limb bud cells and was internationally known and consulted.
The National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development established the Developmental Studies Hybridoma Bank at Johns Hopkins University in 1986. A single subcontract was granted, which went to the University of Iowa and director Michael Solursh.
The DSHB produces a large variety of monoclonal antibodies for use in limb and developmental studies. In recognition of his accomplishments, Professor Solursh was named a Carver/Harold W. Beams Professor of the Biological Sciences at the University of Iowa in 1989.
Following the death of Michael Solursh on April 9, 1994, the bank was transferred to the lab of Dr. David R. Soll at the University of Iowa.
[D. Anderson; 07/2009]
Related Materials
Folder, "Solursh, Michael," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Solursh, Michael. "The Role of Transcriptional Events in Tissue-Specific Responses to Thyroxine in Induced Anuran Metamorphosis." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Washington, 1969.
Folder, "Soll, David R.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)
Box Contents List
Box 1
Research papers, 1967-1978.
“Heritability of Differentiation in vitro: Control of Expression at the Level of Synthesis of DNA-like-RNA in Cartilage and Pigmented Retina Cell Clones.” Robert D. Cahn, Martha B. Cahn, and Michael Solursh. 1967.
“A Tissue-Specific Transcriptional Event During Induced Anuran Metamorphosis.” Michael Solursh. 1968.
“The Role of Transcriptional Events in Tissue-Specific Responses to Thyroxine in Induced Anuran Metamorphosis.” Michael Solursh and Aubrey Gorbman. 1968.
“The Role of Transcriptional Events in Tissue-Specific Responses to Thyroxine in Induced Anuran Metamorphosis.” Michael Solursh. University of Washington Ph.D. dissertation. 1969. Receipts and dissertation committee analysis and acceptance.
“Inhibition of Growth and Differentiation of Chondrocytes in vitro by Actinomycin D.” Michael Solursh. 1970.
“The Requirement For Continuous RNA Synthesis in the Differentiation of Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh and Stephen Meier. New Orleans presentation with introduction by Harold W. Beams. 1971. Abstract.
3. Stimulation of Sulfate Incorporation by Growth Hormone Treatment of Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Stephen Meier and Michael Solursh. 1972.
4. “The Comparative Effects of Several Mammalian Growth Hormones on Sulfate Incorporation into Acid Mucopolysaccharides by Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Stephen Meier and Michael Solursh. 1972.
5. “Long-Term Cell Culture of Two Differentiated Cell Types from the Liver of Larval and Adult Xenopus laevis.” Michael Solursh and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1972.
6. “The Requirement for RNA Synthesis in the Differentiation of Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh and Stephen Meier. 1972.
Vitamin A (data). July-August 1972.
Larry W. Dosier review of Alfred Kühn’s Lectures on Developmental Physiology, published in 1971. Chapter notes and lecture notes. August 1972.
Cell density (data). 1972.
Density – collagen (data). October 1972.
Conditioned medium, late days (data). September 1972.
7. “A Conditioned Medium (CM) Factor Produced by Chondrocytes That Promotes Their Own Differentiation.” Michael Solursh and Stephen Meier. August 1972.
8. “Mediation of Growth Hormone-Enhanced Expression of the Cartilage Phenotype in vitro by the Availability of the Essential Amino Acid Valine.” Stephen Meier and Michael Solursh. July 1972.
Journal of Cell Biology abstract submission form. July 1973.
9. “The Selective Inhibition of Mucopolysaccharide Synthesis by Vitamin A Treatment of Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh and Stephen Meier. March 1973.
Density (data). February-May 1973.
Density (data). October 1972-February 1973.
Depleted medium (data). July 1973.
10. “Modulation of Extracellular Matrix Production by Conditioned Medium.” Michael Solursh, Stephen Meier, and Shirley Vaerewyck. November 1973.
“Culture Conditions Necessary to Observe the Effect of Hyaluronic Acid.” June 1973-April 1974.
11. “The Effects of Cell Density on the Expression of Differentiation by Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh and Stephen Meier. March 1974.
Enzyme treatment/CMP (data). April 1972-May 1974.
“The Enhancement of Chondrogenesis of Predetermined Limb Bud Cells by Cartilage Conditioned Medium.” Presented at Santa Catalina Island Colloquium. 1974.
"Acid Mucopolysaccharide Metabolism, the Cell Surface, and Primary Mesenchyme Cell Activity in the Sea Urchin Embryo." Gerald C. Karp and Michael Solursh. 1974.
13. “Depression by Hyaluronic Acid of Glycosaminoglycan Synthesis by Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh, Shirley A. Vaerewyck, and Rebecca S. Reiter. August 1974.
"The Enhancement of Chondrogenesis of Pre-determined Limb Bud Cells By Cartilage-conditioned Medium." M. Solursh. 1975.
15. “An Effect of Accumulated Matrix on Sulfation Among Cells in a Cartilage Colony: An Autoradiographic Study.” Michael Solursh and Gerald C. Karp. January 1975.
16. “The Enhancement of in vitro Survival and Chondrogenesis of Limb Bud Cells by Cartilage Conditioned Medium.” Michael Solursh and Rebecca S. Reiter. January 1975.
17. “Stimulation of Growth and Mucopolysaccharide Synthesis by Insulin Treatment of Chick Embryo Chondrocytes in Cell Culture.” Anthony S. Hajek and Michael Solursh. 1975.
18. “Determination of Limb Bud Chondrocytes During a Transient Block of the Cell Cycle.” Michael Solursh and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1975.
19. “The Synthesis of Cartilage Collagen by Rabbit and Human Chondrocytes in Primary Cell Culture.” Fred H. Schindler, Marsha A. Ose, and Michael Solursh. 1976.
Rat [sectioning?]. Data and photographs. 1976.
“Identification of Hyaluronic Acid in Primary Mesenchyme of Chick Embryos and Evidence Concerning its Developmental Significance.” Marilyn Fisher and Michael Solursh. Journal of Cell Biology abstract. 1976.
20. “Glycosaminoglycan Synthesis in the Chick Gastrula.” Michael Solursh. 1976.
“Glycosaminoglycan Synthesis in Rat Embryos During the Formation of the Primary Mesenchyme and Neural Folds.” Michael Solursh and Gillian M. Morriss. 1977.
Rat Glycosaminoglycan (GAGs). Data. 1977.
22. “The Effect of Ascorbic Acid on Growth and Synthesis of Matrix Components by Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Anthony S. Hajek and Michael Solursh. 1977.
23. “Stage-related Capacity for Limb Chondrogenesis in Cell Culture.” (photographs) Patricia Buckley Ahrens, et al. 1977.
24. “Glycosaminoglycan Localization and Role in Maintenance of Tissue Spaces in the Early Chick Embryo.” Marilyn Fisher and Michael Solursh. 1977.
“The Role of Primary Mesenchyme Cells and Extracellular Matrix in Cephalic Neural Fold Morphogenesis in Rat Embryos.” Gillian M. Morriss and Michael Solursh. 1977. “Hyaluronic Acid and Neural Fold Formation in Rat Embryos.” Gillian M. Morriss and Michael Solursh. 1977.
25. “The Synthesis and Localization of Glycosaminoglycans in Striated Muscle Differentiating in Cell Culture.” Patricia Buckley Ahrens, Michael Solursh, and Stephen Meier. 1977.
Research photographs and correspondence between Gillian M. Morriss and Michael Solursh. 1978.
26. “A Tissue Culture Analysis of the Steps in Limb Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh, Patricia Buckley Ahrens, and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1978. Opening Symposium for the Tissue Culture Association meeting.
27. “Regional Differences in Mesenchymal Cell Morphology and Glycosaminoglycans in Early Neural Fold Stage Rat Embryos.” G. M. Morriss and M. Solursh. 1978.
28. “Ultrastructural Analysis of the Effect of Ascorbic Acid on Secretion and Assembly of Extracellular Matrix by Cultured Chick Embryo Chondrocytes.” Stephen Meier and Michael Solursh. 1978. Two folders.
29. “A Scanning Electron Microscope Study of Cell Shape and Cell Appendages in the Primitive Streak Region of the Rat and Chick Embryo.” Michael Solursh and Jean Paul Revel. 1978.
30. “Ultrastructure of Primary Mesenchyme in Chick and Rat Embryos.” J. P. Revel and M. Solursh. 1978.
31. “The Role of Primary Mesenchyme in Normal and Abnormal Morphogenesis of Mammalian Neural Folds.” Gillian M. Morriss and Michael Solursh. 1978.
Box 2
Research papers, 1979-1984.
32. “The Influence of Local Environment on the Organization of Mesenchyme Cells.” Marilyn Fisher and Michael Solursh. 1979.
33. “Biosynthesis of Proteoglycans and Their Assembly into Aggregates in Cultures of Chondrocytes from the Swarm Rat Chondrosarcoma.” James H. Kimura, Timothy E. Hardingham, Vincent C. Hascall, and Michael Solursh. 1979.
34. “Position-Related Capacity for Differentiation of Limb Mesenchyme in Cell Culture.” Patricia Buckley Ahrens, Michael Solursh, Rebecca S. Reiter, and Carl T. Singley. 1979.
35. “The Influence of the Substratum on Mesenchyme Spreading in vitro.” Marilyn Fisher and Michael Solursh. 1979.
36. “The Synthesis of Hyaluronic Acid by Ectoderm During Early Organogenesis in the Chick Embryo.” Michael Solursh, Marilyn Fisher, and Carl T. Singley. 1979.
37. “The Role of Extracellular Matrix in the Formation of the Sclerotome.” Michael Solursh, Marilyn Fisher, Stephen Meier, and Carl T. Singley. 1979.
39. “Increase in Levels of Cyclic AMP During Avian Limb Chondrogenesis in vitro.” Michael Solursh, Rebecca Reiter, Patricia Buckley Ahrens, and Robert M. Pratt. 1979.
"Ultrastructure of Blastocoel Material in Blastulae and Gastrulae of the Sea Urchin Lytechinus pictus." Hideki Katow and Michael Solursh. 1979.
"Ultrastructure of Primary Mesenchyme Cell Ingression in the Sea Urchin Lytechinus pictus." Hideki Katow and Michael Solursh. 1980.
“Ultrastructural localization of hyaluronic acid in mesenchymal intercellular matrix of the developing chick wing.” Carl T. Singley and Michael Solursh. 1980. Presentation at a meeting introduced by Stephen P. Meier.
Solursh review in 1980 of Ontogeny of Receptors and Reproductive Hormone, published in 1979.
40. “The Use of Tannic Acid for the Ultrastructural Visualization of Hyaluronic Acid.” C. T. Singley and M. Solursh. 1980.
41. “Separate Effects of Exogenous Hyaluronic Acid on Proteoglycan Synthesis and Deposition in Pericellular Matrix by Cultured Chick Embryo Limb Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh, Timothy E. Hardingham, Vincent C. Hascall, and James H. Kimura. 1980.
42. “Evidence for Histogenic Interactions During in vitro Limb Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1980.
44. “Histogenic Mechanisms in in vitro Limb Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh. 1980.
45. “Chondrogenic Expression.” Solursh, et al. 1981.
45. “Stage- and Position-Related Changes in Chondrogenic Response of Chick Embryonic Wing Mesenchyme to Treatment with Dibutyryl Cyclic AMP.” Michael Solursh, Rebecca S. Reiter, Patricia Buckley Ahrens, and Barbara M. Vertel. 1981.
46. “The Spatial Distribution of Hyaluronic Acid and mesenchymal Condensation in the Embryonic Chick Wing.” Carl T. Singley and Michael Solursh. 1981.
"The Influence of Epithelia on Cartilage and Loose Connective Tissue Formation By Limb Mesenchyme Cultures." Michael Solursh, Carl T. Singley, and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1981.
"Ultrastructural and Time-lapse Studies of Primary Mesenchyme Cell Behavior in Normal and Sulfate-deprived Sea Urchin Embryos." Hideki Katow and Michael Solursh. 1981.
Solursh review in 1981 of Control Mechanisms in Animal Cells, published in 1980.
49. “In vitro Histogenic Capacities of Limb Mesenchyme from Various Stage Mouse Embryos.” Elizabeth M. Owens and Michael Solursh. 1981.
51. “Cell-Cell Interaction by Mouse Limb Cells During in vitro Chondrogenesis: Analysis of the Brachypod Mutation.” Elizabeth M. Owens and Michael Solursh. 1982.
52. “Mitogenic Property of the Apical Ectodermal Ridge.” Rebecca S. Reiter and Michael Solursh. 1982.
"In Situ Distribution of Concanavalin A-binding Sites in Mesenchyme Blastulae and Early Gastrulae of the Sea Urchin Lytechinus pictus." Hideki Katow and Michael Solursh. 1982.
"Occurrence of Fibronectin on the Primary Mesenchyme Cell Surface During Migration in the Sea Urchin Embryo." Hideki Katow, Kenneth M. Yamada, and Michael Solursh. 1982.
"Chondrogenesis from Single Limb Mesenchyme Cells." Michael Solursh, Thomas F. Linsenmayer, and Karen L. Jensen. 1982.
"Initial Characterization of Sulfated Macromolecules in the Blastocoels of Mesenchyme Blastulae of Strongylocentrotus purpuratus and Lytechinus pictus. Michael Solursh and Hideki Katow. 1982.
"Two Distinct Regulatory Steps in Cartilage Differentiation." Michael Solursh, Karen L. Jensen, Carl T. Singley, Thomas F. Linsenmayer, and Rebecca S. Reitter. 1982.
57. “Cell Interactions During in vitro Limb Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh. 1983.
58. “Cell-Cell Interactions and Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh. 1983.
“Epithelia as Determinants of Skeletal Pattern.” Michael Solursh. 1983.
59. “Two Distinct Classes of Prechondrogenic Cell Types in the Embryonic Limb Bud.” B. J. Swalla, E. M. Owens, T. F. Linsenmayer, and M. Solursh. 1983.
“Properties of the Mammalian Apical Ectodermal Ridge in vitro.” Rebecca S. Reiter and Michael Solursh. 1983.
60. “Accelerated Maturation of Limb Mesenchyme by the Brachypod Mouse Mutation.” Elizabeth M. Owens and Michael Solursh. 1983.
61. “The Migratory Capacity of Myogenic Cells in vitro.” Michael Solursh. 1984.
62. “Epithelial Enhancement of Connective Tissue Differentiation in Explanted Somites.” Billie J. Swalla and Michael Solursh. 1984.
63. “Inhibition of Limb Chondrogenesis by Fibronectin.” Billie J. Swalla and Michael Solursh. 1984.
64. “Cell and Matrix Interactions During Limb Chondrogenesis in vitro.” Michael Solursh. 1984.
65. “Chemotactic Behavior of Myoblasts.” Krishnamoorthy Venkatasubramanian and Michael Solursh. 1984.
66. “Induction of Chondrogenesis in Limb Mesenchymal Cultures by Disruption of the Actin Cytoskeleton.” Nina C. Zanetti and Michael Solursh. 1984.
Box 3
Research papers, 1983-1988.
67. “Cell-matrix Interactions During Limb Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh. 1984. Delivered at a symposium at Aberystwyth University in Wales in fall 1983.
"Adhesive and Migratory Behavior of Normal and Sulfate-deficient Sea Urchin Cells in vitro." Krishnamoorthy Venkatasubramanian and Michael Solursh. 1984.
69. “Extracellular Matrix Mediates Epithelial Effects on Chondrogenesis in vitro.” Michael Solursh, Karen L. Jensen, Nina C. Zanetti, Thomas F. Linsenmayer, and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1984.
70. “Ectoderm as a Determinant of Early Tissue Pattern in the Limb Bud.” Michael Solursh. 1984.
"Epithelial Enhancement of Connective Tissue Differentiation in Explanted Somites." Billie J. Swalla and Michael Solursh. 1984.
72. “Dynamic Activity of the Filopodia of Sea Urchin Embryonic Cells and Their Role in Directed Migration of the Primary Mesenchyme in vitro.” Gerald C. Karp and Michael Solursh. 1985.
“Non-instructional But Enhanced Differentiation of Limb Bud Cultures by Cyclic AMP Agonists.” Michael Solursh and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1985.
“Hyaluronate in Early Development.” M. Solursh. Presented at a Symposium held in St. Tropez, France, “Biological Activity and Metabolism of Hyaluronan,” on October 3, 1985.
“Desmin as a Marker for Premyogenic Cells.” Karen L. Jensen, Donald A. Fischman, and Michael Solursh. Research 1985-1986.
74. “Epithelial Effects on Limb Chondrogenesis Involve Extracellular Matrix and Cell Shape.” Nina C. Zanetti and Michael Solursh. 1985.
"In vitro Fusion and Separation of Sea Urchin Primary Mesenchyme Cells." Gerald C. Karp and Michael Solursh. 1985.
76. “The Independence of Myogenesis and Chondrogenesis in Micromass Cultures of Chick Wing Buds.” Billie J. Swalla and Michael Solursh. 1986.
77. “Patterning of Myogenic Cells in the Early Chick Limb Bud.” Michael Solursh, Karen L. Jensen and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1986.
78. “Environmental Regulation of Limb Bud Chondrogenesis.” Michael Solursh. Presented at the Hoechst Conference, “International Workshop on Articular Cartilage Biochemistry,” in Wiesbaden, Germany, on October 1, 1985.
80. “The Detection of a Precartilage Blastema Specific Glycoprotein.” Amy Lynn Aulthouse, Scott Chouinard, and Michael Solursh. 1986.
"The Detection of a Precartilage, Blastema-specific Marker." Amy Lynn Aulthouse and Michael Solursh. 1987.81. “Environmental Regulation of Type X Collagen Production by Cultures of Limb Mesenchyme, Mesectoderm, and Sternal Chondrocytes.” Michael Solursh, Karen L. Jensen, Rebecca S. Reiter, Thomas M. Schmid, and Thomas F. Linsenmayer. April 1986.
82. “The Effects of Streptomyces Hyaluronidase on Tissue Organization and Cell Cycle time in Rat Embryos.” Gillian M. Morriss-Kay, Fiona Tuckett, and Michael Solursh. June 1986.
83. “The Distribution of Somite-derived Myogenic Cells During early Development of the Wing Bud.” Michael Solursh and Stephen Meier. Delivered at a NATO Advanced Research Workshop on Somite Segmentation in Glasgow, Scotland. April 1986.
“Environmental Regulation of Chondrogenesis.” Delivered at UCLA Symposium, “Development and Diseases of Cartilage and Bone Matrix,” at Lake Tahoe, California, on March 19, 1986. Also delivered at Gordon Research Conference on Proteoglycans, at Lake Tahoe, California, on July 11, 1986.
“Intracellular Motility During Primary Mesenchymal Invasion.” Delivered at Developmental Biology of Sea Urchins meeting in Pacific Grove, California, on January 26, 1987. Conference information and Solursh’s notes.
"Expression of Chondrogenic Functions By Cultured Cells." Michael Solursh. 1987.
84. “The Migration of Myogenic Cells from the Somites at the Wing Level.” Michael Solursh, Christopher Drake, and Stephen Meier. 1987.
85. “Studies on Normal and Abnormal Differentiation of the Chick Limb Mesenchyme.” Michael Solursh. Delivered at Bradbury Center Conference about “Mechanistic Approaches to Developmental Toxicology,” held at Cold Spring Harbor, New York, on October 21, 1986. Group photograph of participants.
"Use of Tissue Culture in the Analysis of Limb Chondrogenesis." Michael Solursh. 1987.
86. “Dependence of Sea Urchin Primary Mesenchyme Cell Migration on Xyloside- and Sulfate-Sensitive Cell Surface-Associated Components.”Mary Constance Lane and Michael Solursh. 1988.
87. “Analysis of Type II Collagen RNA Localization in Chick Wing Buds by in Situ Hybridization.” Billie J. Swalla, William B. Upholt, and Michael Solursh. 1987.
88. “Microtiter Micromass Cultures of Limb-Bud Mesenchymal Cells.” Douglas F. Paulsen and Michael Solursh. 1988.
Research photographs. September 1986.
Box 4
Research papers, 1987-1990.
89. “Evidence for Sequential Appearance of Cartilage Matrix Proteins in Developing Mouse Limbs and in Cultures of Mouse Mesenchymal Cells.” Ahnders Franzen, Dick Heinegard, and Michael Solursh. 1987. Five folders.
90. “The Accumulation of Basement Membrane Components During the Onset of Chondrogenesis and Myogenesis in the Chick Wing Bud.” Michael Solursh and Karen L. Jensen. 1988.
91. “A New Extracellular Matrix Molecule in the Chordamesoderm and Soft Connective Tissue of the Chick Embryo.” Nathan Fountain and Michael Solursh. 1986-1989.
92. "Extracellular Matrix Triggers a Directed Cell Migratory Response in Sea Urchin Primary Mesenchyme Cells." Michael Solursh and Mary Constance Lane. 1988.
93. "Inhibitory and Stimulatory Effects of Limb Ectoderm on in vitro Chondrogenesis." Michael Solursh and Rebecca S. Reiter. 1988.
95. “Chondrogenesis: in vitro Approaches.” Michael Solursh. 1988.
96. “Comparison Between Ectoderm-Conditioned Medium and Fibronectin in Their Effects on Chondrogenesis by Limb Bud Mesenchymal Cells.” Nina C. Zanetti, Virginia M. Dress, and Michael Solursh. 1990. Three folders.
97. “Differences in Integrin Expression by Proximal and Distal Chick Wing Bud Cell Subpopulations.” Billie J. Swalla, Steven Jungles, and Michael Solursh. 1990.
Photographs pertaining to Billie J. Swalla. 1984-1987.
98. “Selective Stimulation of in vitro Limb-Bud Chondrogenesis by Retinoic Acid.” Douglas F. Paulsen, Robert M. Langille, Virginia Dress, and Michael Solursh. 1988.
99. “Extracellular Matrix and Cell Surface as Determinants of Connective Tissue Differentiation.” Michael Solursh. Presented at the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation Clinical Genetics Conference at Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland on July 11, 1988.
“Extracellular Matrix and Cell Surface as Determinants of Connective Tissue Differentiation.” Michael Solursh. 1989.
"Effect of Cell Shape on Cartilage Differentiation." Nina C. Zanetti and Michael Solursh. 1989.
100. “Differential Effects of Physiological Concentrations of Retinoic Acid in vitro on Chondrogenesis and Myogenesis in Chick Craniofacial Mesenchyme.” Robert M. Langille, Douglas F. Paulsen, and Michael Solursh. 1989.
101. “The Distribution of Mesenchyme Proteoglycan (PG-M) During Wing Bud Outgrowth.” Tamayuki Shinomura, Karen L. Jensen, Masahito Yamagata, Koji Kimata, and Michael Solursh. 1990.
102. “Possible Recruitment of Osteoblastic Precursor Cells from Hypertrophic Chondrocytes During Initial osteogenesis in Cartilaginous Limbs of Young Rats.” Ahnders Franzen, Ake Oldberg and Micheal Solursh. 1989.
103. Research folder relating to Dr. Robert A. Kosher of the University of Connecticut. 1987-1988.
105. “The Formation of Premuscle Masses During Chick Wing Bud Development.” Charlene Schramm and Michael Solursh. 1990.
Box 5
Research papers, 1988-1992.
106. “Transient Expression of a Cell Surface Heparan Sulfate Proteoglycan (Syndecan) During Limb Development.” Michael Solursh, Rebecca S. Reiter, Karen L. Jensen, Masato Kato, and Merton Bernfield. 1990.
"Progression of Skeletal Tissue Differentiation of Embryonic Rat Facial Mesenchyme in Micromass Culture. Robert M. Langille and Michael Solursh. Presented at "Fundamentals of Bone Growth: Methodology and Applications" Third International Conference, held at the University of California, Los Angeles, California. January 1990.
107. “Cartilage Stem Cells: Regulation of Differentiation.” Delivered at the Third International Conference on the Chemistry and Biology of Mineralized Tissues, held in Chatham, Massachusetts on October 17, 1988.
"Widespread Distribution of Type II Collagen During Embryonic Chick Development." Robert A. Kosher and Michael Solursh. 1989.
Photographs. August 1989.
Photographs and correspondence from Dr. Merton Bernfield. 1988-1990.
108. “Degradation of Hyaluronic Acid Does Not Prevent Looping of the Mammalian Heart in situ.” H. Scott Baldwin and Michael Solursh. 1989.
Correspondence with Dr. Ahnders Franzen of the University of Lund. 1988-1989.
Photographs. Four folders.
“Possible Recruitment of Osteoblastic Precursor Cells from hypertrophic Chondrocytes During Initial Osteogenesis in Cartilaginous Limbs of Young Rats.” Ahnders Franzen, Ake Oldberg, and Michael Solursh. 1988.
Photographs. n.d.
Photographs. July 19, 1988.
Photographs. “Left overs from shortened paper with 2 figures.” n.d.
Photographs regarding research with Dr. Ahnders Franzen. 1987-1988.
Ahnders correct revisions. n.d.
Fig. 2. n.d.
Photographs and correspondence with Dr. Ahnders Franzen. 1987-1988.
Proteins from Ahnders Franzen, 16 May 1988.
American Association of Anatomists. Abstracts. 1989.
109. “Hyaluronate Degradation Affects Ventricular Function of the Early Postlooped Embryonic Rat Heart in situ.” H. Scott Baldwin, Thomas R. Lloyd, and Michael Solursh. Submitted April 15, 1992.
110. “Differentiation of Cartilage and Bone.” M. Solursh. 1989.
111. “The Role of Extracellular Matrix Molecules in Early Limb Development.” Michael Solursh. 1990.
112. “Structure and Developmental Expression of a Sea Urchin Fibrillar Collagen Gene.” Marina D’ Alessio, Francesco Ramirez, Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Michael Solursh, and Roberto Gambino. 1989.
Lane research. 1989-1990.
114. “Primary Mesenchyme Cell Migration Requires a Chondroitin Sulfate/Dermatan Sulfate Proteoglycan.” M. Lane and M. Solursh. 1991.
115. “Cloning of a Fibrillar Collagen Gene Expressed in the Mesenchymal Cells of Developing Sea Urchin Embryo.” Marina D’ Alessio, Francesco Ramirez, Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Michael Solursh, and Roberto Gambino. 1990.
116. “Precocious Appearance of Cardiac Troponin T Pre-mRNAs During Early Avian Embryonic Skeletal Muscle Development in ovo.” Ruth E. Swiderski and Michael Solursh. 1990.
117. “Formation of Chondrous and Osseous Tissues in Micromass Cultures of Rat Frontonasal and Mandibular Ectomesenchyme.” Robert M. Langille and Michael Solursh. 1990.
118. “The Determination of Myogenic and Cartilage Cells in the Early Chick Embryo and the Modifying Effect of Retinoic Acid.” YiPing Chen and Michael Solursh. 1991.
119. “Progression of Skeletal Tissue Differentiation of Embryonic Rat Facial mesenchyme in Micromass Culture.” Robert M. Langille and Michael Solursh. 1991.
120. “Bone Acidic Glycoprotein-75 Is a Major Synthetic Product of Osteoblastic Cells and Localized as 75- and/or 50-kDa Forms in Mineralized Phases of Bone and Growth Plate and in Serum.” Jeffrey P. Gorski, David Griffin, Geri Dudley, Clark Stanford, Ronny Thomas, Conway Huang, Eugene Lai, Bradley Karr, and Michael Solursh. 1990.
Box 6
Research papers, 1990-1993.
“Comparison of Hensen’s Node and Retinoic Acid in Secondary Axis Induction in the Early Chick Embryo.” YiPing Chen and Michael Solursh. 1993.
122. “Structure and Expression of Echinoid Fibrillar Collagens.” Marina D’ Alessio, Francesco Ramirez, Hiroaki Suzuki, Michael Solursh, and Roberto Gambino. 1990.
123. “Myogenic Cytodifferentiation of the Precardiac Mesoderm in the Rat.” H. Scott Baldwin, Karen L. Jensen, Michael Solursh. 1991. Two folders.
124. “Progressively Restricted Expression of a New Homeobox-containing Gene During Xenopus laevis Embryogenesis.” Ming-Wan Su, Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Michael Solursh, and Francesco Ramirez. 1991.
125. “Immunohistochemical Localization of TGF- B1 During Morphogenetic Movements of the Developing Mouse Palate.” James M. Williams, Robert A. Robinson, and Michael Solursh. 1991.
126. “Formation of Cartilage Tissue in vitro.” Michael Solursh. 1991.
127. “Cellular Mechanisms of Pattern Formation in the Developing Limb.” P. K. Maini and M. Solursh. 1991.
128. “Extracellular Matrix in Early Limb Development.” Michael Solursh. 1991.
129. “Cell-Extracellular Matrix Interactions During Primary Mesenchyme Formation.” Michael Solursh. Delivered at Colloquium III, held at the University of California, Davis, on September 6, 1990. Published as “Cell-Extracellular Matrix Interactions During Primary Mesenchyme Formation in the Sea Urchin Embryo.” Michael Solursh and Mary Constance Lance. 1991.
130. “Nucleotide Sequence of an Isoform of Chicken Retinoic Acid Binding Protein-β Varying in it’s a Domain.” Babu J. Padanilam, Lillian B. McLeod, Hiroaki Suzuki, and Michael Solursh. 1991.
131. “Proteoglycans During Early Limb Development.” Michael Solursh. 1991.
132. “Expression of Two Nonallelic Type II Procollagen Genes During Xenopus laevis Embryogenesis Is Characterized by Stage-specific Production of Alternatively Spliced Transcripts.” Ming-Wan Su, Hiroaki R. Suzuki, James J. Bieker, Michael Solursh, and Francesco Ramirez. 1991.
Research photographs. “Charlene.” n.d.
133. “Myogenic Potential of Chick Limb Bud Mesenchyme in Micromass Culture.” C. W. Archer, R. M. Langille, M. A. F. Teran, and M. Solursh. 1992.
134. “Modulation of Chondrogenesis By the Cytoskeleton and Extracellular Matrix.” Karla Daniels and Michael Solursh. 1991.
135. “Cellular Contribution of the Different Regions of the Somatopleure to the Developing Limb.” Jane S. Geduspan and Michael Solursh. 1992.
136. “Localization of HstI Transcripts to the Apical Ectodermal Ridge in the Mouse Embryo.” Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Hiromi Sakamoto, Teruhiko Yoshida, Takashi Sugimura, Masaaki Terada, and Michael Solursh. 1992.
Manuscripts edited by Solursh. 1992.
137. “Repeating Developmental Expression of G-Hox 7, a Novel Homeobox-containgin Gene in the Chicken.” Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Babu J. Padanilam, Emilla Vitale, Francesco Ramirez, and Michael Solursh. 1991.
138. “Differential Co-expression of Long and Short Form Type IX Collagen Transcripts During Avian Limb Chondrogenesis in ovo.” Ruth E. Swiderski and Michael Solursh. 1992.
139. “A Growth-promoting Influence from the Mesonephros During Limb Outgrowth.” Jane S. Geduspan and Michael Solursh. 1992.
140. “Retinoic Acid is Enriched in Hensen’s Node and is Developmentally Regulated in the Early Chicken Embryo.” YiPing Chen, Li Huang, Andrew F. Russo, and Michael Solursh. 1992.
141. “Sea Urchin Collagen Evolutionarily Homologous to Vertebrate Pro-∝2(I) Collagen.” Jean-Yves Exposito, Marina D’ Alessio, Michael Solursh, and Francesco Ramirez. 1992.
142. “Expression of vertebrate Homologs of the Drosophila msh Gene during Early Craniofacial Development.” Francesco Ramirez and Michael Solursh. 1993.
Box 7
Research papers, 1992-1994.
143. “Comparative Analysis of Fibrillar and Basement Membrane Collagen Expression in Embryos in the Sea Urchin, Strongylocentrotus purpuratus.” Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Marina D’ Alessio, Jean-Yves Exposito, Maurizio Di Liberto, Roberto Gambino, Francesco Ramirez, and Michael Solursh. 1994. Two folders.
144. “Characterization of the Human HOX 7 cDNA and Identification of Polymorphic Markers.” B. J. Padanilam, H. S. Stadler, K. A. Mills, L. B. McLeod, M. Solursh, B. Lee, F. Ramirez, K. H. Buetow and J. C. Murray. 1992.
145. “Identification and genetic Mapping of a Homeobox Gene to the 4p16.1 Region of Human Chromosome 4.” H. S. Stadler, B. J. Padanilam, K. Buetow, J. C. Murray, and M. Solursh. 1992.
146. “Effects of the Mesonephros and Insulin-like Growth Factor I on Chondrogenesis of Limb Explants.” Jane S. Geduspan and Michael Solursh. 1993.
147. “Coordinate Expression of IGF-I and Its Receptor During Limb Outgrowth.” J. S. Geduspan, B. J. Padanilam, and Michael Solursh. 1992.
148. “Localization of Type II Collagen, Long Form ∝1(IX) Collagen, and Short Form ∝1(IX) Collagen Transcripts in the Developing Chick Notochord and Axial Skeleton.” Ruth E. Swiderski and Michael Solursh. 1992.
149. “A Concentration Gradient of Retinoids in the Early Xenopus laevis Embryo.” YiPing Chen, Li Huang, and Michael Solursh. 1994.
150. “Mesonephros Derived IGF I in Early Limb Development.” Jane S. Geduspan, Babu J. Padanilam, and Michael Solursh. A chapter for Limb Development and Regeneration, pages 673-681. 1993.
151. Proximodistal Differrences in Retinoic Acid Effects on Chick Wing-bud Mesenchyme in Serum-free Culture.” Douglas F. Paulsen, Lei Pang, Wei-Dang Chen, Michael Solursh and Robert Langille. A chapter for Limb Development and Regeneration, pages 793-802. 1993.
152. “Activity of Protein Kinase C During the Differentiation of Chick Limb Bud Mesenchymal Cells.” Jong Hyung Sonn and Michael Solursh. 1993.
153. “Localization of Pro-∝2(V) Collagen Transcripts in the Tissues of the Developing Mouse Embryo.” Konstantinos Andrikopoulos, Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Michael Solursh, and Francesco Ramirez. 1992.
154. “Stable, Position-related Responses to Retinoic Acid by Chick Limb-bud Mesenchymal Cells in Serum-free Cultures.” Douglas F. Paulsen, Michael Solursh, Robert M. Langille, Lei Pang, and Wei-Dang Chen. March 1994.
155. “Cell Surface Chondroitin Sulfate Proteoglycan is Necessary for Neural Crest Migration in Type I Collagen Gels.” Karla Daniels and Michael Solursh. Color photographs. 1993.
156. “Characterization of the Human MSX-1 Promoter and an Enhancer Responsible for Retinoic Acid Induction.” Ruoqian Shen, YiPing Chen, Ki Huang, Emilia Vitale, and Michael Solursh. April 27, 1994.
157. “Relationship Between Fibronectin Expression During Gastrulation and Heart Formation in the Rat Embryo.” Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Michael Solursh, and H. Scott Baldwin. May 1994.
158. “Cartilage Homeoprotein 1, a Homeoprotein Selectively Expressed in Chondrocytes.” Guan-Quan Zhao, Xin Zhou, Heidi Eberspaecher, Michael Solursh, and Benoit de Crombrugghe. September 1993.
159. “Characterization of the Homeobox-containing Gene GH6 Identifies Novel Regions of Homeobox Gene Expression in the Developing Chick Embryo.” H. Scott Stadler and Michael Solursh. 1994.
160. “Role for Short-range Interactions in the Formation of Cartilage and Muscle Masses in Transfilter Micromass Cultures.” Charlene A. Schramm, Rebecca S. Reiter, and Michael Solursh. Correspondence dated 1992 includes personal note.1994.
161. “rDlx, a Novel Distal-less-like Homeoprotein Expressed in Cartilages and a Number of Neuronally-derived Cell Types.” Guang-Quan Zhao, Shourong Zhao, Xin Zhou, Heidi Eberspaecher, Michael Solursh, and Benoit de Crombrugghe. n.d.
162. “Type II Collagen Is Transiently Expressed During Avian Cardiac Valve Morphogenesis.” Ruth E. Swiderski, Karla J. Daniels, Karen L. Jensen, and Michael Solursh. May 1994.
163. “Bone Cell Expression on Titanium Surfaces is Altered by Sterilization Treatments.” C. M. Stanford, J. C. Keller, and M. Solursh. 1993.
164. “Identification of a Cell Lineage-specific Gene Coding for a Sea Urchin ∝2(IV)-like Collagen Chain.” Jean-Yves Exposito, Hiroaki Suzuki, Christope Geourjon, Robert Garrone, Michael Solursh, and Francesco Ramirez. 1994.
165. “Elastic Extracellular Matrix of the Embryonic Chick Heart: An Immunohistological Study Using Laser Confocal Microscopy.” Juan M. Hurle, gregory T. Kitten, Lynn Y. Sakai, Dino Volpin, and Michael Solursh. 1994.
168. “Craniofacial Morphogenesis Workshop Report.” Michael Solursh and Jeffrey Murray. 1994.
169. “Myoblast and Chondroblast Stimulating Properties of Peripheral Nerve Extracts in vitro.” Frederick R. Dietz, Biswarup Mukhopadhyay, Gail Becker, and Michael Solursh. First draft. 1994.
"Comparative Analysis of Fibrillar and Basement Membrane Collagen Expression in Embryos of the Sea Urchin, Strongylocentrotus purpuratus." Hiroaki R. Suzuki, Rebecca S. Reiter, Marina D'Alessio, Maurizio Di Liberto, Francesco Ramirez, Jean-Yves Exposito, Roberto Gambino, and Michael Solursh. 1997.
Abstracts.
1967-1977.
1984-1994.
Box 8
Course material. 1971-1991.
Course outline for “Introduction to Developmental Biology.” (37:104) Fall 1991.
Lab course in Developmental Biology. n.d., 229 pages.
Lecture notes for “Introduction to Developmental Biology.” (37:104) 1973-1985.
Lecture notes for “Developmental Biology Laboratory” (37:106), 1978/80; “Molecular and Experimental Embryology Laboratory” (37:204), 1971; “Cell and Molecular Development” (37:207), 1978/80.
Lecture notes for “Molecular Development Laboratory.” (37: 106), Spring 1982.
“Guide for Use of Departmental Rotors and Ultracentrifuges.” 1983.
Papers by other researchers.
1969-1992.
1992.
Miscellaneous.
Research photographs. 1991.
Research photographs. 1993.
Research photographs. Guang Zhao. May-June 1993.
Correspondence with Dr. Benoit de Crombrugghe. 1992-1993.
Correspondence with Dr. Gerard Karsenty. 1993-March 1994.
Research subject files, eight linear inches.
Box 9
Grant documents. 1974-1992.
Box 10
----. 1972-1981.
Box 11
----. 1973-1990.
Box 12
----. 1986-1992.
Box 13
----. 1990-1993.
Box 14
Correspondence.
1969-1974.
1975-1977.
1978-1979.
1979-1980.
1980.
1981.
1981-1985.
1982.
1983.
1984. Two folders.
1985. Two folders.
1986.
1987.
Box 15
Correspondence, cont.
Doege, Kurt. 1988.
Engelmann, Gary L. 1992.
Fischman, Donald A. 1991-1992.
Foster, Judith A. 1989-1993.
Fuller, Gerald. n.d.
Genetics Institute in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 1993.
Gorski, Jeffrey P.
1988.
1993.
1993-1994.
Grant, Michael E. 1988-1990.
Green. 1988-1990.
Gruber, Helen E. 1993-1994.
Hendrix, Mary J. C. 1990.
Hoffman. 1990.
Hogan, Brigid. 1989-1990.
Hurle, Juan M. 1990-1994.
Hynes, Richard O. 1988-1992.
Katow, Hideki. 1992.
Kitten, Gregory T. 1993.
Kimura, James H. 1993.
Langille, Rob. 1991-1993.
Little, Charlie. 1991-1993.
Mayne, Richard. 1991-1993.
Ordahl, Charles P. 1980-1990.
Russo, Andrew F. 1990.
Salazar-Olivo, Luis Antonio.
1993.
1993-1994.
Correspondence with former collaborators.
Boettiger, David. 1983-1988.
Chauhan, Suresh Pratap Singh. 1990-1991.
Dillon, Robert H. 1993.
Dixit, Vishva. 1985-1986.
Franzen, Ahnders. 1990-1991.
Gajović, Srećko. 1993.
Genetics Institute. 1984-1985.
Hadley, Nancy A. 1989.
Hayashi, Kensuke. 1990.
Heinegård, Dick. 1983-1986.
Itay, Samuel. 1988-1989.
Jakowlew, Sonia. 1989.
Johnson-Wint, Barbara. 1987.
Karp, Gerald C. 1973-1976.
Katow, Hideki. 1979-1989.
Lauder, Jean M. 1989.
Lim. 1988.
Linhardt, Robert J. 1986.
Linsenmayer, Thomas. 1979-1981.
Little, Charles. 1986.
Lomedico, P. T. 1986.
Mackie, Eleanor J. 1988.
Maini, Philip Kumar. 1988-1990.
Reviews of manuscripts by Solursh.
1991-1992.
1992-1994.
Box 16
Correspondence and related research data, 1970s.
Box 17
Research photographs of Marilyn Fischer. [1979?]
