The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Shambaugh Family Papers: Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008. Photographs: None |
|
Return to Shambaugh Family Papers Main Page
Box Contents List
Box 3
Notes
Attitude of the courts toward squatters, claims, associations, quick claim deeds, contracts, etc.
The attitude of the government toward the settlers or “squatters”
Bibliographical references
Character of early settlers
Constitutions and resolutions of claim associations: Madison Co.; Dubuque Co; Lee Co.; Keokuk Co.; Mahaska Co.; Benton Co.; Polk Co.; Clinton Co.; Winneshiek Co.; Minnesota-St. Paul
Extra-constitutional government or squatter sovereignty
Box 4
Notes, cont.
The great war
Historical, 1803 -- 1836
Indian cessions to Iowa lands
Land offices and land districts in early Iowa
Local government in Iowa County (from Territorial Stat.)
Local government in Iowa: its administration, from various sources
Local government in Iowa: road district from, Territorial Stat.
Local government in Iowa: school district, from Territorial Stat.
Local government in Iowa: township, from Territorial Stat.
Louisiana
Master’s thesis, 1893. Early Iowa City (2 folders)
Michigan and Wisconsin: acts, history, etc.
Miscellaneous
Box 5
Notes, cont.
The public surveys in Iowa
The sale of public lands in Iowa
The settlement of Iowa
Early settlers and claims
Territorial government in Iowa: executive, from Territorial Stat.
Territorial government in Iowa: judicial, from Territorial Stat.
Territorial government in Iowa: suffrage, elections, revenue, territorial treasury, from Territorial Stat.
Notebooks from Iowa City Academy, State University of Iowa, University of Pennsylvania
Iowa City Academy
Receipts for tuition, Iowa City Academy, 1886 -- 1887
McBride's plant record, Iowa City Academy, 1887
Bibliography
Oliver Cromwell oration, Iowa City Academy
Notes from the seminary: a paper read and discussed October 11, 1890. English history term essay, fall term, 1890 -- 1891
The grandeur of self-sacrifice, Iowa City Academy
Gladstone wishes to change the policy of England
Growth of independence in New York, Seminary of American History
The missions around the Great Lakes; Seminary Paper, November 9, 1889
Poverty of language. Essay for fall term, 1889
Republicanism in France
Richard Savage
The story of the early Greeks. Freshman, November 19, 1888
What I am reading. Freshman English, fall 1889
Witchcraft, a bibliography, Historical Seminary, December 7, 1889
Miscellaneous items relating to the State University of Iowa, ca. 1890
Receipts for tuition, State University of Iowa, 1888 -- 1892
Schedule cards, State University of Iowa, 1891 -- 1892
American History. Vol I -- II, 1889, S.U.I. Notes on lectures delivered by W.R. Perkins
Box 6
Notebooks, cont.
American History. vol. III -- IV, 1890, S.U.I. Notes on lectures delivered by W.R. Perkins
American History. vol. V, 1890, S.U.I. Notes on lectures delivered by W.R. Perkins
Biological laboratory. Notes on observations and experiments, 1890, S.U.I.
Botany. Notes on lectures in, 1889
English History. Notes on lectures delivered by Professor W.R. Perkins, 1890, S.U.I.
English Prose. Notes on lectures by Professor Anderson, [1890?]
Geology. Notes on lectures delivered by Instructor Calvin
Box 7
Notebooks, cont.
Grecian History. Notes on lectures delivered by Professor W.R. Perkins, 1888, S.U.I.
Historical Politics. Notes on lessons
Index of materials
Military Science. Notes of lectures by Lieut. G. W. Gead, 1892
Municipal government under Professor Loos, 1892
Philosophy, 1891
Political Development, history of
Political Science. A study of the principles of government in the United States of America
Rome! Rome! Notes on lectures delivered by Professor W.R. Perkins, 1889
Western Philosophy, history of
Box 8
Notebooks, cont.
French History. Notes on lectures delivered by Professor Robinson
Class schedules for junior and senior years S.U.I. Graduate year
Economics and politics. Lecture notes by J.W. Jenks. Summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
Environment and the Race Relations. Lecture notes by R. Mayo-Smith. Summer meetings, July 1894, Philadelphia
Miscellaneous notes found with notes from summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
Political Economy. Lecture notes by John B. Clark. Summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
Lecture notes by Frank H. Giddings. Summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
Lecture notes by Arthur T. Hadley. Summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
Lecture notes by Simon N. Patten. Summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
Taxation. Lecture notes by E.R.A. Seligman. Summer meeting, July 1894, Philadelphia
History of Economic Theory. Notes on lectures by Professor Patten. 1893. Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania (2 copies)
Notebook kept while studying in Germany