The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Shambaugh Family Papers: Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries upon the death of Mrs. Shambaugh. Guide posted to Internet: May 1998; revised 2006 and 2008. Photographs: Noted below |
|
Return to Shambaugh Family Papers Main Page
Box Contents List
SHAMBAUGH PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION
This index of volumes 3 -- 36 is arranged by volume and page (hence chronologically). For an alphabetical list of non-family names in this index, click here.
Family members who are represented in this group of photographs include:
BFS = Benjamin Franklin Shambaugh, Bertha's husband
BMHS = Bertha Maude Horack Shambaugh, Benjamin's wife
Katharine Horack = Katharine Mosnat Horack = BMHS's mother
BSG = Benjamin Shambaugh Horack = BMHS' nephew and BFS's "namesake son" (referred to as "Son")
Katharine Horack Dixon (Mrs. Jack) = daughter of BMHS's brother, H. Claude Horack; her daugthers were Eleanor and Anne
George Shambaugh = BFS's brother
Volume/page subject (# photos in parenteses if more than 1)
3/489 BFS sitting by the fire reading the newspaper, with leopard skin rug at his feet
5/702 Birthday cake for the 24th anniversary of the Political Science Club (founded in 1897), 1921
5/730 Table and centerpiece, shows part of the room, same day of BSH ("Son")'s fourth-year birthday party
6/826 Young man with dog
6/827 BMHS with "Peanuts," the horse
6/836 Portrait of BFS
7/964 Boy with a gun and dog, hunting
7/983 George Leigh Mallory?
7/1040 Table decoration, daisies in bird's mouths, June 1923
8/1076 BFS and BMHS (2)
8/1127 Count Kessler
8/1135 "Right Honorable" William Morris Hughes
8/1172 BFS and BMHS in British Columbia
9/1249 Katharine Horack
10/1304 BFS and a young boy
10/1345 Mr. Glenn Frank
10/1430 Mrs. Wilcox and her sister
11/1453 BFS
11/1481 BFS and his brother George
11/1481 BMHS
11/1539 Frank Swinnerton
12/1661 Philip Guedalla
12/1742 Hugh Walpole
13/1807 BFS
13/1807 -- 1809 BFS and BMHS
13/1828 Louis Frank
13/1874 Presentation of the Kirkwood Memorial Statue
14/1955 Mr. and Mrs. Hamlin Garland, BMHS and BFS, February 28, 1928
14/1968 Rodeo
14/2033 BMHS's grandmother Katharine
15/2037 BFS, Henry A. Wallace, L.J. Dickinson, H.M. Havner, Harvey Ingham
15/2062 Old Capitol as the auditorium, July 16, 1928
15/2065 Stephanie H. Shambaugh, carrier of the Daisy chain, June 12, 1928 for the sophomore class
15/2072 Agnes [Tezar], she worked for the Shambaugh's for many many years
15/2080 BMHS on vacation, 'taken for Agnes' above Lake Louise in the Canadian Rockies
15/2086 BFS with his glasses, hat and cane sitting down (chest shot)
15/2109 BFS in front of the old smoke house and sitting in the shade under a tree
15/2159 Claude Anet (with signature)
15/2177 Halide Edib (with signature)
16/2190 Winter photos, interior of Christmas tree and sofa (card) "Where Memory Holds A Seat & Welcome Smiles For You", January 6, 1929
16/2238 Broadcasting Station in the Iowa Memorial Unions 1929
16/2297 Thornton Wilder and William Lyon Phelphs
16/2326 Katharine Horack with pansies, painting above fireplace mantle with cows
16/2337 Katharine Horack
17/cover Shambaugh house exterior. Winter-time, lots of snow
17/2367 Katharine Horack
17/2372 BSH
17/2375 BMH and Edna Mills
17/2375 BMHS
17/2383 Table decorations, BSH's 12th Birthday party
17/2385 J.E. Williamson
17/2414 Interior of room at Harvard, (Claude was a law student there?)
17/2422 Lewis Browne
17/2426 Katharine Horack's favorite horse "Bess" family pony, 1880-1890's, old 3x3 print
17/2439 BFS with eye glasses, hat, and cane
17/2439 BMHS, bust portrait
17/2479 Interior of Shambaugh home with pine cones and evergreens between the hall and the library
17/2532 Interior of an unidentified home, not the Shambaugh or Horack home
18/2579 Ruth Bryan Owen
18/2587 Clyde L. King
18/2602 BFS turning first spade of earth for the new house
18/2603 Group photos; "Copy of the Old Gold's first printing" and "Tuesday reunion" outside Old Capitol
18/2618 BFS (several)
18/2642 Commencement Day, June 2, 1930
19/2706 BFS sitting on the sofa--Christmas card
19/2707 Christmas card "And Stretch the Hands of Memory Forth to Warm Them at the Wood-fire's Blaze"
19/2709 Picture of BMHS's mother with pine cones around it of the mantle
19/2738 The Shambaugh house in the winter; 1910, Lieblos in Germany (2)
19/2745 George and BFS
19/2778 BMHS
19/2872 Claude and Katharine Horack
19/2877 February Convocation
20/2886 BFS
20/2971 Travel photos, Long's Peak, Colorado
20/2973 Street scene with street lamps up and down both sides, unidentified location
20/3020 Stuart Chase
21/3040 BFS and BMHS with Katharine, Eleanor and Jack Dixon on vacation in South Carolina
21/3047 Family photo of Victoriaus D. Diasuouou
21/3052 Jack and Katharine Dixon
21/3093 Library in the Union (2)
21/3103 Shambaugh house exterior in the winter
21/3120 Winter photo of the backyard and pergola, "Summer seat and bittersweet at Easter, March 1932"
21/3133 Interior of Unitarian Church, 3rd pew is marked with an X "The one mother bought"
21/3153 BFS (2)
21/3179 BFS at Commencement with glass pitcher
21/3181 Academic Procession
21/3196 Mississippi Valley Historical Association
22/3203-5 Commencement, July 1932, several photos
22/3225 July Convocation
22/3229 Katharine Horack Dixon and her daughter (2)
22/3241 The Amana Bakery
22/3254 The Black Hills, South Dakota (3)
22/3267 The Amana Bakery
22/3337 Family photos at Claude's house; Jack, Katharine and Eleanor Dixon, H. Claude and Eleanor, and Eleanor playing. (3)
22/3358 BFS and BMHS
22/3371 Include BFS and Eleanor Dixon
22/3373 Shambaugh House exterior in the winter
23/3374 Yosemite Lodge
23/3461 Amana photos (2)
23/3466 Lecture room in the Old Capitol
23/3482 Vacation photos (4)
23/3508 Harold? A student of BFS (2)
23/3516 BFS (2)
23/3523 Graduation at night, west side of Old Capitol
23/3528 BFS and "Son" ca. 1935; "Son" in flower garden wearing knickers; Eleanor in the birdbath (3)
24/3531 August Convocation 1933
24/3535 BFS and BSH
24/3538 Vacation photos (5)
24/3580 West Virginia (2)
24/3659 H. Claude; son "Bud" the medical student and "Bud" hunting, "Son" ? standing by auto (3)
24/3692 Campus Course Library Lecture Room
25/3739 Two family photos (probably Eleanor Dixon)
25/3759 Ethan P. Allen (with note)
25/3797 Two photos of Campus Course Library Lecture Room
25/3831 BFS and an unidentified girl
25/3835 BFS and Jessup
25/3846 Academic Parade
26/cover BFS
26/3895 BFS and Mrs. Chong
26/3916 Clara Shambaugh, Dick and the baby
26/3930 BFS and a student
26/3937 Vacation photos of the Black Hill, South Dakota (3)
26/3938 Vacation photos, BFS sitting in the sun at Long's Peak Inn, BMHS and BFS and Lalla (4)
26/3971 BFS and Frank O. Lowden
26/3973 First snapshot with the new camera, yard, house, lawn (not a great photo)
26/3993 BFS, Gilmore, Jessup, Bowman and Lowden
26/4026 H. Carlisle Thomas (2)
27/4063 Old farm house, Shambaugh family photo from the 1860's
27/4095 BFS and BMHS (3)
27/4130 Family photos including BFS, Jack and Eleanor Dixon (3)
27/4168 BFS
27/4168 BMHS
27/4169 Vacation photos, Mexico and BFS (3)
27/4176 Graduation photos (2)
27/4201 Photocopy of a water color painting by Charles Thomas
28/4216 Hamlin Garland (autographed)
28/4227 Old Stone Capitol at night
28/4229 Audience at an outdoor lecture
28/4281 BFS (3)
28/4286 BFS
28/4287 Garden Seat
28/4295 "Graduate Picnic" August 1935
28/4296-8 Mainly BFS (11)
28/4299 Mr. and Mrs. Hamlin Garland
28/4306 Arkansas vacation?
28/4325 Agnes Tesar, 50th birthday, October 21, 1935
28/4383 Pauline Partridge, 97 years old
29/4394 The stairway in the Old Capitol
29/4396 BFS
29/4398 Bringing in the firewood (travel photo)
29/4413 Count de Provok
29/4432 Mary Mo
29/4442 BMHS's high school graduation picture
29/4465 Family photos including BMHS, Benjamin, Anne, Eleanor, and Katharine Dixon (2)
29/4479 -- 4480 Vacation photos (8)
29/5015 Commencement, BFS and others (2)
29/5018 First wedding at the house (Carl Smith) (2)
29/5083 Convocation, July 1936
30/5091 Commencement including BFS
30/5092 BMHS in a tennis outfit, in her first year of college, 1889
30/5111 Commencement?
30/5117 Vacation photos (5)
30/5123 Katharine, Eleanor, and Anne Dixon
30/5182 Governor-elect Kraschel, Sarah Paine Hoffman, and BFS
30/5193 Family photo
31/5285 Old, old photo of Benjamin's mother, originally in his watch
31/5305 BFS
31/5308 BSH
31/5337 Including Eleanor and Anne Dixon (2)
31/5337 Eleanor Dixon
31/5357 Vacation photos (5)
31/5361 Vacation photos
31/5470 Flowers
32/5472 Elsbeth Horack
32/5489 Jean Turpin
32/5501 May Pole Dance
32/5508 BFS
32/5511 Photo and letter of Hamlin Garland
32/5520 Including Benjamin, BMHS, Katharine, Eleanor, and Anne Dixon
32/5524 BFS (2)
32/5536 Table including the room, 1937 wimpus luncheon (2)
32/5562 BMHS and BFS
32/5610 Family photos and letter
32/5646 Pauline Kimball Partridge
32/5676 Including BFS, BMHS, and Agnes (3)
33/5720 Ronneburg
33/5723 BFS
33/5740 Vacation photos (7)
33/5742 Including BFS and Laurence Jones
33/5767 Including BFS, BMHS, and Jean (3)
33/5752 Including BFS and the house (4)
33/5773 BMHS (2)
33/5792 Mainly commencement, 1938 (4)
33/5868 Lake Itasca
33/5895 Vacation photos (5)
34/5920 Two photos of flowers around the house and garden, clematis beneath BFS's bedroom window and Chinese Fleece with vine on garden fence
34/5948 Zulema and Clayton Rowell
34/5962 Roy and Theodore Setzer (2)
34/5962 Henry J. Ruff
34/5964 Winter photos (2)
34/6029 The log cabin
34/6062 Including BMHS (3)
34/6162 Artemus Henningsen
35/6164 Old Capitol
35/6202 Iowa City
35/6279 Including Benjamin, BMHS, Eleanor and Anne Dixon
35/6308 Germany (4)
35/6344 Chauncey Swan and Dolly Bowen Swan
35/6392 Benjamin Franklin Affleck (signed)
36/6473 The Patricks (signed)
36/6490 BMHS Jeanne Cousins