The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
Records of the Scottish Highlanders Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Audiovisual materials in this collection may be viewed onsite but may not be reproduced. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: Records of the University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders marching band have been transferred to the University Archives from various donors since about 1965. Guide posted to the Internet March 2008 and revised in July-August 2010. Photographs: Boxes 27-32, Box 38; Oversize boxes 1-3; Map Case drawer 11 |
|
Scope and Contents
The Records of the Scottish Highlanders include correspondence, committee minutes, trip and performance event notes, newsletters, programs, reunion information, photographs and other materials.
Box Contents List
Box 1 1954-1974
Governing Committee Notes and Minutes, 1962-1964
Correspondence: 1968-1970, 1962-1963, 1963-1964, 1964-1965
Performance Chart and Schedule: 1971-1974
Notices: 1954-1955, 1966-1974
Notes:
Northwestern-Iowa (November 12, 1967) - out of state
Wisconsin-Iowa (October 2, 1965) - away game
Purdue- Iowa (October 26, 1968) - away game
Homecoming Game and Parade (October 12, 1968)
Iowa- Notre Dame (October 5, 1968)
Alma Highland Games (1969) - Michigan
Kansas City St. Andrew Society Highland Games (1969)
San Antonio, TX, Scottish Society Highland Games (1968)
Alma Highland Games (1972) - Michigan
St. Paul Highland Games (1970) - Macalester College
Scottish World Festival (August 17-20, 1972) - Toronto
Illinois St. Andrew Society (December 7, 1968) - Chicago
Highlander identification numbers used for registration, 1972
News releases, Scotland / Washington, D.C. trip
Box 2 1959-1972
Bag containing 1962 25th Anniversary Reunion announcements
Notes:
St. Andrew Society Highland Games (May 18, 1968) - Kansas City
Banquets:
Highlander Banquet Notes (1963, 1964, 1965, 1966)
Highlander Banquet Notes (1967, 1968, 1969) - including "A Night in the Highlands" (March 8, 1969)
Initiation Banquets Notes (1970-1973)
Correspondence (1967, 1968)
Governing Board Notes (1966-1967, 1967-1968, 1968-1969, 1969-1970, 1970-1971, 1971-1972)
Governing Committee Notes (1957-1966)
Rotary Club Trip Notes and Arrangement (June 12-15, 1966) - Denver
Gifts from various Iowa Clubs to help finance the trip
Notices, 1963-1971
Box 3 1955-1981
Notes:
Highland Arts Seminar and Tartan Ball (April 14-16, 1977) - correspondence, information, evaluations
"In Concert" Program (April 10, 1981), Membership List (1978-1979), Letter to Highlander Alumni (1981) - all one folder
Correspondence/ information: Second Seminar (1978)
Highland Arts Seminar (1979)
Highland Arts publicity (1979)
Map of Scotland, Edinburgh information and map, Programs: Ohio State vs. Iowa - with article on Highlanders: pg. 8-9; Souvenir Programs (1956, 1960, 1979); Rose Bowl Program (1959); Black Watch Booklet (1976) - all one folder
Publications: Highlander Manual (1957) written by William L. Adamson, Director; Alumni Review magazine (1975)- "Breaking into the Ranks", pg. 18-21 (First male Highlander since World War II) - all one folder
Notes: (1955-1956, 1961-1962, 1962-1963)
Practice times, members' notices, rehearsal notices, attendance records, proficiency scores
Box 4 1969-1974
Performances:
AWS U-Sing (1970)
Veishea Parade (1970)
Wisconsin game (1970)
Illinois game (1970)
Indiana game (1970)
Thanksgiving Parade, Detroit (1970)
Pending performances (1969-1970)
Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade (1969): requests for funding trip, responses from requests (businesses, corporations, prominent individuals, "friends" of Highlanders) - four folders
Dunedin, FL - Scottish Festival (1970)
Concert: Iowa Scottish Highlanders and Michigan Men's Glee Club (1971)
Performance at Kirkwood Community College (1971)
Wilson Family Reunion (1971) - Traer, IA
Davenport West and Assumption High School Performances and correspondence (1971)
Iowa Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs Inc. 50th Anniversary (1971) - Des Moines, IA
VEISHEA Day Parade (1971) - Ames, IA
Iowa vs. Penn State Game/ Halftime (September 25, 1971)
Homecoming: Coffee Attendees, Parade, Halftime (October 9, 1971)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin Game/ Halftime (October 30, 1971)
Iowa at Michigan State (October, 1971) - Lansing, MI
Iowa vs. Indiana Halftime (November 13, 1971)
Iowa at Michigan (November 5-7, 1971) - Ann Arbor, MI
Marshalltown (1971)
Doctors Conference, Iowa Memorial Union (1971)
Minnesota game (1971)
Erie, IL Community Schools performance (April 14, 1972)
Iowa vs. Oregon State (September 23, 1972)
Green Bay Packers Halftime (September 24, 1972) - Appleton, WI
Oktoberfest (September 30, 1972) - Amana
Iowa vs. Purdue (October 7, 1972)
Iowa vs. Minnesota Pregame/ Halftime (October 21, 1972)
Homecoming Parade (October 27, 1972)
Iowa vs. Michigan State pregame/ homecoming (October 28, 1972)
Holiday Inn and Iowa at Wisconsin pregame (November 2-4, 1972) - Madison, WI
Iowa vs. Michigan/ Dad's Day (November 11, 1972)
WSUI Broadcast (December 12-14, 1972)
Highlander Talent Show (December 12, 1972)
Mother's Day (May 6, 1972)
Kahl Home for Aged and Infirm (February 18, 1973) - Davenport, IA
An Afternoon in the Highlands (April 28, 1973) - Clapp Recital Hall
VEISHEA Parade (May 5, 1973) - Ames, IA
Hey Days of May (May 19, 1973) - Macomb, IL, Western Illinois University, Festival of Music
Alma Highland Festival (May 26-27, 1973) - Alma, MI
Performance Faculty Club (October 26, 1973) - Iowa Memorial Union
Iowa vs. Michigan Halftime (September 15, 1973)
Tryouts (September 16, 1973)
Iowa vs. Arizona Halftime (October 6, 1973)
Iowa at Northwestern (October 12-14, 1973) - Evanston
Homecoming Parade (October 19, 1973)
Iowa vs. Purdue/ Dad's Day (November 3, 1973)
Kirkwood College (January 25, 1974)
Iowa City Mason's Performance (March 30, 1974)
Spring Concert/ Parent's Weekend (April 27, 1974) - Clapp Recital Hall
VEISHEA Parade (May 4, 1974) - Ames, IA
Alma Highland Festival (May 25-26, 1974) - Alma, MI
West Branch Hoover Centennial Performance (August 6, 1974)
Van Buren Company Sheep Empire Association Parade (September 14, 1974) - Keosauqua, IA
Personnel Lists (1973-1974)
Box 5 1953-1974
Performances:
Performances during Bill's Illness (Fall 1965)
Iowa vs. Purdue - Homecoming (October 9, 1965)
Iowa vs. Minnesota (October 16, 1965)
Dad's Day Tribute to Bill/ Iowa vs. Michigan State (November 6, 1965)
Iowa vs North Carolina State (November 20, 1965)
Governor's Day Review (May 5, 1966)
Illinois Women's Club Program (May 7, 1966) - Freeport, IL
Rotary International Convention (June 12-16, 1966) - Denver trip
Cedar Rapids British Festival (October 3, 1966) - Lyndale Plaza
Fort Dodge Community College Homecoming Halftime (October 7, 1966)
Cedar Rapids Airport- Robert Kennedy Performance (October 9, 1966)
Iowa at Minnesota and Iowa Corn Picking Festival (October 14-16, 1966)
Iowa vs. Northwestern Pregame - Homecoming (October 22, 1966)
Dad's Day - Ohio State game (November 12, 1966)
Brigadoon, Southern Illinois University (1966)
Kiwanis Club Performance (April 13, 1967) - Burlington, IA
Drake Relays Parade (April 29, 1967) - Des Moines, IA
S.W. Band Association (October 7-8, 1967) - Clarinda, IA
Iowa vs. Oregon State (September 30, 1967)
Iowa vs. Purdue - Homecoming, Highlander Coffee (October 28, 1967)
Homecoming Committee (October 28, 1967)
Iowa vs. Minnesota (November 4, 1967)
Richards- Gebaur Air Force Base (September 13-14, 1969) - Missouri
Iowa vs. Washington State (September 27, 1969)
Iowa vs Arizona (October 4, 1969)
Homecoming Coffee (October, 25, 1969) - Correspondence only
Iowa vs. Michigan State - Homecoming (October 25, 1969)
Iowa vs. Indiana (November 8, 1969) - Bloomington, IN
Iowa vs. Michigan/ Dad's Day (November 15, 1969) - includes formation diagrams
Student Activities (1969-1970, including September 14 and September 19, 1969, Carnival)
News items for faculty bulletin (1969)
Hippee Oil Company financial assistance (1969)
"A Night in the Highlands" (April 10, 1970) - guest list, stencil designs
Iowa vs. Southern California (September 26, 1970)
Iowa vs. Purdue- Homecoming (October 17, 1970)
"Scottish Tea and Tunes" Night in the Highlands (May 2, 1971) - two folders
Summer inventory and cleaning inventory (1971)
Prospective members (1970-1971)
Activities Carnival (September 13, 1974) - Iowa Memorial Union
Iowa vs. UCLA (September 21, 1974)
Iowa vs. Penn State (September 28, 1974)
Iowa vs. Northwestern- Homecoming (October 12, 1974)
Iowa vs. Illinois/Dad's Day (October 26, 1974)
Iowa at Purdue (November 2, 1974) - West Lafayette, IN
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (November 9, 1974)
Brigadoon UNI Cedar Falls (November 12-16, 1974) - Correspondence: Cancelled
Iowa vs. Ohio State (November 16, 1974)
Correspondence/ Notes:
Highlander Scholarship Contributions and Awards- Act# T-437 (1953-1961)
Highlander Inventory, Insurance (1950-1969)
Box 6 1949-1977
Notes:
Invitations to perform including Drake Relays; VEISHEA; DeSoto Celebration, Florida; Victor, IA (1960s and 1970s)
Highlander Repertoire (1961-1962)
Rules of Conduct, Wisconsin Trip (December 1-3, 1965)
Official Program - Colorado State Fair (1953)
25th Highlander Reunion- attendee notes, forms with shared memories (1962) - four folders
Shrine Temple - newsletter (1969)
Applications/correspondence regarding hiring of director of Scottish Highlanders (1968-1973)
Publicity (1939-1972; scattered)
Kansas City, Missouri, Highland Games (May 31, 1968)
Promotional brochures, including Schaeffer Pen Company (1956)
Tri-City Youth Orchestra (March 29, 1969)
Indiana game - Homecoming (October 12, 1968)
Northwestern game (November 9, 1968)
Public relations (1962-1968)
Spring tour possibilities (1968)
Box 7 1953-1972
Bond drives (1953):
Bond drive (1953)
Clinton, IA
Davenport, IA
Muscatine, IA
Fairfield, IA
Ottumwa, IA
Burlington, IA
Fort Madison, IA
Sioux City, IA
Oskaloosa, IA
Des Moines, IA
Marshalltown, IA
Springfield, IL, March of Dimes
Des Moines Farm Bureau
WOI-TV, WOC-TV (1953)
Correspondence:
Woodstock, IL - Performance arrangements and correspondence (1953)
Initiation (1950-1961) - nine folders
Scholarship and travel fund correspondence (1961-1972) - 18 folders
Director and instructor information - Craig Hazelbaker, Fred Whyte, Marc Jamison, John Stewart, Roger Smallman, general correspondence (1968-1970)
Al McIvor- Director (1966-1968)
McComb, IL performance correspondence (1969)
Drake Relays correspondence (1969)
Southeast Iowa Band Association Program Correspondence - Cedar Rapids (1969)
Miss Iowa Pageant (June 21, 1969)
Heather Fraser
Kathy Barnett
Vicki Lucas
Box 8 1953-1956
Performances:
Bond Drive - TV and Radio (1952-1953)
Colorado State Fair (September 6-11, 1953) - Pueblo, CO
5th Annual Pancake Day (October 1, 1953) - Centerville, IA
Iowa vs. Washington State (October 3, 1953)
Iowa at Michigan (October 10, 1953) - Ann Arbor, MI
Iowa vs. Wyoming (October 17, 1953)
Iowa vs. Indiana (October 24, 1953) - Homecoming
Quaker Oats Company Old Timers Party (October 28, 1954)
American Meat Institute Banquet (October 5, 1953) - Palmer House, Chicago, IL
High School Football game halftime performance (November 5, 1953) - Maquoketa, IA
Iowa vs. Minnesota (November 14, 1953)
Farm Bureau Cedar County Beet Producers (January 15, 1954) - Bennett, IA
Jones County Shrine Club Valentine Party (February 15, 1954) - Oxford Junction, IA
Highlander Initiation Party (April 12, 1954)
Dixon, IL (May 7, 1954)
Eastern Iowa Band Festival (May 15, 1954) - Cedar Rapids, IA
Military Review (May 20, 1954)
Iowa vs. Michigan State (September 25, 1954)
Iowa vs. Montana (October 2, 1954)
Moline After Dinner Club (October 11, 1954)
Iowa at Ohio State (October 16, 1954) - Columbus, OH
Omaha Centennial (October 24, 1954) - Omaha, NE
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 30, 1954)
Iowa vs. Purdue (November 6, 1954) - Homecoming
Wellman Turkey Day - Iowa Turkey Federation (November 10, 1954)
Iowa vs. Notre Dame (November 20, 1954)
Iowa Turkey Day Federation (January 19, 1955) - Cedar Rapids, IA
Iowa vs. Ohio basketball (February 12, 1955)
Maquoketa, IA (February 16, 1955)
Anamosa Performance (April 20, 1955)
Military Reviews/ Governor's Day (May 10, 1955)
Iowa vs. Kansas State (September 24, 1955)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 1, 1955)
Iowa vs. Indiana (October 8, 1955)
Iowa vs. Purdue (October 15, 1955) - Homecoming
Iowa vs. Minnesota (November 5, 1955)
Scots Guards Performance (November 8, 1955) - details: transportation, advertising
All Vets Day (November 11, 1955) - Monona, IA
Student International Festival (December 11, 1955)
Iowa Memorial Union Dedication (1955)
Ticket requests for Scots Guard performance (1955)
Kiwanis 25th Anniversary (February 20, 1956) - Mount Pleasant, IA
Creston, IA (March 23, 1956)
Annual Party of Equitable Life Insurance (March 24, 1956) - Cedar Rapids, IA
Sterling, IL (April 7, 1956)
Monmouth College (April 13, 1956) - Illinois, correspondence
Military Reviews (May 15, 1956)
National Plowing/ Field Days (September 21, 1956) - Newton, IA
Iowa vs. Indiana (September 29, 1956)
Iowa vs. Oregon State (October 6, 1956)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 13, 1956)
Belle Plaine, IA (October 15, 1956)
Iowa vs. Hawaii (October 20, 1956)
Victor, IA (March 12, 1957)
Highlander Banquet (February 18, 1958)
Box 9 1952-1959
Personnel Lists (1948-1957) - eight folders
Rose Bowl Documents:
Rose Bowl Public Relations (1957 and 1959) - three folders
Rose Bowl Trip - Housing Arrangements (1957)
Rose Bowl Trip - Housing (1959)
Rose Bowl Trip - Publicity (1957)
Rose Bowl Trip - Itinerary brochures from Oldsmobile sponsor (1959)
Itinerary for Rose Bowl Trip (December 28, 1956-January 5, 1957)
Itinerary for Rose Bowl Trip (December 1958-January 1959)
Rose Bowl Trip - equipment assignments (1957)
Rose Bowl Trip - equipment assignments (1959)
Rose Bowl Trip - transportation assignments (1959)
Rose Bowl Trip - finances (1959)
Rose Bowl Trip - performances (1956-1957)
Rose Bowl Trip - personnel (1956-1957)
Performances:
Military Reviews/ ROTC Annual Fortnal Inspection (1952-1953)
Iowa vs. Michigan (November 3, 1956)
Iowa vs. Ohio (November 17, 1956)
Iowa vs. Notre Dame (November 24, 1956)
Military Reviews (1957)
1st US Curling Championship (March, 1957) - Chicago
Iowa vs. Utah State (September 28, 1957)
Iowa vs. Washington State (October 5, 1957)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 19, 1957) - Homecoming
Iowa vs. Michigan (November 2, 1957)
Iowa vs. Minnesota (November 9, 1957)
Military Reviews/ Governor's Day (1958)
Clarinda, IA Trip (March 7, 1958)
Muscatine, IA Trip (May 10, 1958)
Iowa vs. Texas Christian (September 27, 1958)
Highlanders/ Iowa-US Air Force Academy (October 4, 1958)
Iowa vs. Indiana/ Dad's Day (October 11, 1958)
USO show- offer to perform for troops (1958-1959)
Performance (April 10, 1959) - Bondurant, IA
Highlanders Questionnaire for Publicity
Box 10 1958-1964
Performances:
Lincoln-Douglas Debate centennial (October 12, 1958) - Quincy, IL
Iowa at Wisconsin (October 18, 1958) - Madison, WI
Iowa vs. Northwestern (October 25, 1958) - Homecoming
Iowa vs. Ohio State (November 15, 1958)
Iowa vs. Notre Dame (November 22, 1958)
Mary Jane Chinn Variety Show (November 28, 1958) - KRNT-TV
Rose Bowl Performances on trip (1958-1959) - Alburquerque, NM; Kansas City, Wichita, KS
Rose Bowl negatives images (January 1, 1959)
Iowa vs. Northwestern basketball (January 24, 1959)
Gammer Gurton's Necolle Recording by Highlanders (March, 1959)
Armstrong Parent's Band Performance (April 3, 1959) - Armstrong, IA
University Sing (May 3, 1959)
Military Reviews (May 21, 1959)
Concert Series-Omaha Symphony Orchestra (July 6-8, 1959) - Omaha, NE
3rd Annual Western Iowa Band Festival (September 26, 1959) - Carroll, IA
Iowa vs. Northwestern (October 3, 1959)
Iowa vs. Michigan State (October 10, 1959)
Iowa at Purdue (October 24, 1959) - West Lafayette, IN
Iowa vs. Kansas State (October 31, 1959)
Iowa vs. Minnesota/ Dad's Day (November 7, 1959)
Iowa vs. Notre Dame (November 21, 1959)
Military Reviews (1960)
Adult Education Travel - Adventure Series Program (March 10, 1960) - Des Moines
Alumni Day Football game (May 14, 1960)
West Liberty Lion's Club (May 23, 1960)
Iowa vs. Oregon State (September 24, 1960)
Iowa vs. Northwestern (October 1, 1960) - Evanston
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 15, 1960)
Iowa vs. Purdue (October 22, 1960) - Homecoming, arrangements
Iowa vs. Kansas (October 29, 1960)
Clayton County All Vet's Day (November 11, 1960) - Elkader, IA
Iowa vs. Ohio State/ Dad's Day (November 12, 1960)
St. Andrew's Society (November 26, 1960) - Chicago
Oskaloosa Rotary Club-Rotary International District Conference (April 8, 1961)
Military Reviews/ Governor's Day (April 12, 1961)
1st Methodist Church (April 19, 1961) - Burlington, IA
Brigadoon (April 29-30, 1961 and May 5-6, 1961) - Iowa State University, Ames, IA
"Canadian Friendship Week"-Maytag Company (May 1, 1961) - Newton, IA
National Archery Championships (June 26-30, 1961) - Crystal Springs, AR
Eureka Pumpkin Festival (September 23, 1961) - Eureka, IL
"British Fortnight" - Carson Pirie Scott and Company (September 24-25, 1961) - Chicago
Iowa vs. California (September 30, 1961)
Iowa vs. Indiana (October 14, 1961)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 21, 1961) - Homecoming
Iowa at Ohio (November 4, 1961) - away game
Iowa vs. Minnesota/ Dad's Day (November 11, 1961)
Iowa vs. Notre Dame (November 25, 1961)
Maytag Company Trip-used Highlander theme (February 27, 1962)
Governor's Day (May 17, 1962)
Iowa vs. Oregon State (September 29, 1962)
Iowa vs. Southern California (October 6, 1962)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 20, 1962) - Madison, WI
Highlander Banquet (October 27, 1962)
Highlander 25th Anniversary Celebration (October 27, 1962)
Iowa vs. Purdue (October 27, 1962) - Homecoming
Iowa vs. Ohio State (November 3, 1962)
Iowa vs. Michigan/ Dad's Day (November 17, 1962)
Request for Pipe Instructor (1962) - Ysleta, TX
All American City Parade (April 20, 1963) - Quincy, IL
Iowa City Masons (April 25, 1963)
Junior Chamber of Commerce Parade (April 27, 1963) - Davenport, IA
Governor's Day (May 21, 1963)
Iowa vs. Washington State (September 28, 1963)
Iowa vs. Indiana (October 12, 1963) - Homecoming
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (October 19, 1963)
Iowa at Purdue (October 25-17, 1963)
Iowa vs. Minnesota (November 9, 1963)
Iowa vs. Notre Dame (November 23, 1963)
Governor's Day (May 12, 1964)
Notes:
Tryout Procedures (1965)
Rose Bowl Personnel (1958-1959)
Box 11 1960-1981
Newspaper articles mounted on cardboard, including first male member to join since 1943 (1973)
Performances:
Iowa vs. Idaho University (September 26, 1964)
Iowa vs. Washington University (October 3, 1964)
Iowa vs. Indiana (October 10, 1964)
Iowa vs. Purdue (October 24, 1964)
Iowa vs. Ohio State (October 31, 1964)
Iowa vs. Michigan/ Dad's Day (November 14, 1964)
Iowa vs. Michigan State basketball (January 16, 1965)
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 13, 1965) - Emmetsburg, IA
Spring Festival (April 22, 1965)
Governor's Day (May 11, 1965)
Music - "Entrance" - John Stewart (1966-1981)
Scrapbooks (three):
1960-1964: Numerous newspaper articles and photos, football games, Maytag performance in Newton, 25th Anniversary Celebration
1960: European Tour June 15-August 9, 1960, newspaper articles and photos
1967: 1968 European Tour- Barb Brewer DM
Above scrapbooks include: Iowa Alumni Review Magazine: "The Highlanders TV Fling" on Johnny Carson's Tonight Show (1968); photos of practice (1974)
Box 12 1964-1973
Scrapbooks (three):
1969-1973
Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade (1969)
Gebaur Air Force Base Show (September 14, 1969)
Scottish Games and Festival (April 16-18, 1970) - Dunedin, FL
VEISHEA (1971) - Iowa State University, Ames, IA
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (August 30, 1971)
Wilson Family Reunion (September, 1971) - Traer, IA
Washington school performance (February, 1972) - Fairfield, IA
1972 European Tour (May 28-July 10, 1972): Itinerary, newspaper articles and photos
Highland Festival and Games (May 26-27, 1973) - Alma, Michigan
1966-1969
Al McIvor named Director (1966)
Senator Robert F. Kennedy signs drum (August 11, 1966)
Dad's Day (November 12, 1966)
Initiation Banquet (March 5, 1967)
Midlands Magazine-Omaha World Herald (March 24, 1968)- cover and article with photos
Initiation Banquet (1968)
Kansas City Highland games (May 8, 1968)
European Tour (June 29-August 21, 1968)-Itinerary, articles and photos
1964-1966
European Tour (June 11-August 6, 1964)-newspaper articles and photos, preparation for trip, World's Fair, Washington D.C.
Rotarian Magazine (August 1966)-picture page 26
Box 13 1953-1986
50th Reunion Questionnaires from Alumni (1986)
50th Reunion (1986)
Music:
"The Green Hills of Tyrol" - Music (no date)
"Dorrator Bridge" - Music (no date)
"Minnesota Rouser" - Music (no date)
"Notre Dame" - Music (no date)
"Scotland the Brave" - Music (no date)
"Iowa Corn Song" - Music (no date)
"Minstrel Boy" - Music (no date)
"Over the Sea to Skye" - Music (no date)
"Will Ye No Come Back Again?" - Music (no date)
"Nellie Gray" - Pipes (no date)
"Sailor's Hornpipe" - Music (no date)
Performances:
Iowa Band Festival (May 18, 1963) - Cedar Rapids, IA
Iowa vs. Southern California (1970)
Sword Dance Instructions (no date)
Advice to New Pipers (1973)
Absences Information, including absence permission request cards (1969) - three folders
Proficiency Test instructions and forms (no date)
Forms-"Highlander Personnel card": for foreign trip use (no date)
Equipment Forms (no date) - three folders
Highlander Personnel - Members lists (1963-1974)
Forms: tryouts for Drum Major (no date) - two folders
Applicants for Assistant Drum Major (1969)
Instructions: Packing for Foreign Trips (1972)
Performance Control Charts (1953-1954, 1954-1955, 1955-1956, 1956-1957, 1957-1958, 1958-1959, 1959-1960, 1960-1961, 1961-1962, 1962-1963, 1963-1964)
Burrelle's Press Service information (no date)
Highlander- Meacham Travel Service Scholarship Forms (no date)
Uniform measurement guide and assignment sheets (no date)
Helpful Hints for Highlander Travel (Scottish expressions)
Box 14 1952-1978
European Tour
Equipment- Foreign Tour, includes customs document (1952)
Trip details and vouchers in eight folders for following:
Hotels
Travel
Correspondence from England, Scotland, France and Scottish Tour Board
Letters and payment from members' parents
Questionnaires returned from parents
Correspondence from members:
Many requests from previous members to go with group in 1950
Trip ultimately cancelled
News releases from 1952 Tour (packet)
European Tour (Price) - foreign trip expenses (May 28-July 10, 1972)
Tentative Programs, Foreign Trips (1952, 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968)
Foreign Trip Finances, including travel and lodging (1972) - three folders
Foreign Trip - Washington, DC and New York (1972)
University Policies (1968)
Foreign Trip (PR), documents of gratitude to give while traveling, packing suggestions (1972) - three folders
Flight Arrangements (1972)
Roommate Assignments, Personnel (1972)
Questionnaire from Parents (1972)
Return correspondence from members planning to return to U of I; uniform orders, information (1971-1972) - four folders
Letters to parents (1972)
Nadine's trip ideas (1972)
Dunedin, FL, Scottish Games and Festival program and several newspapers - in packet (1972)
Box 15 1937-1972
Journal: Payments, members, Foreign trip-1964
Black binder includes list of members, equipment information-1937?
Other Pipe bands correspondence-1948-1949
Student Manager Instructions-1964
General Orders R.O.T.C-1938-1940
Correspondence:
Adamson Scot House-1959
Aberdeen, Scotland-1952-1953
George Francois-1949
Glasgow, Scotland-1952-1953
Between Parents and group re 1952 European tour
Arlo Wilson-1949-1950
American Express Company-1948-1949
Travel Services-1949
Transportation-Ship-1952
Highlander personnel-1950
Transportation - ships, trains, planes - trains, France; trains, England-1952 - eight folders
Carlton Travel Services-1949
Housing-foreign trip; Edinburgh - 1950-1952 - four folders
Data on Bill Adamson: death, tributes-1965
Itineraries of Foreign Tours- 1952, 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968, 1972
Committee on Student Trips - 1946
Scottish Tourist Board - 1952
Diary - 1952
Performances - 1952
Box 16 1937-1982
List of Drum Majors, Scholarships, Directors, Drum Dancers-1937-1982
Blank publicity forms - 1965
Previous programs and brochures
Things for scrapbook - clippings, magazine articles
Old personnel records, attendance
Miscellaneous information, including magazine coverage, clippings
Foreign Trip info, including student health, passport forms, questionnaire forms, youth hostels, "contract" from parents-1972 - three folders
Foreign trip possibilities-1971
Returned Highlanders forms-1970
Correspondence-1955-1956
Nadine's Diary, written for Highlanders-1964
Invoices-1955-56
Foreign Trip: information, equipment, packing case information-1964 - two folders
Information on photo orders - 1976
Box 17 1964
Printed photographs of members - 1964 - three folded sheets
World's Fair correspondence, information-1964
Financial Information-1964
Foreign Trip
Foreign Tour-1964
Housing Information
Itinerary
Immunization Information
Travel Arrangements- Meacham Travel
Public Relations Information
News Releases for hometowns
Queen Elizabeth Cunard Line
Travel information articles
Travel arrangements, baggage, railroad
Correspondence:
Ed Sullivan Show
World's Fair
Literature, newspaper articles
Tours of European cities
Equipment Report:
1964 needs for work
Practice Areas
Box 18 1956
Foreign Trip-1956
Itinerary
Insurance Correspondence
Letters to Parents
Members returning by plane
Notices
Orientation lectures
Washington, DC- housing, etc.
Amsterdam- housing, etc.
New York- Paramount Hotel
France- housing
Germany- housing
Equipment, packing case information
Payment records
Scotland- housing
England- housing
Cunard Line Correspondence
Performances:
Scotland
England
New York
Washington, DC
List of Personnel
Letters from Bill Adamson
Box 19 1952-1960
Foreign Trip-1956
Washington DC-public relations
England-correspondence
Passport information
Parent Questionnaires
Side Trips-arrangements
Roommate assignments
Darlene Jung- cancellation, etc.
State Tour Information-June 5-9, 1956
Itinerary
Personnel
State Tour Information- June 9-12, 1952
Foreign Tour-1956
Trains-domestic
Side Trips-transportation
French trains
British railroad
Travel permits from parents
Foreign Tour-1960
Trains-US
Steamship correspondence
Switzerland
Dating/ Rules of Conduct
Questionnaires from Parents
Time Tables-train, air, ship
Bus Travel
Train Travel
Side Trips-notices, correspondence
French Railroads-time tables, fares
Trains- France, Germany, Switzerland
Correspondence- Parents, Members, etc.
Personnel - 1960
Washington, D.C., performance - 1964
Box 20 1960
Foreign Tour-1960
Performances:
Aberdeen (Iowa Fraternity)
Scotland
England
Washington, DC
Italy-literature
Hometown publicity release-news
Letters to Parents
Notices, Personnel List
Netherlands-literature
Orientation lectures
Rome, Italy-housing
Newspaper Articles
Passport Photos
Travel photos
News Releases
Scotland-housing
London, England-housing
Amsterdam, Cologne, Berne-housing
Paris, France-housing
Expenses
Itinerary
New York-housing
Washington, DC-housing
Insurance
Immunization-letters
Germany-literature
Vouchers
Finances
Receipts
France-literature
Account Sheets
Equipment
Diary-"Nadine's Diary"
Box 21 1977-1981
Piping school
Descriptions of uniforms
Scholarships
Advertising
Staff
Box 22 1978-1980
Newsletter questionnaires (1979)
Newsletter narrative (1978)
Highland Arts Seminar - program, advertisements (1979)
Prospective Highlanders (1980)
Scholarships
Performances:
Walt Disney World (March 19, 1978)
Macalester College-Country Fair (May 6, 1978)
Alma Highland Festival (May 27-28, 1978)
Des Moines Horseshoe Tournament (July 27, 1978)
Iowa at Ohio State (Octoer 20-22, 1978) - Columbus, OH
Des Moines Heritage Society of Iowa (December 2, 1978)
Football performances (1978)
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 17, 1979) - Kansas City
Highland Games and Tatoo (April 21, 1979)
Highland Games (June 6, 1979) - Midlothiam, IL
Iowa at Wisconsin (October 26-28, 1979) - Madison, WI
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 17, 1980) - Kansas City
Kansas City Highland Games (April 19, 1980)
Macalester College Scottish Fair (May 3, 1980)
Int. Microwave Symposium (May 8, 1980) - Amana
Iowa at Nebraska (September 19-21, 1980) - Lincoln, NE
Band Jamboree (October 3-4, 1980) - Clarinda, IA
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 14, 1981) - Dyersville, IA
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 16-18, 1981) - Chicago
Spring Concert (April 10, 1981)
Administrative files (1978-1980) - 11 folders
Box 23 1956-1977
Performances:
Presidential Inaugural Parade (January 20, 1969)
Sheep Empire Association (September 11, 1976)
Cornell College Parents' Weekend (October 2, 1976) - Mount Vernon, IA
Iowa vs. Ohio State (October 9, 1976)
Homecoming Coffee, parade (October 15-16, 1976)
Iowa vs. Syracuse (September 18, 1976)
Iowa vs. Northwestern (October 30, 1976)
Iowa vs. Wisconsin (November 5-7, 1976)
Iowa vs. Purdue (November 13, 1976)
Bankers Life and Casualty meeting (February 28, 1977) - Altoona, IA
Spring Concert (April 16, 1977)
Macalester College Scottish Country Fair and Highland Dance (May 7, 1977)
Alma Highland Festival (May 28-29, 1977) - Michigan
Midlothian Highland Games (June 11, 1977) - Illinois
Highland Games (September 3, 1977) - Kansas City, MO
Iowa vs. Northwestern (September 10, 1977)
Iowa vs. Iowa State (September 17, 1977)
Iowa vs. Arizona (September 24, 1977)
Iowa vs. Minnesota (October 8, 1977)
Iowa vs. Ohio State (October 15 ,1977)- Homecoming
Iowa at Michigan (October 28-30, 1977) - Ann Arbor, MI
Iowa vs. Indiana (November 5, 1977)
Iowa vs. Michigan State (November 19, 1977)
3rd Annual Highland Arts Seminar Concert and Tartan Ball (1979) and Iowa Scottish Festival (1980)
Thomas Gordon and Sons Ltd.-uniforms (1963-1969)
New member letters (1968)
Mailing Instructions for European Trip (1968)
European Trip Letter to parents, questionnaires, comments from Highlanders (1968)
Foreign Trip Information: orientation lecture (1968)
Uniforms needed ordered (1968)
Make up Orientation Lectures (1968)
Budget (1967)
Baggage Equipment shipments- Foreign trip (1968)
Foreign Trip-vaccinations (1968)
Summer Equipment check out (1973-1975)
Equipment delay in Des Moines Air Terminal (June-July 1976)
Foreign Trip Accounts (1968)
Foreign Trip Housing in England, Scotland, New York and Ireland (1968) - four folders
Foreign Trip Photos members (1968)
General Correspondence-Foreign trip (1968)
Foreign Trip material-Public Relations, Personnel, Contracts, Travel Questionnaire with parents' responses (1968) - five folders
New Zealand Correspondence (1956-1957)
Box 24 1959-1975
Performances:
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 14-16, 1959) - Fall River, MA
International Red Cross Centennial (May 1959)
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 16, 1961) - Reno, NV
Iowa State University Homecoming (October 28, 1961) - Ames, IA
Brigadoon (November 4-5, 1966) - Estherville Junior College
Expo '67, Canadian World's Exposition (1967)
Bettendorf International Folk Festival (June 14-15, 1967)
Dutton Highland Games (August 7, 1967)
Dad's Day- Ohio State (November 18, 1967) - Columbus, OH
Quaker Oats Company Appearances (1968)
St. Patrick's Day Parade (March 16, 1968) - Shamrock Club of Wisconsin Inc.
Proud of America Parade (April 20, 1968) - Ottumwa, IA
Annual Red River Exhibition (June 23, 1968) - Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Carson Pirie Scott and Company (November 23, 1968)
National Dairy Cattle Congress (September 26-27, 1970) - Waterloo, IA
Cedar Rapids Airport-Meet Vice President Agnew (October 22, 1970) - cancelled
Mardi Gras (1970-1971)
Rejected Trips: 1956-1963, 1964-1965, 1965-1966, 1966-1967, 1967-1968, 1968-1970
Poland Trip Possibilities: 1974-1975
Foreign Trip 1968: transportation, roommates, Itinerary, immunization information, Insurance documents, Performances in Scotland and England, Passport application forms and photos, suggested packing list/instructions, performance, notices
Tryouts (October 11, 1970)
Box 25 1938-1978
Trips:
Student Trip Committee (1954)
Band and Student Trip Committees (1948, 1955-1957, 1958, 1959, 1960-1961)
Student Out-of-Town Trip Committee (1950, 1951, 1952-1953)
Trips-Rejected (1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1971-1976)
European Trip Questionnaire (1976)
European Trip Information-Director William Loftin (1976)
European Trip-correspondence (1976)
European Tour-airfare (1975)
European Trip-Tour Director Dennis Loftin Report
European Tour Questionnaire Responses (1976)
European Tour information (1976)
Performances:
Skits Presented at Highlander's and Band Picnics (1938, 1940, 1945)
Invitations for foreign performances (1949-1950s)
Iowa Memorial Union (1969)
Washington D.C., London, Scotland-correspondence (1972)
Small Performances (1977-1978)
Reports:
Correspondence-William Morris Agency
Prospective members (1953-1954)
R.O.T.C. Scottish Highlander Rules, Charter and Bylaws (1930s)
R.O.T.C Instruction Requirements (1930s)
Performance Chart (1974-1975)
Highlanders Phonograph Record Sales (May 23, 1956)
Annual Picture Requests (1974)
Personnel Lists (1977-1978)
News Service Reports (1973-1976)
Notices (1974-1975)
Highlander Brochures (1974 and earlier)
Interested People (1950-1973, 1976- )
Uniforms and Equipment:
James Roberson, Edinburgh - order equipment (1949)
Hugh MacPherson Imports - equipment (1949)
Hall Drum Company - equipment (1955)
Ostwald Inc. - equipment (1959-1972)
Special Equipment Allocation (1959-1960)
New Scotland Co. - kilts and plaids (1959-1961)
Description of uniforms (1960s)
Thomas Gordon and Sons Ltd. correspondence (1960s)
Drum orders/ purchases and other equipment prices (1973)
William Darwin, Pipe Major - Australia (1974)
Thermofax
Europe trip correspondence with Mr. Ross (1976)
Rules and Organization (1978)
R.O.T.C. Highlanders (male) early history
Uniforms - traveling
General information on Highlander European trip (1976)
Current information on Highlander European trip (1976)
Box 26 1949-1976
Equipment:
Equipment (1965-1970, 1967-1968, 1970-1972)
Special Allocations - Equipment (1956-1957, 1957-1958, 1958-1959, 1961-1962)
Expenses:
Land Portion Fares due (April 1, 1976)
Passport photo - payments (1976)
General Expenses (July 1, 1955- June 30, 1956; July 1, 1956-June 30, 1957; July 1, 1957-June 30, 1958; June 30, 1959-July 1, 1960; June 30, 1960-July 1, 1961; July 1, 1961-July 1, 1962)
General Expenses - Travel Fund (July 1, 1956-June 30, 1957; July 1, 1957-June 30, 1958)
Inventory (1949-1950)
Insurance Inquiry (1950)
Correspondence- Lawrie, Ltd., Glasgow (1967-1969)
Budget Correspondence (1950)
Personnel:
Letters - "Interested People" (1973-1976)
Members (1976-1977)
Personnel (1958-1959)
Invite Back List (1959-1960)
Prospective members (1972-1974)
Interesting People (1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1956-1957)
Trips:
Passport Information, "Do's and Don'ts for 1976 Trip" (1976)
Transportation European Tour - Motor Pool (1976)
Rejected Trips (1950, 1951)
German and Austrian Zone Tour (1950)
Box 27 1937-1966
Group Photo (1953-1954)
Governor Leo Hoegh, signed photo (April 27, 1955)
General James Gavin, Chief of Staff, HQs 5th Army (April 1948)
Lieutenant General James Gavin, General Paul Williams and Highlanders, including Connie Carlson, and Ginny Anderson (April 1948)
Photo- Doctor Earl E. Harper, Director IMU and "Father of the Highlanders" (1955-1966)
Photo- first all-male bagpipe band on football field (1937)
Lion's Convention, San Francisco, California (1947)
New York World's Fair - document from "Merrie England" to Highlanders (1939)
United States Treasury Citation (May 16, 1953)
Four scrapbooks:
Personal red scrapbook - photos of Lion's trip, Montana, British Columbia, Utah, Colorado, San Francisco Lions Convention (1947)
Scrapbook titled "Early Years" - loose pages - includes 1965 William Adamson tribute (1937 and later)
Bound Scrapbook- newspaper clippings and photographs (1937-1947)
Highlander 1952 Foreign Trip (August 1952-August 1953)
Box 28 1938-1969
Photographs:
Photo- marching (1938) - Davenport, IA
Don DeFore signing drum (1953)
Group Photo (1958-1959, 1959-1960, 1960-1961, 1962-1963, 1963-1964, 1965-1966, 1966-1967, 1968-1969)
Photo-Director Alan McIvor and Assistant Director John Stewart (1965-1968)
Photo- John Stewart: Director 1965-1966, Assistant Director 1966-1970 (1966)
Documents:
Certificate of art donation by Mary Hawtrey (1968)
Letter from SUI President Virgil M. Hancher (1964)
Eulogy by Earl Harper at death of William L. Adamson (1965)
Photographs:
Nadine Thornton-secretary (1954-1975)
Governor Hughes signing drum (May 11, 1965)
University of Iowa President, Howard Bowen signing drum (May 11, 1965)
Governing Board Members (1967-1968)
Group Photo Scottish Highlanders (1964-1965)
Documents:
Certificate for appearance at New York's World Fair (1964-1965)
Senate Concurrent Resolution #5 acknowledges Iowa "individuals" (1960)
Letter from President Eisenhower to Margaret Ladd thanking for gift of uniformed doll presented to the White House (1960)
Certificates:
Certificate of Appreciation from IOWA Women's Athletic Department (1986)
Tournament of Roses Citation (1957)
Walt Disney World, International Festival Program - certificate (no date)
Brochures, programs (1985)
April, May issues of FYI, faculty and staff newspaper (1987)
Highlander newsletter 1984-1985 - story about 1985 Inaugural Parade, Washington D.C., including program (1985)
Poster: "An Evening in the Highlands" (1987)
Box 29 1953-1960
One sheet, photographs - 1935-1939
Four scrapbooks (containing newspaper clippings, programs, and photos)
September 1953-November 1955
December 1958-October 1960, including Rose Bowl 1958 and foreign tour 1960
1947- June 1952
December 1956-November 1958, including Rose Bowl 1956-1957 and first US Men's National Championship Curling Contest (1957) - Chicago
Box 30 1953-1981
Photographs:
Governor Thornton of Colorado, signing drum (September 10, 1953)
Lieutenant General Eichelberger R.O.T.C, Kansas City, MO signing drum (April 1950)
Iowa Governor Herschel C. Loveless signing drum (May 23, 1958)
Governor Norman A. Erbe signing drum (no date)
Group Photo (1955, 1956, 1957-1958)
Invoices and other documents:
Leopard Skin Cleaning repair bill (1975)
Cynthia Waddell Memorial Information (1975)
Kilt order information, invoices (1974)
General Expense accounting (1962-1963)
Mary Jane Hawtrey-memorial fund information (1975)
Travel Expenses and invoices (1958-1959)
Invoices (1979-1980)
Dancer Section Rules (1973-1974)
Sheet Music: "The Donkey Serenade"
Box 31 1952-1968
Five photograph albums:
Scrapbook: photo contact sheets, roster of 1956 European Tour (Summer 1956)
Scrapbook of photos - 2x2 to 4x5 - European Trip (1952)
Scrapbook- newspaper clippings - European Tour 1956 (August 1956 - November 1957)
Scrapbook- newspaper clippings and photos (December 1955-August 1956)
Scrapbook (June - August 1952)
Box 32 1963-1986
Documents:
Personal Calendar (1986)
Eulogy given at William L. Adamson, director, funeral-- given by Earl E. Harper (1965)
Book: "We the People, An American Celebration, 50th Golden Inaugural" (1985)
Book: "A New Beginning - Ronald Reagan First Four Years" (1985)
Cloth banners:
2 Cardboard signs: "Scottish Highlanders"
2 certificates of participation for the Iowa State Fair, August Fest (1985)
1 cardboard cutout of bagpiper
1 fabric cutout of Herky bagpiper
1 fabric "Dundee" banner
1 fabric banner from Drum Major Darwin- Australia
1 fabric covered program "Initiation Banquet" (March 15, 1970)
Awards and Performances:
Award Medal from 10th National Junior Angus Heifer Show (1978) - Des Moines, IA
SAPADAPASO 7th Annual Parade- 2nd place Band Float (1982)
Plate and Stand Kansas City Scottish Highland Games- 2nd Place Grade IV(no date)
Bronze Figure (piper) "The Highlander Mary J.P. Hawtrey 1963-1965" (1963-1965)
Replica of Liberty Bell (missing), Stand for liberty bell presented to Scottish Highlanders of SUI for their outstanding patriotic service thrift for security savings bond drive by the US Treasury Department (no date)
Plaque "Chicago's 1981 St. Patrick's Day Parade First Place School Unit University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders Pipe Band" Edward F. Brabec, Chairman (1981)
Box 33 1946-1980
Audiovisual materials:
Performances at 1979 Football games
Performances at 1980 Football games - U-matic tape; DVD copy
"Lion's Convention 1946: Scottish Highlanders, San Francisco" (1946) - Film; DVD copy
"Scottish Highlander half-time" (November 22, 1958) - Film; DVD copy
Scottish Highlanders Performances at Michigan State, Minnesota Football games (1959) - Film; DVD copy
University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders, Ohio State vs. Iowa (October 9, 1976) - Film; DVD copy (three additional short films accompany this title)
4 boxes of slides-Highlander photos (no date)
2x16 mm films- "Adamson family, Detroit 1950" (1950)
3" film Highlander and Adamson family (no date)
Homecoming, November 6, 1954 - Film; DVD copy
Box 34
Audiovisual materials:
Spring 1938 - 7-inch film; DVD copy
October 30, 1971 - Wisconsin game - 7-inch film; DVD copy
October 16, 1971 - Minnesota game - 7-inch film; DVD copy
November 22, 1958 - Notre Dame game - 5-inch film; DVD copy
“Highlander Holiday” 1956 Europe trip (two copies) - 12-inch film; DVD copy
“Will Ye No Come Back Again” 1952 Europe trip (three copies) - 12-inch film; DVD copy
U-matic tape – 1985
1975 audition at Iowa Memorial Union - ½-inch video tape reel
1958 performances: September 27, 1958 - Texas Christian game; October 4, 1958 - Air Force game; October 11, 1958 - Indiana game; October 25, 1958 - Northwestern game; November 15, 1958 - Ohio State game; November 22, 1958 - Notre Dame game - 10-inch film; DVD copy
"The University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders: 1980 Kinnick Stadium Half-time Performances" - DVD copy
"The University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders: 1979 Kinnick Stadium Half-time Performances" - DVD copy
"The University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders Spring Concert, May 4, 1979" (as televised by Iowa Public Broadcasting Network, October 17, 1979) - DVD copy
Box 35 1940s-1970s
Brochures from events-1940s to 1970s
Programs-1940s to 1970s
Posters-1940s to 1970s
Box 36 1939-1968
European Tour Itinerary book-1968
Rose Bowl-1959
Highlanders and Marching Band book
European Tour Itinerary book-1964
"Random Happenings-Scottish Highlander European Trip"-1956
United Press Red Letter (newspaper article)-1956
European Tour-1968
"In Response to All Questions"
Documents for presentation to cities visited on European Tour-1960
Public Information Program for European Tour-1956
News and Information-1956
Background History
"Aberdeen Incident" and follow-up
Public Information Program for European Tour-1952
Midlands Magazine (front page and article)-1968
Copy of letter from Dwight D. Eisenhower to Virgil Hancher-1956
Photos-1956
New York City Mayor Robert Wagner and Highlanders
"The Skirt of the Pipes" by S.M. Parkhill-1966
Newspaper article-1939
World's Fair Trip
Box 37
Audiovisual materials:
Item 1: "Spring Concert 1973" - audio cassette; CD copy
Item 2: "In Elgin" - 5-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 3: Scottish Highlanders, [n.d.; program including announcements] - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 4: Highlander Selections, [n.d.] - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 6: Scottish Highlanders, April 16, 1977 - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 8: Scottish Highlanders, Saturday, April 22 [n.d.] - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 9: "An Afternoon in the Highlands" April 10, 1976 - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 10: "Fall 1978" - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 11: Scottish Highlanders, April 19, 1975 - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 13: Unidentified [n.d., 1970s?]; 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Item 14: Nine selections performed by Scottish Highlanders, possibly in studio, [n.d., 1970s?] - 7-inch audio reel; CD copy
Items 5, 7, 12: Three 7-inch audio reels, one marked "May 3," others unidentified; unable to reformat to CD due to poor condition from sticky-shed syndrome
Folder containing CD copy of 1956 phonograph record accompanied by photocopied information and correspondence: University of Iowa Marching Band and the Scottish Highlanders (original phonograph record was loaned to Archives by alumna Heather Adamson Stockman for purpose of reformatting as CD)
Folder containing CD copy of 1956 phonograph record accompanied by photocopied information and correspondence: University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders Elgin Performance 1956, Aberdeen Performance, 1956 (original phonograph record was loaned to Archives by alumna Heather Adamson Stockman for purpose of reformatting as CD)
1974 performances: September 21, 1974 - UCLA game; September 28, 1974 - Penn State game - ½-inch video tape reel; DVD copy
Box 38
Mark Isaacs Photo Album, 1977-1981
Box 39
Highlanders newsletters, including correspondence with publisher (1949-1988; incomplete)
Rose Bowl trip, European tour, 1960 (Gift of Mary Milnes)
Group photos in front of Old Capitol, 1946-47, November 1943
Proclamation from City of Springfield, Illinois, 1953
Oversize Box 2
Photograph, Ed Sullivan signing drum, n.d.
----. Marching in formation at the Hotel Astor, New York City, June 22, 1939
----. Pipe Major 'Bill' Adamson, n.d.
----. W. L. Adamson, director, n.d.
Group photos in front of Old Capitol, 1943-44, 1952-53
Oversize Box 3
Group photos in front of Old Capitol, 1954-55, 1944-45, 1951-52, 1948-49, 1947-48, 1950-51
Framed photos:
New York World's Fair; most members identified-1939
Tournament of Roses parade; Pasadena, California-1957
----. 1959
On Old Capitol steps-1960-1961
Unframed photo:
On Old Capitol steps-n.d.
Oversize objects
Three boxes containing original drum heads