Finding Aid
|
Hualing Nieh Engle Papers Access and Restrictions: Hualing Engle retains copyright. This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from Hualing Nieh Engle in September 1977. Guide posted to Internet February 2010. Photographs: None |
Hualing Nieh Engle and Paul Engle |
Scope and Contents
These papers are the writings of Chinese authors, which are included in Literature of the Hundred Flowers, a book published by Hualing Nieh Engle in 1981. These poems, articles, and editorial pieces are typed in the English language. The majority of these manuscripts are dated, with the authors identified. A number of these manuscripts were published in Chinese journals and newspapers during the 1950s and 1960s and those publication titles are included in the box list. During the 1950s and 1960s, Hualing Nieh was living in Taipei, Taiwan, teaching fiction writing at National Taiwan University and serving as editor of the periodical Free China Fortnightly. Some of the titles that appear in the box list were used by several authors and these writings were presumably written for Hualing's courses.
In a description of Literature of the Hundred Flowers, Hualing wrote:
"For a brief period in the 1950s Chinese writers had a freedom of expression enjoyed by writers in no other Communist countries in the twentieth century. This is the first anthology in English (or in Chinese) of actual texts published during the dramatic period from May 1956 to early June 1957. The great bulk are prohibited in China and unavailable in the USA. They are an unknown literature, these short stories, fables, poems and articles, for they have never been collected before."
Biographical Note
Hualing Nieh Engle was born on January 11, 1925, in Hupei, central China. She took her B.A. degree in foreign literature in 1948 from National Central University, Nanking China. She served as associate professor at the National Taiwan University, where she established their creative writing workshop.
Hualing fled Peking as Communists took control from the Nationalist government. Her father was killed during the political turmoil and Hualing continually moved to stay ahead of the advancing troops. In 1949 she lived in Taipei, Taiwan, where she taught fiction writing at National Taiwan University. In Taipei, she was also editor of the periodical Free China Fortnightly, a position which put her in contact with authors. In 1964, she met Paul Engle, director of the State University of Iowa Graduate Writers' Workshop, who visited Taiwan on a Rockefeller Grant. Engle persuaded her to study at SUI for one year. Hualing remained at SUI, received her MFA degree in 1966, and married Paul Engle in 1971. She was appointed professor of Chinese literature in July 1971.
The Iowa program is today the renowned Iowa Writers' Workshop. In 1967, Hualing and Paul established the International Writing Program. Together they traveled Europe in search of fledgling writers to enroll. For their work on this program, the Engles were nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize in 1976. When Paul retired in July 1977, Hualing's title changed from associate director to director of the International Writing Program. She served concurrently as associate professor of Chinese literature until her retirement in 1988. Paul Engle died in 1991.
Hualing Nieh Engle is the author of novels, essays and short stories written in Chinese, English, Portuguese, Italian, and French.
[D. Anderson; 02/2010]
Related Materials
University of Iowa Libraries East Asian Collection (http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/eac/)
Papers of Paul Engle (MsC 514)
Records of the Iowa Writer's Workshop (RG 06.12.08)
Records of the International Writing Program (RG 06.12.09)
Andrews, Clarence. "Iowa Literary History, 1971-1991." Books at Iowa 56 (April 1992): 47-58
Hamilton, David. "Writing at Iowa." Books at Iowa 60 (April 1994): 7-12
Rogers, Earl M. "Fiction with an Iowa City Setting: An Updated Checklist." Books at Iowa 55 (November 1991): 37-72, notes.
Weber, Richard B. "Paul Engle: A Checklist." Books at Iowa 5 (November 1966): 11-25, 29-37, illus.
Zhou, Peter Xinping. "Chinese Writers Collection."
Books at Iowa 58 (April 1993): 5-16
Box Contents List
Box 1
"Mao Tse-tung."
"Thoughts From the Hundred Flowers Blooming." Huang Yao-mien. June 1957.
"Vulgar Feelings and Gloomy Heart." Wang Shu and I Sha. March 1960.
"Prologue: Yenan, 1942."
"On the Poetry of Ai Ch'ing." Wen-hsüeh yen-chiu. January 12, 1958.
"What Has Been Expressed in Ai Ch'ling's Recent Work?" Tsang K'e-chia. Wen-i Hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"A Criticism of Hsü Mou-Jung's Tsa-wen." Chang Ch'ing. Ch'ang-chiang wen-i (The Yangtze River literature). January 1958.
"The Content and Subject of Poetry Should be Diverse." Ting li. Kwang Ming Daily. November 24, 1956.
"Away with All Taboos Regarding Literary Criticism." Huang Yao-mien. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Letters from the Village." Sha Ou. (2 folders).
"Inside News of the Newspaper." Liu Pin-yen. January 9, 1975.
"The Hydrographer's Imaginings." Ts'ai Ch'i-chiao.
"Huang Yao-mien."
"Poetry." Foreword by Hualing Nieh.
"Hit and Misses." Ch'in Chao-yang. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Lu Ting-i and Chou Yang's Important Speeches at the 27th Enlarged Meeting Convened by the Party Group of the China Writer's Union." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 29, 1957.
"Excerpts from Criticisms of Ting Ling."
"Opinions Openly Expressed During the Rectification Campaign at the Writer's Union." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). June 16, 1957.
Literature of the Hundred Flowers. Volume I. Introduction and foreword by Hualing Nieh.
Literature of the Hundred Flowers. Volume II. Foreword by Hualing Nieh.
"Huang Chiu-Yun's Revisionist Tendencies." K'ang Cho. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"What Have Ai Ch'ing's Recent Works Expressed." Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Criticizing Myself." Huang Chiu-yun. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). September 8, 1957.
"Fiction and Fables." Foreword by Hualing Nieh.
"Fiction and Fables." Volume II. Foreward by Hualing Nieh.
"The Broad Road of Realism: A Reassessment of Realism." Ho Chih (Ch'in Chao-yang).
"On Literature As Manerature." Ch'ien Ku-yung. Wen-i Yueh-pao (Literary Monthly). 1957.
"Is Realism Forever Changeless?" Yao Wen-yuan.
"A Criticism of Hsu Mou-jung's Tsa-wen." Chang Ch'ing.
"Human Nature and Literature." Yu Hai-yang and others. Wen-Hsüeh Pin-Lun (Literary Criticism). 1960.
"Wang Jo-wang's Tactics in Attacking the Party and Socialism." I Ch' ün. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"On Human Feelings." Pa Jen. (Literary Gazette). 1960.
Box 2
"Man and Reality: A Refutation of 'On Literature As Manerature'." Li Hsi-fan. Wen-i Yueh-pao (Literary Monthly). October 1957.
"The Degeneration of a Young Author: Report on the Conference for Criticizing the Rightist Words and Acts of Liu Shao-t'ang.
"Where Are the Thorns?" Huang Ch'iu-yun. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). June 1957.
"Some Thoughts on Literary Problems Today." Liu Shao-t'ang. 1957.
"Against a Nihilistic Attitude Toward Socialist Literature: An Exchange of Views with Comrade Liu Shao-t'ang." Chou Ho. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"The Criticism on Errors of Hsiao Chün and the Culture Gazette." Liu Chih-ming.
"The Hundred Flowers Campaign Should Also be Applied to the Cultivation of the Young." Feng Hsuëh-feng. Chung-kuo ch'ing-nien (China Youth). July 16, 1956.
"Veiled Enmity." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 1957.
"Why Should We Boldly Air Our Views?" Hsiao Teh. Chung-kuo ching-nien (China Youth). May 1, 1957.
"Open Window, Open Talk." Yao Hsueh-yin. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Can Dramatic Groups Be Led Like an Army Unit?" Chang Pao-Ts'ui. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 1957.
"Some Thoughts on Literary Problems Today." Liu Shao-t'ang. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Criticism of the Errors of Hsiao Chun and the Culture Gazette." Liu Chih-ming. 1959.
"Is Realism Forever Changeless?" Yao Wen-yuan. 1957.
"Write the Truth: The Essence of Socialist Realism." Liu Shao-t'ang and Tsung Wei-hsi. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Important Speeches by Lu Ting-i and Chou Yang At the 27th Enlarged Meeting Convened By the Party Group of the China Writer's Union." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 29, 1957.
"On the So-called 'Writing the Truth'." Mao Tun. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). 1958.
"About 'A Young Man Arrives At the Organization Department'." Wang Meng. Jen-min jih-pao (People's Daily). May 8, 1957.
"The Policy 'Let a Hundred Flowers Bloom' Should Also Be Applied to the Development of the Young." Feng Hsüeh-feng. Chung-kuo ch'ing-nien (China Youth). July 16, 1956.
"Do Not Forget the Characteristics of Literature." Chou Chieh-fu. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Some Thoughts on Literary Problems Today." Liu Shao-t'ang. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Huang Chiu-yun's Revisionist Tendencies." K'ang Cho. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Throw Open the Window and Speak." Yao Hsueh-yin. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"The Degeneration of a Young Writer." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). October 20, 1957.
"Wang Shih-wei's Literary View and Ours." Chou Yang. 1957.
"The Nurturing of the Young Also Needs a Hundred Flowers Blooming." Feng Hsüeh-feng. Chung-kuo ching-nien (China Youth). July 16, 1956.
"What Is Liu Shao-t'ang Opposing After All?" Yen Wen-ching. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). October 20, 1957.
"A Novelette Full of Contradictions." K'ang Chao. February 27, 1957.
"Tempering." Chao Shu-li. July 14, 1958.
"The New State." Lee Kuo-wen.
"Training." Chao Shu-li. July 14, 1958.
Box 3
"Java Bull Asks for 'Sick Leave'." Huang Chin-yün. October 1974
"Java Bull." Huang Chin-yün. [two folders].
"What Can Modern Poetry Learn from Classical Poetry?" Chu Kuang-ch'ien. 1956.
“On Literature As Humane Studies.” Ch’en Ku-yung. Wen-i Yueh-pao (Literary Monthly). 1957, p. 39-43. Written in the Chinese language.
"Literature As Manerature." Ch'ien Hu-yung [two folders].
"On Literature As Manerature."
"Write the Truth: The Essence of Socialist Realism." Liu Shao-t'ang and Tsung Wei-hsi. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Notes On the Human Nature Problem." Wang Shu-ming.
“We Must Fight Further!” Shao Chʻüan-lin. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957, no. 25, p. 4-5. Written in the Chinese language.
“Transform Ourselves to Proletarian Intellectuals of Working Class.” Kuo Mo-jo. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957, no. 25, p.6. Written in the Chinese language.
Translation of Chinese characters into English.
"A Contradictory Novelette." K'ang Chao. Study of Art and Literature. March 1957.
"A Young Man Arrives At the Organization Department." Wang Meng. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). Peking. September 1956.
"The New Man of the Orgnization Department." Wang Meng.
"The Organization Department's New Man." Wan Meng. [three folders].
"Curing of Sickness and Good Medicine of Bitter Taste." Shao Yen-hsiang. Study of Art and Literature. 1957.
"Hits and Misses." Ch'in Chao-yang. 1974.
"The Development of Realism in the Socialist Era." Liu Shao-t'ang.
"Do Away With All the Precautions We Have to Take in Literary Criticism." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1975.
"An Adverse Current of Creation That Got Its Start from 'Inside News of the Newspaper'." Li Hsi-fan. Chung-kuo Ching-nien pao (China Youth Daily). September 17, 1957.
"Regarding Liu Pin-yen: Hostility Towards the Party and Socialism." Chung-Kuo-ching-nien-pao (China youth Daily). July 11-13, 1957.
"Some Thoughts On Literary Problems Today." Liu Shao-t'ang. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Our Paper's Inside News." Liu Pin-yen. August 1974.
"Inside News of the Newspaper." Liu Pin-yen.
"Thoughts from the Hundred Flowers Blooming." Huang Yao-mien. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). June 1967.
“Don’t Close Your Eyes to the Suffering of the People.” Chiu Y ün. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People’s Literature). September 1956.
"Criticizing Myself." Huang Chiu-yun
"Truth Fears No Debates." Ch'in Mu. Tso-p'in (Literary Works). August 1956.
"The Road of Ai Ch'ing." Yao Wen-yuan. Wen-i Szu-hsiang Lün-tsêng Chi (Polemics in Literary Thoughts). 1964.
"Lu Ting-i and Chou Yang's Important Speeches At the Enlarged Meeting Held By the Party's Leading Group of China Writer's Union." Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 29, 1957.
"Where Are the Thorns?" Huang Ch'iu-yun. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). June 1957.
"Huang Chiu-yun's Revisionist Tendencies." K'ang Cho. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1967.
"Criticism On Errors of Hsiao Chün and the Culture Gazette (excerpt)." Liu Chih-ming.
“Important Speeches By Lu Ting-i and Chou Yang At the 27th Enlarged Meeting Convened By the Party Group of the China Writer’s Union.” Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957, no. 25, p. 1-3. Written in the Chinese language.
"Why Should We Boldly Contend?" Hsiao Teh. Chung Kuo Ch'ing Nien (China Youth). May 1, 1957.
"Re-election." Lee Kuo-Wen. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). 1957.
"Veiled Enmity." Chou Li-po. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1967.
"Thoughts from the Hundred Flowers Blooming." Huang Yao-mien. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). June 1967.
"The Tractor Station Manager and the General Agronomist."
"Don't Close Your Eyes to the Suffering of the People." Chiu Yün. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). September 1956.
"The Village in August (excerpts)." Hsiao Chün. The Writer's Bookstore Press, Shanghai. 1935.
"Where Are the Thorns?" Huang Ch'iu-yun. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). June 1957.
"The Anti-party, Anti-marxist Literary and Social Thought of Feng Hsueh-feng." Ho Ch'i-fang. Jen-min Jih-pao (People's Daily). August 28, 1957.
Box 4
"Don't Close Your Eyes to the Suffering of the People." Chiu Yün. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). September 1956.
"Random Notes from the Chirp Chamber of the Cicada." Hsü Mou-yung.
"Write the Truth: The Essence of Socialist Realism." Liu Shao-t'ang and Tsung Wei-hsi. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Don't Close Your Eyes to the Suffering of the People." Chiu Yün. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). September 1956.
"Our Poetry Writing Suffers from a Lack of Attention to Lyrical Poetry." Lin Keng. Kwang Ming Daily, Peking. December 11, 1956.
"Kuo Mo-jo On the Problems of Poetry." Kuang-ming Jih-pao (Kung-ming Daily), Peking. December 15, 1956.
"Poetry, Politics and Political Poetry." I Hsing. Sinkiang Daily. December 9, 1956.
"Wild Lily." Wang Shih-wei. Chieh-fang Jih-pao (Liberation Daily). March 13, 1942.
"A Visit to His Excellency: A Five-minute Movie." Wang Jo-wang. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). March 1957.
"In the Hospital." Ting Ling. Wen-i Cheng-ti (Literary Front). August 25, 1942.
"Hits and Misses." Ch'in Chao-yang. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"The Poet." Ai-Ch'ing.
"Pros and Cons of 'The Great Wind'." Chang Ming-Ch'uan. Yen-ho. August 1957.
"Selected Poems from T'u Lu Fan Love Songs." Wen Chieh. Jen-min wen-hsüeh (People's Literature). March 8, 1955.
"A Family of Plants: A New Interpretation." T'ang T'ao. Wen-i yueh-pao (Literary Monthly). 1957.
"The Great Black Mule." Liu Shao-t'ang. From the collection of stories, Ch'ing-chih lü-yeh (Green Branches and Leaves), Hsin Wen-i Press (Press of New Literature and Art), Shanghai. 1953.
"Self-Criticism." Huang Chiu-yun. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). September 8, 1957.
"Do Not Close Your Eyes to the Suffering of the People." Huang Ch'iu-yun. Jen-min wen-hsüeh (People's Literature). September 1956.
"Thoughts On Women's Day." Ting Ling. Chieh-fang Jih-pao (Liberation Daily). March 9, 1942.
"Re-election." Lee Kuo-Wen. Jen-min wen-hsüeh (People's Literature). 1957.
"Some Thoughts On Literary Problems Today." Liu Shao-t'ang. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Liu Pin-yen's Hostility Toward Socialism and the Party." Chung-kuo ching-nien pao (China Youth Daily). July 11-13, 1957.
"Huang Ch'iu-yun's Revisionist Tendencies." K'ang Cho. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Why Should We Boldly Bloom?" Hsiao Teh. Chung-kuo ch'ing-nien (China Youth). May 1, 1957.
"The Young Also Need the Hundred Flowers Blooming." Feng Hsüeh-feng. Chung-kuo ch'ing-nien (China Youth). July 16, 1956.
Letter to the Editor of Yen ho. Chang Ming-ch'uan. Yen ho. April 7, 1957.
"The Trial." Ting Ling. Excerpt from The Sun Shines Over the Sangkan River. 1954.
"Veiled Enmity." Lee kuo-wen. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 1957.
"West Ch'ang-an Street." From Yü-mu chi (Collection of Fish Eyes). 1935.
"The Chilean Cigarette Pack." Ai Ch'ing. Jen-min wen-hsüeh chu-pan she (People's Literary Press), Peking. 1956.
"A Rebuttal of Ai Ch'ing." Ting Mong. Wen-hui pao. November 27, 1957.
"Various Masks: Ai Ch'ing." Sha Ou. Jen-min Jih-pao (People's Daily). September 14, 1957.
"Four Street Poems." Tien Chien. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). July 28, 1957.
"The Sun Shines Over the Sangkan River." Feng Hsüeh-feng. 1954.
"Random Notes from Tsan-tsao-chü." Hsü Mou-yung. Jen-min wen-hsüeh (People's Literature). 1957.
Nine poems and short stories by author Ai Ching (1910-?). Most were published between 1932 and 1957.
"Open Window, Open Talk." Yao Hsueh-yin. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"A Memo in Lieu of an Essay: A Reply to Criticism of 'On human Feelings'." Pa Jen. Peking Literature. 1957.
"Realism, a Broad Road: A Further Understanding of Realism." Ho Chih (Ch'in Chao-yang).
"The Inside News of the Newspaper." Liu Pin-yen.
"The Road of Ai Ch'ing." Yao Wen-yuan. Wen-i Szu-hsiang Lün-tseng Chi (Polemics in Literary Thought), Shanghai Writer's Press. 1964.
"An Adverse Trend in Creative Activity Sparked By 'Inside News of the Newspaper'." Li Hsi-fan. Chung-kuo ching-nien pao (China Youth Daily). September 17, 1957.
"On Kung Liu's Recent Work." Kung Mu. Shih K'an (Poetry Magazine). January 1958.
"The Gamblers." Ai Ch'ing. Jen-min wen-hsüeh (People's Literature). January 1955.
"What Is the National Tradition of Poetry?" Wu Yüeh. Chieh-Jih-pao (Liberation Daily), Shanghai. August 19, 1956.
Address by Ai Ch'ing to second meeting of the board of directors of the Chinese Writer's Union, Peking. 1956.
"Can a Dramatic Ensemble Be Administered Like an Army Unit?" Chang Pao-ts'ui. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). September 1957.
"The Writer, As Chinese, As Artist." Chung-kuo ch'ing-nien (China Youth). September 1, 1957.
"The Hundred Flowers Movement."
Box 5
Literature of the Hundred Flowers. Hualing Nieh.
On 'Literature As Manerature'." Ch'ien Hu-yung. [two folders].
"Don't Close Your Eyes to the Suffering of the People." Chiu Yün. The People's Literature. September 1956.
"The Policy of 'Let a Hundred Flowers Bloom' Should Also Be Applied to the Cultivation of the Young People." Feng Hsüeh-feng. Chung-kuo ch'ing-nien (China Youth). July 16, 1956.
"Thoughts from the Hundred Flowers Blooming." Huang Yao-mien. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Selt-criticism." Huang Chiu-yun. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). September 8, 1957.
"The Presence of Feelings in the Absence of Feelings." Liu Pin-yen. Wen-i hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
"Java Bull On Sick Leave." Huang Chiu-yün.
"Java Bull Takes Sick Leave." Huang Chiu-yün. Tso-pin (Works). July 1957.
"Feng Hsueh-feng's Anti-party, Anti-Marxist Literary and Social Thought." Ho Ch'i-fang. Jen-min Jih-pao (People's Daily). August 28, 1957.
"In the Hospital." Ting Ling.
"Posing as a Revolutionary but Writing a Counter-revolutionary Story: A Criticism of 'In the Hospital' By Ting Ling." Yao Wen-Yuan. Wen-i Yüeh-pao (Literary Monthly Journal). 1958.
"A Young Man Arrives At the Organization Department." Wang Meng. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature), Peking. September 1956.
"The Heroes, the Masses, and Others." Feng Hsueh-feng.
"On Human Feelings." Pa Jen (Wang Jen-shu). New Harbor. January 1957.
"Notes On the Human Nature Issue." Wang Shu-Ming.
"Notes Concerning the Problems of Human Nature." Wang Shu-ming.
"Realism, a Broad Road: A Further Understanding of Realism." Ho Chih (Ch'in Chao-yang).
"Tempering." Chao Shu-li. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature), Peking. September 1959.
"Re-election." Lee Kuo-Wen. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature), Peking. 1957
"Posing as a Revolutionary but Writing a Counter-revolutionary Novel: A Criticism of 'In the Hospital' By Ting Ling." Yao Wen-yuan. Wen-i Yüeh-pao (Literature Monthly Journal). 1958.
"'Inside News of the Newspaper' Is a Reactionary Sketch." Kan Hsi-fen. Wen-i-pao (Literary Gazette). 1957.
"Feng Hsueh-feng's Anti-party, Anti-Marxist Literary and Social Thought." Ho Ch'i-fang. Speech presented to the China Writer's Union. August 16, 1957.
Literature of the Hundred Flowers. Hualing Nieh.
"Fiction and Fables." Description of the project.
"Poetry." Description of the project.
"Criticism and Polemics." Description of the project.
"Curing Sickness With Bitter Medicine." Shao Yen-hsiang. Wen-i Hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies). 1957.
Five poems. 1957.
A Contradictory Story." K'ang Chao. Wen-i Hsüeh-hsi (Literary Studies), Peking. March 1957.
"A Counter-revolutionary Story Written in a Revolutionary Manner: A criticism of 'In the Hospital' By Ting Ling." Yao wen-Yuan. Wen-i Yüeh-pao (Literary Monthly). 1958.
"A Young Man Arrives At the Organization Department." Wang Meng.
"On Characterization: A Few Random Notes." Wang Meng. Peking Literature and Art. 1957.
"In the Hospital." Ting Ling.
"A Contradictory Story." K'ang Chao.
"Do Not Turn a Blind Eye to the Masses In Deep Waters." Chiu Yün. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). September 1956.
"Don't Close Your Eyes to the Hardships of the People." Chiu Yün. Jen-min wen-hseüh (People's Literature). September 1956.
"A Memo In Lieu of an Essay: A Reply to the Criticism On My Article 'On Human Feeling'." Pa-Jen. (Peking Literature). 1957.
"Medicine for Sickness and Bitter Taste." Shao Yen-hsiang. Study of Art and Literature. 1957.
